We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant & relaxing”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A pleasant and relaxing winter break, beach walking and storm watching. Comfortable room partial sea view (worth the extra $$). We were on a "3 for the price of 2" nights as long one night is a Tuesday - good value. Included adequate continental breakfast. Room clean, comfortable, warm with gas fireplace (nice for winter evenings). Food in restaurant overall good quality, good selection of wines and craft beers. Staff in all cases were attentive and friendly, nice pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get second or third floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggischomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review, our "Tuesday Free" special has proven very popular, again this winter. I am glad you were able to take advantage of it.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,189
    485
    124
    51
    17
See reviews for
768
1,593
98
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My work seems to always get in the way of our get-a-way times, so when my wife booked a week off a month or so go, we decided to try to get away and selected the Long Beach Resort due to us having a dog.

We chose to stay in a cottage (B+), which was very nice, but I gave it a B+ due to a loose toilet seat, and a burnt out light bulb, and as we had a dog, we were on the side next to the public boardwalk and when the surf is running, so are all the surfers.

We were early for check in, so we walked along the very peaceful Cox Bay beach. I would really like to return to this beach for the summer as it looks like a great place to be.

Returning from the beach, we were still early, so the lodge bought us a drink in the Great Room (A+). Room was ready on time, we were just early, so thanks to the front line staff for the offer.

The wait staff were great and I can only give you an (A-), ladies please take the guys aside and show them how it is done.

Cleaning staff were at our door each morning, though we did not require their services so kudos to the team.

There is a continental breakfast, so on our second morning we ordered some eggs to add some protein to our carb rich meal, so a (B+) for that.

The resort had a three day special which included a free night if that night included a Tuesday. This is the reason we booked the resort, however, we had to leave Tuesday evening for a business issue and on checkout we were charged for all three nights. The onus was on us to inform the staff that we were taking advantage of the offer that we confirmed when we booked the room.

They fixed the bill, but for that you get a (D).

However, we do at some point plan to return. I want to meet the owner and learn of his story from building houses to building the resort

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
I am sorry your room was not perfect for you, one of my projects, this year, is to to make sure that maintenance is not missing anything and that the rooms perfect when guests arrive. We are doing away with the buffet, by the end of the month, as a number of guests are no longer happy with it. Regarding your check out, the onus was not on you to inform us that you were on the Tuesday Free package. An agent, no longer working at the Lodge, made a mistake, at the time of booking and failed to note you were on the special. Thank you for your comments, and I am glad that overall, you injoyed your visit.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have heard very good things about this resort and that's why I picked it for our family trip. The room was clean and had a great ocean view. However -

Our room was next to the restaurant, and it was noisy during the nighttime. We were told that there was a room in between the restaurant and our room to buffer the noise, not sure if that really worked though.

The heater in the bathroom was broken, and it was freezing cold there.

The fitness centre was located in another building, and you have to cross the parking lot in order to get to there.

During the checkout, I expressed some of my concerns to the staff at front desk, but the response was lukewarm.

Was it a nice place? Yes.

Was it worth $300 per night after tax? Absolutely No.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the second floor if you prefer quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
i am very sorry your experience was not similar to the vast majority of our guests. The dining room is completely empty by 10pm, so there is never any noise during the night time. There shouldn't really be any noise, even during operating hours . If there is ever any problem in your room, all you need to do is call the front desk, and the concern will be addressed immediately. I don't understand how a short walk to a fitness centre should be a problem! We moved the fitness centre, out of the hotel and into a separate building, a few years ago, because a fitness room can be noisy.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The best location on Cox Bay. Great ambience in a rich, casual west coast designed lodge. There is not a bad view from the comfort of the great room with a large natural, crackling fire place. The lodge rooms are very well appointed and clean. Most important, the staff are universally helpful, polite and attentive.

Room Tip: Top floor ocean view rooms for the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am happy you enjoyed your visit. You nailed it, it is the wonderful staff that really sets us apart, they are passionate about trying to make each guest experience the best it can be.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nimpo Lake
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Beautiful natural surroundings with an equally beautiful resort. Staff was warm, welcoming accommodating and friendly. Everything is top notch. Highly recommend this jewel of the west coast. Relaxing, and elegant without pretention.

Room Tip: deluxe waterfront rooms are amazing for couples but the cottages are the best value for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your very nice comments, we try our best. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great place. LBLR is casual relaxed elegance at its best: very comfortable, beautiful west coast architecture and design, and not too big. The staff are warm and friendly but not suffocatingly so, and very helpful. Food is delicious. Beds are fabulous. And the location, well, it's the wild west coast. You could sit in the great room all day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugged48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. We will look forward to your next trip to our wild west coast!


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrillville, IN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The illness that should've been fatal was now two years behind us, and it was time for celebration. Any place in the world you want to go, I offered. The immediate response was that she wanted to come back to the Long Beach Lodge and watch the huge storm waves roll in. Every bit was breathtaking. The setting inspires awe. But what separates the Long Beach Lodge from every other place is the people. The young people who work here come from around the world to enjoy the surf. Yet they are impeccably trained. Typical example was stunningly beautiful young Brazilian who waited on us our first night at the restaurant. She spent time explaining the subtle differences in the nuances of the BC wines, and inquired as to our preferences before recommending a wine pairing with dinner. She left the next day for several months to study in India. Or the assistant manager who exudes the most incredible joy and warmth. What is remarkable is that every other person employed at the Long Beach Lodge displays the same commitment to excellence. As if that weren't enough, the facility is perfect. The rooms are immaculate and well furnished, and watching the waves roll in across the Pacific while sitting near the fireplace in the Great Room is fabulous. And, having eaten at most of the other restaurants in Tofino, none compares with dining at Long Beach Lodge. They knew that this was a celebration and they made it perfect. In the end, I just want to come here and never leave. Ever.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAJ1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am very happy that your wife has made such a wonderful recovery, what great news! Thank you for your nice comments concerning our staff, they will be delighted. Guests have often said that while the resort and location are beautiful, it is our staff that keeps them returning. If I say so myself, I really believe that we do have the greatest staff anywhere; young people who are genuinely passionate about what they do, love people and try to make every guest experience the best it can be. I hope that a return visit is in your future, my very best wishes.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
18.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing