We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Black Bear Guesthouse will be the number one choice for my future visit, and first on my recommendation list to anyone visiting Tofino. Jay and Bobby made us feel like we were at home, and made the trip that much more enjoyable. Thank you Jay for the great tour of Tofino and Bobby for your delicious cooking. You guys are great. Your home is beautiful and it felt like a true escape from reality staying there, a true vacation in paradise. The rooms are beautiful and the scenery... incredible! Hope to visit you guys again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Black Bear Guesthouse is a wonderful B&B to enjoy the beautiful nature in and around Tofino. Bobby and Jay made us feel very welcome in their beautiful house. The three guestrooms are literally in their house, as the kitchen and "living room" area are integrated. However, we felt we had enough privacy in our beautiful guestroom. Breakfast was yummie and a lot, from kitchen and two of the guestrooms you have a stunning view on the shores. It is a ten minute drive to Tofino downtown, and another ten minutes to the National Park, a few minutes walking to Chesterman Beach.
Bobbi recommended dinner locations and a bear watching tour, both were great.

Room Tip: The upper floor guestroom was truly beautiful with a stunning view and a large luxurious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_smiley_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Bobbi, Jay and Auley were the perfect hosts for our 3 nights at the Black Bear Guesthouse recently. Their home is gorgeous, and the surrounding views of the inlet are perfect as well. We felt right at home from the start. Bobbi went the extra mile to accommodate our toddler, which really made the stay extra special. We loved making the short walk from the B&B over to Chesterman beach each day, and spending our evenings relaxing by the fire and taking in the peaceful surroundings - such a perfect way to spend a Tofino holiday. Bobbi and Jay were also great with recommending restaurants and activities in the area - they were so genuinely friendly, warm, and accommodating...more so than I've experienced elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schocoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

So nice to hear you guys enjoyed staying with us. Was lovely having your little one brighten up every day here. Thanks again and appreciate the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We have been to Tofino many times before and have always stayed at one of the big resorts with the find dining restaurants and high price tags. Since this particular trip was a spontaneous one, and we failed to consider the tourist rush of the long weekend when we left home (which is several hours away) we got to the coast and soon realized that there were not many rooms available at the resorts. The front desk clerk at one of those resorts told us that there was one room available at the "Best B&B in town" and that the owners would save it for us if we wanted to give them a try. I'm not sure if we'll ever stay at one of the resorts again!

The Black Bear Guesthouse was perfect in every way. We left feeling like we had made new friends. Jay and Bobbi are so comfortably hospitable and accommodating that we felt like we were staying in our friends' home. Their house is beautifully crafted and full of local art and West Coast design features. The food was healthy, well prepared and beautifully presented (not to mention yummy!) My husband took a photo of his breakfast because it was so pretty! The room was spotless and comfy. The view was beautiful, and the atmosphere ~ peaceful and relaxing.

Both Bobbi and Jay were full of useful info about activities, local dining, events and beaches.

We're going back soon and why would we stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Our room was great! Everybody who was staying in the house when we were there, were happy with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Was great meeting you both and so glad you stumbled upon us. Enjoyed the conversations and I'm hoping we'll see you again one day as you're pretty much locals ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear Guest house for two nights and had a wonderful time. The house is beautiful and the owners Bobbi and Jay are warm and welcoming. They really made us feel at home and helped us make the most of our time in Tofino by recommending their favorite restaurants and places to visit. Bobbi's breakfasts are delicious and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We stayed in the Inlet Room which has a private deck facing onto the Inlet. We had a wonderful relaxing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My husband and I with our two kids slept in this wonderful B&B for three nights at the end of July. We were accomodated in the two queen bed guestrooms on the ground floor (Inlet and Black Bear rooms) and had a bathroom in between. The rooms are beautiful ( Inlet enjoys a stunning view over the bay) and so is the bathroom (featuring a huge bath tub)! The owners, Jay and Bobbi, are adorable hosts and made us feel at home from the very moment we pulled in with our car. Bobbi's breakfast is simply delicious and Jay's smile is contagious ! One night we sat by the fire pit on the deck of the house overlooking the bay, eating roasted marshmallows and chatting with Jay and with other guests until dark. It was magical.
The house is just one year old and it is a short strall from Chesterman beach and a few minutes drive/bike ride from town. Super recommended !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Sole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us!! I miss your lovely children. Was such a pleasure having you enjoy our Guesthouse and Tofino, all the best to you! Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Tucked away with stunning views across the tidal inlet, we couldn't have found a more comfortable and stylish setting for a family reunion. We stayed in the private suite (self-catering) - extremely well-appointed, whilst our two 20-something daughters had the master suite (B and B) with breathtaking views and a bath to die for. Jay and Bobby were very welcoming hosts and the home-cooked breakfasts were both delicious and different. The 7am phone call to our suite to join Bobby in the kitchen to watch a bear ambling across the mudflat was the icing in the cake! Would recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: Black Bear suite great for self-catering In main house, Master bedroom has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackBearGuesthouse, Owner at Black Bear Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Enjoyed having you at our place immensely and so happy to hear it was such a highlight!
We are glad to be able to share our little piece of paradise with so many lovely people.
Hello to you and your girls (hopefully one of them we'll see this winter). Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: £53 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing