We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

View was great. Bobby and Jay take you in like you are close friends. Very nice experience for first time in tofino. They gave so many great tips about where to go and what to do. So clean and the house is just about brand new with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dustinandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Staying at the Black Bear guest house is a little like having a secret corner of the world all to yourself. The views are wonderful, the hospitality is exceptional. Bobbi and Jay are so eager to share a wealth of information and highlights of the local area. Most enjoyable is sitting around the fire pit at the end of the day, after exploring what must be some of the most beautiful scenery anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our family's second time staying at the Black Bear Guesthouse and it's hard to believe but I think this stay was even better. Beautiful sunrise over the inlet every morning and walking distance to Chesterman Beach, one of Tofino's best. Bobbi and Jay are great hosts and made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs suite, large and private. All the comforts of home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuleySerfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Osprey room of the B&B and we are ready to move in! Bobbie, Jay and Auley were very welcoming to our little family and we felt right at home. The inlet side of Tofino is amazing! Waking up with our baby in the middle of the night was fabulous because we got to take in the starry skies, crescent moon and 2 sunrises! Breakfasts were delicious with fresh fruit , the best homemade granola ever and hot eggy options too. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I came across Black Bear Guesthouse after a referal from another local B&B that was full.
My visit was a last minute decision to get some chillout time and this lovely space suited me perfectly. My room had a view of one of the inlets and i would wake to the tide being completely out. Very tranquil location and great breakfasts.
Both Bobbi and Jay were great in their welcome and sharing useful information about places to eat and things to do. Very open to bringing food from takeaways to eat at the B&B. Created the space for good connections with other guests and themselves when I chose to join in.
Overall felt very welcomed and looked after. Would go again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Black Bear Guesthouse will be the number one choice for my future visit, and first on my recommendation list to anyone visiting Tofino. Jay and Bobby made us feel like we were at home, and made the trip that much more enjoyable. Thank you Jay for the great tour of Tofino and Bobby for your delicious cooking. You guys are great. Your home is beautiful and it felt like a true escape from reality staying there, a true vacation in paradise. The rooms are beautiful and the scenery... incredible! Hope to visit you guys again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Black Bear Guesthouse is a wonderful B&B to enjoy the beautiful nature in and around Tofino. Bobby and Jay made us feel very welcome in their beautiful house. The three guestrooms are literally in their house, as the kitchen and "living room" area are integrated. However, we felt we had enough privacy in our beautiful guestroom. Breakfast was yummie and a lot, from kitchen and two of the guestrooms you have a stunning view on the shores. It is a ten minute drive to Tofino downtown, and another ten minutes to the National Park, a few minutes walking to Chesterman Beach.
Bobbi recommended dinner locations and a bear watching tour, both were great.

Room Tip: The upper floor guestroom was truly beautiful with a stunning view and a large luxurious bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_smiley_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Property: Black Bear Guesthouse
Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing