We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Black Bear BB for 3 nights and felt like home in this hidden paradise!The house is located in a dream location, absolutely clean, extraordinarily comfortable, and Bobbi and Jay make you feel like home. They ensure you enjoy your stay in Tofino.
No words can describe the amazing breakfast they prepare you!
With the weather a bit rainy the house is definitely the place to rest, relax, read a book and seize the moment.
Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedro f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Last minute book in! Thanks for having us -- we shared the main floor bathroom with another couple we didn't know -- but that was just fine with us (especially since we booked last minute). Super clean, comfy... and the breakfast was amazing! They ensured we felt right at home and gave us great suggestions on places to eat after our day trip to Hot Springs Cove! A little drive from the center of Tofino... but great location to Chesterman beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiNdsS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a truly amazing place - gorgeous, upmarket accommodation in a lovely location right on the water near the town of Tofino. Bobbi and Jay can't do enough for their guests and the room was luxurious as well as being really spacious, comfortable, and clean with a beautiful sea view. The guesthouse itself is really nicely designed with plenty of room to sit outside as well as in the living room area. Breakfast was a high point, beautifully presented and delicious. The only thing that would have made it completely perfect would be a tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Overall however it is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Black Bear with another couple in the two main floor guest rooms. With the weather being a bit rainy, we made good use of the beautiful common area with the cozy couches and fire place. Bobbi and Jay have a spectacular home and, with the help of their charming little girl Auley, made us feel very welcome. We would highly recommend Black Bear to others and hope to return soon ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebubbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our second trip to Tofino where we spent a couple of nights at the Black Bear. Bobbie and Jay have a beautiful home in a spectacular location, and both of our breakfasts were delicious. Fresh-baked bread, homemade granola, lots of fruit, and special breakfasts for our toddler. They are excellent hosts!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great service and amazing hosts! Definitely staying here again. This fantastic house comes with an unbelievable view and a great location. Bobbi, Jay, and their lovely daughter were very helpful and welcoming. The home made breakfast was also amazing... everything was fresh and delicious. I highly recommend this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nherrerag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, North Caicos
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Bobbi, Jay, and Auley made us feel very welcome. Our family of 4 stayed in the two main floor rooms. Both rooms were clean and had big, bright windows. We went surfing at close by Chesterman Beach (walking distance) and Jay built us a fire so we could roast s'mores! Breakfast was lovely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Property: Black Bear Guesthouse
Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing