We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place for a Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place for a Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here on a much-needed relaxing trip to Vancouver Island. We stayed in one of the beachfront rooms on the third floor (but not one of the ones right on top of the restaurant). We loved our room and we loved the resort.

The room had a beautiful view of the beach and was really well-designed, with two exceptions that I will get to in a minute. The balcony had chairs and then there was another sitting area just inside the glass-sliding door. The bed was after that and the bathroom was closest to the hallway. The huge tub was behind louvered screens in the part of the bathroom that was closest to the glass-sliding door. So all that means that you could sit outside, you could sit just inside, you could lie down on the bed, or you could lounge in the tub and still see the beautiful view and get the cool air. Terrific! We kept the glass-sliding door open all the time and it was a cool, lovely place to stay.

The main exception to all this perfection is the shower stall. It's a very small, prefab stall with only one tiny soap shelf. And the door opens in such a way that you can't reach the area around the sink and use it as a shelf for the shower. I am not a huge person, but it meant shaving my legs was hard. My husband is very tall and it was not easy for him just to bathe. I'm not sure why they designed it that way, since it's very easy to see what they could have done to give themselves more room, although it would probably be difficult to retrofit now that they've built it. The other exception is that the closet does not have a light in it. Since I kept my suitcase in there, I had to use the light in the "hall" between the closet and the bathroom, but in order to get into the suitcase, I ended up blocking the light with my body. I suppose I could have knelt on the floor to get into the suitcase, but I didn't want to do that. My guess is that it would be pretty easy for the resort to correct this problem.

But I don't want to focus on the problems at all. We loved it there and would go back in a minute. The lodge was just the right size, not so small that it lacked amenities, but not so large that we had to go all over the place to eat or do laundry or get to the public areas. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the great room was good and served in a pleasant location.

We enjoyed the outdoor seating. Several times, we sat outside and read while looking at the view. We enjoyed walking up and down the beach, although the water was too cold for us to swim. It was fun to watch the surfers and we even enjoyed the presence of the dogs, although it surprised us how many there were and that they ran free on the beach. But they were all uniformly well behaved and their owners must have cleaned up after them because we never encountered dog poop on the beach (and only once in the parking lot).

The service was good, too. One night, someone had built a fire on the beach and the smoke was throttling us in our room. We called downstairs to find out if that were permitted and were told that it was not and it would be taken care of right away. It was out within 10 minutes. I'm not sure we were the earliest call, but it sure felt like quick service to us.

We would go back to Tofino and the Long Beach Lodge Resort in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a balcony that looks straight out to the view as high up as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,104
    461
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
727
1,531
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were very impressed with friendliness and knowledge shared by all staff. Our room was comfortable and immaculate. What a view!! We can't wait to return. Shout out to Ryland my flatlander surf instructor, thanks for your time and patience. Our room was 109 with walkout to the beach, absolutely the best for beach strollers. The heated washroom floors were so luxurious. We checked out some of the other Tofino hotels, but for value for dollar, can't be beat.

Room Tip: Surf lessons and a surf shop are part of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinatsu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were in room 310, very expensive, but what a view.
The room was very comfortable, with two sofas, 2 easy chairs and outside seating. Very comfortable bed. Lovely bath, also with a view. This room was just perfect.
The restaurant food isn't stunning (apart from the sushi) but is a good standard.
All staff were friendly and helpful.
Cox Bay has a lovely beach.
We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here.
(I was surprised to see an adult male in the dining room one evening wearing a backward baseball cap - not something one would see in a similar establishment in Scotland!)

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room with a view rather than a lodge. We spent a lot of time just looking out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was my first trip to Tofino. I live on Vancouver Island, in the Comox Valley and thought where I live is paradise. That is until I set foot at Long Beach Lodge Resort and saw the views of the Pacific Ocean. WOW.....truly breathtaking!
The staff were friendly. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The meals in the Great Room were cozy and extremely amazing views of the Ocean. The breakfast in the morning was very satisfying.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnieA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duncan bc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I'm writing this review on my expierence with Long Beach Lodge and Resort , my girlfriend stays here when she comes to tofino , but i havent had the pleasure of spending time there yet, but will in the future thats a given after what this resort has done .There is a girl who is dying of Hunington's disease and her wish was to visit Tofino , my girlfriend and I saw her story on the news , and i got thinking what can we do for her , my girlfriend said call and see if Long Beach Resort will give us a discount so we can make this girl's dream come true , so i made the call to the General Manager Perry Schmunk , and told him this girl's story , and i asked if he can help out with maybe a discount , within 15 mins talking with Perry, i had an email giving her a choice on what dates she would prefer . Perry didnt give her a discount but he gave her 3 nights 4 day accomadation, with breakfast for her and her care workers , dinner for 3 , and for Lee-Anne the most exciting part a adventure tour around tofino, since Lee-Anne with her disease can't control her body temp the resort is turning the hottub in her cottage so that its cold , This gesture shows , that this is a classy resort and in the busiest season he got them all this . This goes to show that this more than a business to Perry , this is a truly a classy resort with classy management this doesnt get 5 stars but 10 stars . thanks again Perry for all you have done for this girl .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopens6687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Your staff were simply amazing, I did not walk by one person anywhere in the resort without them acknowledhing me as a valued guest. My husband and I were very impressed. We had dinner at the Wickininnish one night and were underwhelmed compared with our meals at Long Beach which were incredible. Your staff were by far the friendliest and most accomodating we have ever seen at a resort. everything else was absolutely perfect! it was the best 25th anniversary trip! Thanks Oakville Onatrio

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Without question the best place to stay in Tofino. LBL is in a great location with lovely facilities, and a staff willing to go the extra mile. The early morning coffee was delicious, as is the excellent food served in the Lodge's beautiful Great Room. The included breakfast is lovely, with a full breakfast available if you want/need anything more. We had stayed at another upscale facility in Tofino in the past, but found it stodgy and far more expensive. The Lodge is spacious and expanse, so even if full, you never have a feeling that it's "crowded"; and the vibe is really positive and nice. The on-grounds cabins are a great option for families as well, since they have added privacy and kitchens as an option, a nice touch when traveling with the kids.
Staff at LBL truly want you to enjoy Tofino and their Lodge the way they do, and you truly will!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagzpackt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing