We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and we will definately go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“we loved it and we will definately go back”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

what can i say about the long beach lodge - well the location is great right on the beach the scenery is fabulous the lodges are large ,clean have everything you want and more ( they even supply soap powder!!) they also have a hot tub in the back yard :) which was soooo lovely after a cold day fishing etc. But I think the main thing about the long beach is the staff - they are amazing and so friendly and helpful. One exceptional member of staff was even going to bring her own straightners in from home for my daughters to use !

cons: nope cant think of any

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    500
    126
    52
    17
See reviews for
799
1,610
99
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Having not been in Tofino for 33 years I wanted to bring my wife and sons there to stay and see what is special about it. This hotel is ideally located for that, right on the beach with great views.

Unfortunately, one of our pre-booked and pre-paid rooms was not what we had ordered or expected. The King for us was fine; but we had also booked a twin. The hotel blamed misinformation from the booking agency and said that a 'twin' to them did not mean two beds. That said, when we got to the room, prior to our arrival, they had already placed a cot bed in the room to augment the one bed already there, so that puzzled us. One of our party had to sleep on that cot bed for the first of our two nights - he said it was the worst night's sleep of our three and a half week holiday. The matter was rectified the following night with provision of an additional room. The staff were very attentive but, in our view, the problem should not have happened. Frankly the whole episode soured our short visit to this hotel.

One of our rooms was also on the same floor as the main restaurant and access to the bedroom was via a corridor which involved passing the busy open servery area interfacing between the kitchen and restaurant; a strange and noisy layout for access to a bedroom, we thought.

We found the food we ordered good, but the menu, to our taste, was quirky and limited. The breakfast buffet was limited but complimentary: ordering additional items at a cost was inevitable to make a more substantial full breakfast. There was complimentary internet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank b2dac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed at the long Beach lodge Resort for four night in a cottage. We have seen 10 accomadations in Canada during our 4 weeks stay. And this resort was the only dissapointment. Unfriendly staff, not a table to get for our family with 4 kids during breakfast. We were offered to sit in a sofa to eat our breakfast, the breakfast area is not big enough. Thanks to this experience we dedided to cooke ourselves in the kitchen of the cottage, no dish washer.

But I have never ever seen a staff so unfriendly and not warm at all! Ther were abviously difficulties working together, no one had a smile on their face, amazing in this environment!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank catharine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Long Beach Lodge is a relatively small resort in Tofino. The rooms are consistent with the photos on their website. They are clean and well maintained.

My husband and I were there with our dog for 4 nights. The 'dog' rooms were clean and you would never know it was a pet room. We had Shannon, one of the girls who works there, dog-sit one evening while we had a nice supper. She was fabulous and we could see her running the dog on the beach from the dining room.

The restaurant is really good - fantastic food - great value. Everything we ate there during our 4 days was excellent (mushroom and truffle risotto, lamb, salmon, crab with avocado mousse, and their healthy breakfast egg benny's - all fabulous).

What makes this resort excel, besides the food, is the staff. Justin - who I believe is the dining room manager, the surf instructors, and the front desk staff are all very friendly and happy to give suggestions for hikes and other things to do close by.

This is a great place for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamiFri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange, ca
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My ratings are a fair review when looking at overall cost to value delivered. Unlike most I compare apples to apples. Just because the hotel sits on the sand and has a five star view does not make it a five star hotel. Cliff note version is this hotel under delivers in some key areas that may be important to its guests. Hotels prices itself as 4-5 star but really does not offer much. Positive is the hotel is clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms are nice with nice deep spa tubs and heated tile floors but the shower is like a three by three triangle...no go. The restaurant for dinner was priced steep but the food was very good and service was fine. Restaurant staff was very nice and helpful for dinner but not so much so for breakfast. The area is very nice and is a dog lovers paradise. The front desk staff needs help. I don't know if they are young and inexperienced or both. Overall the hotel seems kind of cramped with poor use of the lands. For the love of god get a hot tub out front where the beach patio is between the hotel and sand. It is a sin you do not have one in this environment.

Negatives - The biggest negative was the wireless service. Don't let them fool you there is none outside of 5 feet from the front desk. Seriously it is a joke but fortunately my room was next to the next door resort cox resorts and I was able to use their free open wireless. I also tried to use ethernet for laptop but the data port did not work in my room or my friends room. I was also shocked that the hotel did not offer or have any apple product cables for a faster hard wire hook up...seriously over half the wireless products people use are apple. When asked about the wireless coverage the front desk gal responded that it is probably because we are too far from Tofino...wtf? As I mentioned earlier the front desk staff was mixed some good people and some that did not belong. Breakfast was okay at best but no variety same offerings day in and day out...coffee is pretty bad and they charge $4 for a cup of hot chocolate for a child... pretty petty. That one really killed me, what child drinks hot tea or coffee? The morning serving staff is a bit of a circus compared to the evening staff. Tours offered are over priced and nothing special. $189 for 2.5 hours of surf lessons plus another $39 for a long board and wet suit.

Not once did I see a manager anywhere walking the grounds. This place is not that big you can easily have a manager or asst manager greet each room upon check in or at dinner as there is no excuse. There is also no one to help with luggage and I mean no one and when asked just a blank stare. For me it is okay but my friends with children had a difficult time.

When you charge those types of prices it always comes down to service and here the service is lacking for what you pay for. I would look elsewhere for a room unless they lower their prices by a third. Better places to be had when looking at value for $. Overall hotel 3-4 star but with cost brings it down to 2-3 star...too bad as it has potential. Bottomline, they need to raise the bar with the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank atomicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish_7, General Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Readers,

I would like to apologize to this reviewer for the drop in the experience they had here at Long Beach Lodge Resort. We follow what Trip Advisor Reviewers have to say about their experience very seriously - and use all feedback to improve our operation. And this reviewer provided us some valuable information!

Yes we have some connectivity issues to our wireless service, especially from those people who are using some Apple devices. We have been able to fix the problem (it was our network security that was preventing some Apple devices from connecting to the wireless network)

We do have a hot tub in our future, as part of our “Surf Center” with construction starting this fall; we are aiming for it to be open by our 10th anniversary in April 2012.

I wish that this reviewer actually took advantage of one of our Surf lessons our Private Marine Adventures, as we over the lowest cost option for both experiences here in Tofino. And if you were to compare a surf lesson to i.e. a private ski lesson at Vail or Whistler, the surf experience at Long Beach Lodge is ¼ of the cost of those experiences.

And we have historically charged for hot chocolate, even though every stay at the Lodge includes complimentary continental breakfast. As a result of this Reviewers feedback we will from this point forward offer FREE hot chocolate to kids!

Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback, and we hope to see you back that the Lodge in the future, in hopes that we can make it up to you in providing a better experience in the future.


Best regards,
Perry Schmunk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at Long Beach Lodge last week and had an absolutely perfect private wedding on the beach. They took care of everthing and made us feel so welcome. Fantastic room (walk-out to the beach), amazing food, great staff - Totally perfect! Couldn't have have had a more perfect wedding just for the two of us! We'll be back for sure for aniversaries!

Room Tip: Great room! Beautiful amenities, Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, amazing view and walk-out to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband arrived early on Aug.9th and were very pleased that we could check in. We were again very pleased to be upgraded. The upgrade was to a cabin. I can only say "WOW". It was fantastic. We even had our own private hot tub right outside the bedroom door. All the staff were very welcoming. Samantha at check-in was great. We were having such a great time that we asked her if we could stay 3 nights instead of 2 in the same cabin at the same rate. I think she did a little juggling but was able to do so. I was thrilled. The continental breakfast was great as well with an incredible view to go with it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,047 reviews
126.5 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Cox Bay Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Tofino
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing