We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have been for 3 nights and it was an heavenly experiance. We stayed in the Osprey room and this was the best room which we were staying during our roundtrip. We whissed that we could take the room with us on our roundtrip. A special remark fore the breakfast which was made by hand while we where relax sitting at the dinner table. Thank you Bobby and Cathy!
During the evening we where free to use the cosy sitting-room.
If we will visiting Tofino in future we will defently stay again in Black Bear B&B!!

Room Tip: Do not look for other B and B in Tofino but choose Bleak Bear!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My Wife and I had the Suite to ourselves all week long, the accommodation and facilities were superb and the Hosts Bobbi and Jay where very nice and caring. Having a hot-tub all week long was so cool too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheriffG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 for 3 nights and have to say it was outstanding. Rooms are very comfortable and breakfast is superb. Bobbi and Jay were great hosts and really made us feel at home, we spent hours chatting with them. Both Bobbi and Jay have a great eye for detail and really know how to make people feel comfortable. The beds are really comfortable and we both slept like babies. The location is excellent backing onto the mud flats in Tofino. It was foggy the first two days we stayed and suddenly on the third day the fog cleared and the most spectacular view was revealed. We got some great tips on what to do in Tofino and saw some amazing wildlife. If we're in Tofino again we'll stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just wrapping up a thanksgiving weekend stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse and we are so glad we chose this over all the other choices we had available. Bobbi and Jay have been so accomodating and we've pretty much had the house to ourselves for the weekend! We've shared the Blackbear and Inlet room with our friends and it has turned out to be great value ($250/night for the off season for both rooms for four people). The house is absolutely gorgeous and clean, the rooms are spacious, the beds are super comfy and the house is well laid out so that even if it was full of guests you wouldn't notice the other people that much. Breakfast was phenomenal - fresh granola, fresh fruit, delicious omlettes... The furniture in the common areas is a bit dated, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing! If we were to come back to Tofino I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scar604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Black Bear in mid Sept 2013 for 2 nights and whilst we had a small room (it was a last minute booking), it was well and truly made up for the service, quality of the inn and the breakfasts. The hosts were fabulous! Taking great care to tell us about area activities and restaurants and their attention to detail in the inn with their art work and furnishings was 10/10. They lit an outdoor fire for us on our last night which topped it off! Breakfasts were top restaurant quality - very fresh produce, ample serving sizes and exemplary presentation. If we are fortunate enough to ever travel back to Tofino, we will definitely stay at the Black Bear Guesthouse!

Room Tip: The room we had was very very small so if this is not suitable for you, ensure you book one of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the black bear for 3 nights at the end of September 2013. The welcome we had from bobbi and jay was very warm and friendly nothing was too much trouble, the house is beautiful with a great outdoor area to sit and enjoy the amazing views.
We stayed in the family suite with two bedrooms and a bathroom and they were very nicely decorated and one has great views over the lake, the other faces the front of the house and although nicely done could have done with a mirror and a chest of drawers for things that couldn't be hung up.
The breakfast set you up for the day and was five star.
We felt very happy and relaxed in this beautiful house and would definitely recommend it and we hope we're lucky enough to be able to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzyabdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Black Bear BB for 3 nights and felt like home in this hidden paradise!The house is located in a dream location, absolutely clean, extraordinarily comfortable, and Bobbi and Jay make you feel like home. They ensure you enjoy your stay in Tofino.
No words can describe the amazing breakfast they prepare you!
With the weather a bit rainy the house is definitely the place to rest, relax, read a book and seize the moment.
Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedro f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Guesthouse

Address: 926 Black Bear Lane, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: £60 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Black Bear Guesthouse, a brand new Westcoast designed home, overlooking the beautiful calm waters of Clayoquot Sound. Offering two accommodation options, a full self catering vacation Suite for the traveller looking to book their home away from home and a simple, clean comfortable room and private bathroom for the budget conscious guest. Guests are welcome to walk around the property to view the Inlet tidal waterfront. The Bay is a protected wildlife sanctuary with river otters, bald eagles, osprey, harbour seals and if you're lucky you'll spot a local grey wolf. Come experience the tranquility of the Inlet side of Tofino. Whether you're here to relax, rejuvenate or seek adventure, Black Bear Guesthouse is your home away from home. We are within a few minutes walking distance to popular Chesterman Beach with its long sandy shoreline and great surfing. The town of Tofino with all its amenities, restaurants and boutique galleries is only a 5 minute drive down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Black Bear Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Guesthouse Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing