We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All it was cracked up to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We loved our stay at the lodge. The location and view were amazing. We rented a dog friendly cottage for the weekend while attending a family wedding. The cottage was large and very comfortable. Inside were rain coats and umbrellas which we had forgotten to bring. The lodge also included supplies for our dog. The ceremony on the beach was lovely, the food at the reception excellent and the staff (in the bar, for our surf lesson, bartending the wedding, cleaning our rooms) were the best. Can't say enough, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,637 - 2,643 of 3,105 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We just returned from several nights at the Long Beach Lodge Resort (LBLR)and loved it; much more than the Wickaninnish Inn where we stayed before. Our room was the Deluxe Beachfront on the third floor; what a view! We also had the chairs on the patio. The room/lodge is designed well to fit in the area with impressive landscape architecture (native plants) and calming room colours. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. There’s a half fridge with creamers for morning coffee. The safe is large enough for a notebook computer. Loved the bathtub and tiling. Even though it was warm, we tried the gas fireplace which has a switch to turn the flame up or down which was a great feature. Beach “etiquette” is available in the room explaining to people the importance of leaving the beach as you find it to protect the biodiversity. As well, the room came with a garbage can with a recycling area (always impressed when hotels offer recycling). The feeling is tranquility. Huge beach with kids playing and dogs walking by. Fabulous.
There is lots of room for clothes with a large closet (umbrella and raincoat provided) and large drawers so you put everything you brought away. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast. The restaurant was excellent as well. Service was great. Beautiful views in the Great Room/Dining room and we were always able to sit and look at the beach. For dinner one night we had the very fresh halibut with crab risotto and vegetables.

What also really impressed us at the LBLR was the staff. The staff were always friendly, attentive and helpful. You can tell in a hotel when the staff like their jobs. They take pride in their work and in the lodge. They are excellent representatives of the lodge and set a positive tone. In a way, it feels like a family, with everyone trying to do what they can so that you enjoy your vacation. I look forward to our return and have no hesitation in highly recommending the LBLR.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Long Beach Lodge is a great hotel right next to one of Tofino's beautiful beaches. For an additional $50 per stay, you can bring up to 2 dogs. Rooms are great, staff are friendly and you walk right out of your room onto the beach and can wander the beach for hours. They now rent surf boards right from the hotel but the only drawback was you have to take one of their lessons even if you already know how to surf (lessons run about $189 per person). Only other bit of negative feedback is that their fitness room kind of looks like they raided the low end fitness equipment from someone's garage sale so doesn't inspire a work out....but, good news is you'll get in lots of walking or jogging at the beach.

Room Tip: If traveling with your dog, ask for room 103. Is room at the end so is more quiet as no foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeygirlcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The view of the Ocean with the large waves, and the beach. Such a very relaxing place.
Also rooms, and the restaurant were excellent.
Great duvet and bed. A great get away.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure. Very quite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giraffes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to the Long Beach Lodge Resort for my birthday. It was wonderful! We stayed in one of the ground floor, ocean front rooms for the weekend. It was such a treat to go out the door and have the beach just a few steps away for a long moonlit walk or to just soak in the fresh ocean air.

The room was comfortably appointed with a fireplace and two-person jacuzzi tub. There were adirondak chairs on the patio outside of our room where we could enjoy a glass of wine at night or a cup of coffee in the morning while watching the waves come ashore.

The resort offered a deliciously prepared breakfast buffet each morning in the great room with just about anything you could ask for. The atmosphere was warm & inviting and the staff was friendly & helpful with suggestions for fun things to do while in the area.

We will definitely be making this an annual destination.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I split my stay between here and the Wickaninnish Inn. The setting is just as spectacular as the Wick but the accomodations are a step below and priced that way. We had both a beach front room and the cottage. I would say the quality is like a Marriott. The setting though is spectacular on mile long stretch of beach. The surf school is on site and very well run. Josh our instructor was great and gave our family the confidence to surf on our own.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threeiron333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were here about 4 years ago and could not wait to come back. We did it again this week and it was just amazing!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zero63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £132 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing