We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite B & B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite B & B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We just loved this place! A top quality accomodation kept nicely in harmony with natural materials and a view over the inlet which was truely soothing for the soul. On top of that, Bobbi and Jay were extremely friendly and hospitable, so this is definately a place we highly recommend.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Schjaerff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We loved staying in this beautiful modern and clean B & B - Bobbi and Jay are extremely accommodating and informative. You can tell that their international travels have positively influenced how this B&B has turned out. First of all the food is excellent! Bobbi is a great cook. There is just enough privacy as well as opportunities to meet other guests! I highly recommend the bear watching trip that Jay recommended with Remote Passages - we saw 7 bears on our 5 pm outing! Highly memorable! Good luck with your coming family addition Bobbi and Jay!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the top floor next to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

After two nights at the shabby Mackenzie Beach Resort we discovered this jewel of Tofino. Super-cozy rooms, great sea view (we saw a bear and an osprey from inside the room...) and a breakfast made in front of your eyes while you wait hungrily at the family table... Minor negatives: it is not downtown and the two rooms have a shared bathroom (which is exceptionally proper, though).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Had a great stay in a beautiful stay overlooking the water. Breakfast was delicious. Felt very lucky to stumble on this place! Best night's sleep I had in 2 months!

Looking forward to going back : )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BodaciousN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Right from our first phone call Bobbi was friendly and helpful. Once we got there, we just wanted to stay!! The house is so beautiful and the area so peaceful! Bobbi and Jay were like family right off the bat...they couldn't do enough for us and we loved sitting and talking with them. The breakfast was over the top...the whole experience was just a pleasure for us. Can' wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved out room with the King bed and old fashioned tub. It was spacious, very clean and well appo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnneFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I am jealous that Bobbi and Jay spend everyday at this amazing property!

The house is tastefully designed, blending modern luxury with rustic elements and local art.

Our suite had a king sized bed with comfortable linens, two walk-in closets, a clawfoot tub, double sinks, granite counters, multiple mirrors and a glass Stand-up shower with a rainfall shower head.

We took advantage of the firepit, watching night fall over the mountains across the inlet, just steps away. Jay provided plenty of wood at no extra cost.

Breakfast was on time, tasty and substantial, at the time of our choosing.

Bobbi and Jay are perfect hosts because they both have lived and worked on Tofino for over 15 years.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltsunandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

We went at the Black Bear Guesthouse few weeks ago. We were suppose to stay only 3 nights, but it was so nice that we decided to book another night!

Great and relaxing place, nice hosts and beautiful house!
Bobbi and Jay were amazing!
They know the town very well and all the activities that we can do there.
For sure we will go back there anytime!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13MariePier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Property: Black Bear Guesthouse
Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing