We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!”
Review of Dolphin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Motel
Ranked #39 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BED BUGS!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Two nights in this dump and I was disgusted the entire time. No other hotels were available so we decided to stay here...WHAT A MISTAKE! Towels weren't clean, smelled awful...the bedspread was a Montreal Canadiens crappy blanket covered in stains and the sheets were literally from the 1980's. I brought my own linens and towels and still felt grossed out the entire time. Less than two weeks after returned to Vancouver, we discovered that we had brought home BED BUGS from that motel!!!!!!!!! $400 of fumigation costs plus I had to buy a new bed!!!! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MOTEL TO ANYONE!!!!!!!! It's filthy and extremely overpriced! Did I mention bed bugs?!!!!!! NASTY!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
12
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

What a disappointment! Having slogged the 4 hours across Vancouver Island to Tofino we were met by a series of run-down shacks. In a beautiful area, surrounded by new, clean and well appointed hotels, we couldn't believe our bad luck at having booked this place in advance. I haven't seen such a horrible interior since Britain in the 1970's - everything was shabby and rubbish, including the worst and cheapest toaster, kettle, tv, shower, coffee maker, crockery, cutlery and table, plus saggy beds with faded sheets. The lighting really capped it all - grim centre lights and a fluorescent tube over the cooker.
The location isn't great either. Tofino is a lovely little town but the Dolphin is a good mile outside it, allegedly near a surfing beach but actually a good ten minute walk. All this for nearly 180 Canadian dollars!
Couldn't wait to get away.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A five minute walk from Chesterman Beach, this little motel has new owners since I stayed there last and they are very pleasant. The room was exceptionally clean and the beds were so comfortable. We had the best sleep. There was a fridge and kettle and coffee maker in our room. Others have kitchenettes. We were snug and warm - despite it being a cool night. Great bargain on the off season. We were there the end of May and paid only $69 for the two of us. What a deal for Tofino!

Room Tip: Despite being by the main road, we didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtenay, b.c.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

just returned from beautiful Long Beach and a 2 night stay at the Dolphin Motel. For us it was good value for the money - $100 a night for 6 of us in a housekeeping unit (3 adult women and 3 children) Separate room with two beds, and in the main room a double bed and double futon. The room was spacious enough with table and four chairs (plus 2 extra folding ones), a full sized oven, microwave, two toasters, fridge, double sink and enough cutlery, dishes and implements to make meals. A t.v. is provided too. The bathroom is small, but the water was hot, and plenty of clean towels, soaps and shampoos. Outside each room is a picnic table. We found it to be clean, and to be everything we needed for a midweek on a budget vacation. It is a short walk to Chesterman Beach, and only a five minute drive to Tofino. The lady who owns the motel was welcoming, and although this is an older motel, we enjoyed our stay very much. Only con was the pillows are not all comfortable, and whoever gets elected to sleep on the futon may not get the best night ever!! We would go back. Thanks to the Dolphin for a good stay, we will recommend you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivamexic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Nothing fancy here folks. You're not paying for 5-star so don't expect 5-star! I have stayed at the Dolphin Motel 3 times over the past few months and I have been perfectly satisfied each time. The rooms are basic, but clean, and considering almost all the rooms in Tofino are well in excess of $200-300/night, this place provides great value in an overpriced town. It has a decent location with a short walk to Chesterman Beach (the best beach in Tofino) and plenty of free parking. The rooms also have nice, good sized fridges. The elderly Asian couple that run the place are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rrorr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

$285.00 for 2 nights and that got us 10% off of our Hot Springs Cove Tour. Smelled the sewer (or septic) all night, place was rundown and dingy-dirty. Towels were grey and the bed covers were stained. Shower was a joke. I am glad I travelled with my own linens and pillows! Never again! Tofino was packed solid so there wasn't anywhere else to move to. Friends and loved ones were the only reason it was doable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divinelavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Clean motel, but not much more. Price is relatively good, though maybe only an OK value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pliem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.0 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paddlers Inn
Paddlers Inn
#11 of 19 in Tofino
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tofino Swell Lodge
Tofino Swell Lodge
#15 of 19 in Tofino
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
MacKenzie Beach Resort
MacKenzie Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Tofino
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Motel

Property: Dolphin Motel
Address: 1190 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Motel Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing