We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cox Bay Surf - Long Beach Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cox Bay Surf - Long Beach Lodge”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just stayed at Long Beach Lodge June 13 and 14. Did a lot of research and certainly glad we ended up picking the lodge. Cox bay is by far the best beach to stay on if you want to hear the surf and play in the waves. The bay also seems to be cleaner than chesterman.

With regards to the resort itself, the resort was excellent, but there is always room for improvement. But lets start with the good points.
1. Unbelievable location, right on cox bay. Make sure to get a room with a view of the ocean. We had the room with partial view on the north side, and you could definitely see the ocean. A real bonus if you are a surfer and want to see how the waves are rolling. Make sure to get up early in the morning to explore the beach at low tide. Wildlife galore in the tidal pools.
2. Rooms are top notch. Gas fireplace, little balcony, corkscrew, full shower and jet tubs, king bed was excellent. Robes and rain slickers are provided as well which would be a bonus in storm season.
3. The patio bar serves food during the day, and there are a couple places where you can even bring your own wine and sit on the paio chairs which we did. In fact, i fell asleep in one of the chairs listening to the waves! Bring a few bottles of wine with you for walks on the beach!
4. Restaurant overlooks the ocean and has many panoramic views of the beach. Spectacular.
5. Surf club at top of parking lot was handy. Board and wetsuit rental is a little pricier than in town, but they let you change boards mid rental, which makes it very convenient. Wish the hot tub was next to the beach though!
6. Pizza was excellent. Make sure to try one.
7. Surf. Best beach of the main public beaches - non park, and i went to them all. Always seemed to be something working, no matter time of day. Simply amazing.

Minor issues/room for improvement
1. Food at the restaurant is a little pricey, and the butter for the crab was errantly swapped with oil, and we waitied far too long for the real butter! Not sure how that could happen but stuff happens i guess. Training day perhaps?. But one meal at the restaurant is a must, just for the views.


Overall, an excellent experience, and would definitely stay here again. Staff was wonderful and friendly, providing excellent tips on things to do and what to see.

Room Tip: get an ocean view. 2nd floor or higher so you can watch the waves. Partial ocean view rooms on south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review, future guests will really appreciate your comments. I am happy that you enjoyed your visit.

If you ordered crab, it is indeed pricy, although the price has know dropped back to more reasonable levels. I number of restaurants stopped ordering crab because of price. There were two issues, poor harvests and the mainland Chinese, taking most of the crab at crazy prices.

I hope you may visit again soon.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,101
    460
    120
    51
    17
See reviews for
726
1,528
95
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

When you turn off Pacific Rim Highway, onto the drive to Long Beach Lodge Resort you can tell someone is doing whatever they can to make it a beautiful experience to stay at this resort. I have to say the staff was fabulous to us. The food was delicious. Cox Bay is an unbelievably beautiful views, with a massive stretch of sandy beach, and the Lennard lighthouse in the distance adds to a perfect Westcoast picture. Perfect for learning to surf! No barnacles, or, rough coral to rip yourself on ...just beautiful sandy beach. Everything was such a good experience. The "great room" is a work of art in itself. We had two delicious dinners in the great room, watching the surfers hang out on the waves for as long as they could until it got too dark. You could see they didn't want to give it up, and get out of the surf!
OMG if they have it, try the blueberry pie!. AND, my latte was one of the best anyone has ever made me, now that was a surprise, too!
Kudos to the staff who make you feel like you're exactly where you should be.
If you go for it in the ocean they have a rental shop on site for full suits & boards. Lessons here, too, or, just walk the beaches all day, or, hike in the forest, or, sit and stare out at the mesmerizing constant rollers. Dreamy. Thank you Long Beach Lodge Resort, it was such a special weekend!

Room Tip: an ocean view room or one of the rainforest cottages. Either way is fabulous, just depends on your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muchmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, it is greatly appreciated by us all. We do work hard to try to always improve the guest experience, and I am great full that it is noticed. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights whilst doing a bear watching tour the second morning. The view is breathtaking, we couldn t bring ourselves to shut the curtains! The room itself is wonderful, sheer luxury, and they even supply raincoats and umbrellas for wet days. A beautiful bathroom, with oversized bath and separate shower, and a louvred window, that you can look through the bedroom, and see the view out the window.my only criticism, is that you can't buy coffee at the outside bistro, you have to go to the boutique to buy it, which seems a strange place to have a coffee shop. I have to say that they provide coffee making facilities in the room.
Do go on the bear watching tour, it's amazing, and we saw a transient male as well.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your visit and activities.

We have just opened the bistro and are still fine tuning, coffee is now offered.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We returned to the Lodge at Long Beach Lodge again, exactly a year from our last visit. Again we were warmly greeted by the LBL reception staff and were treated to another breathtakingly gorgeous Deluxe king-size ocean front room. Because it was my wife's birthday get-away treat, the staff presented us with a nice bottle of Champagne to mark the occasion. This is yet another reason why this resort has earned the fantastic reputation it has! "Dedication to details"....the little things that mean so much to the customer! The management have trained the staff in the fne art of making the customer feel so very welcome!

We had the bithday celebration dinner in the grand dining room...a stupendous window seat overlooking the breath-taking beach! Our meal was scrumptious, as we've come to expect from our initial visit a yeart ago. The menu choices are superb and offer what I presume to be mostly local cuisine....where possible! My Salmon Fettachinni was mouth-watering as was Marcia's Herb-Glazed Crown Rib of lamb. The waiter was very polite and efficient....and remembered to bring the birthday desert with a bithday candle. A great evening...one we'll long cherish and remember!

The next morning we walked the entire length of Cox Bay on a truly beautiful sunny morning....watching the many surfers either learning to surf with LBL Surf Club instructers or experienced surfers out in the waves. What a vista! I shot many photos of the setting! We then went to the LBL hot-tub and relaxed in the radiant heat. Very relaxing....the outdoor setting looking up at the towering fir trees which abound on the property. The staff in the gift shop were again polite and friendly....a term I have used quite often in this Tripadviser report....but can't stress enough. We found the "friendliness" natural and not forced....just to satisfy the customer...like you see in so many other resort settings!

For our second evening, we thought we would try the newly opened Bistro on the beach...and were duly rewarded with great food and drink. The Bistro has just been recently opened and we could see it was a busy spot...already catching on with the guests. It'll prove to be a winner!

In closing, I can't say enough great things about the Lodge at Long Beach. We can see why it gets such high ratings, and everyone we speak to shares this same glowing opinion. It has truly becme a Canadian West Coast favourite! We will continue to return to the Lodge at Long Beach....as we are beginning to treat it as our West Coast annual "home away from home".

Room Tip: We love the ocean-front King-size rooms. There are even louvered windows in the bathroom so when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkor154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted you both enjoyed your visit. So many of your reviews are really great, I hope readers don't think our family is posting reviews!

I hope you can join us next your to celebrate your wife's birthday.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location. If you have a room with a beach view then you won't be disappointed. We had a balcony overlooking the beach, a fireplace, a huge bath from which you can see the sea as well as a shower. Everything is fitted out in wood and looks gorgeous. Staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. The only complaint is with the food really. It's served in the most magnificent dining , also overlooking the beach and everything treated great but why was it all just luke warm and on luke warm plates? This does seem to be the Canadian way; but it's really not good enough for a place of this sophistication and price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed the resort and it's location, right on the beach. Thank you also for your mention of the staff being friendly, courteous and efficient, we try to make each guest experience the best it can be.

I am disappointed that you found the food and plates to be only luke warm. We ask that if ever anything is not to your liking that you immediately inform the server. We are more than happy to rectify any problem, and have our guest leave the dining room feeling very satisfied with their food.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we love coming back to lblr. we stay in the duplexes when we come because of the private hot tub! we have also stayed in the ocean view rooms and they are beautiful as well. the great room is such a beautiful place to have your meals or just relax and have a drink, watch the surfers and the happy dogs playing on the beach. Really miss the included breakfast, one of the great things about lblr. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVMARTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for you review, I am glad you had a nice visit.

The decision to discontinue the buffet breakfast was not taken lightly. There were a number of reasons, I will mention several. Firstly, we were getting a number of complaints from our valued European guests concerning the buffet, even adding protein but not resolve the issue. We have a great number of guests from Europe and it was impacting our ratings. Another issue was the huge waste of food. As a buffet has to be full to the very last guest, large amounts of food had to be sent to the garbage each day as it cannot be re-used. The buffet was costing, with waste, over $500,000 annually and this was no longer sustainable, given our high cost of operating and our desire to maintain the resort to extremely high standards. We believe that our breakfasts are good valve and that our menu is greatly improved, including our wonderful Tofino coffee!

We look forward to your next trip our way.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a favourite of ours. We have stayed in their forest "duplexes" with some of our grown-up children, and also in their dog friendly ocean front rooms. The location is beyond lovely, the sound of the surf lulls to sleep, and the Great Room with roaring fire is something we look forward to. Food is generally very good - lunch especially nice sitting by the windows watching the surf and people running their dogs (dog heaven - they can run safely for "miles"). Do miss the previous "included" breakfast with their lovely granola though (it ranked up there with the view). We have gone during "storm season" and do like the lack of crowds in Tofino and the big waves. Staff always friendly and helpful. Very nice place to stay and well worth the cost (watch for their 4 for the price of 3 specials - we do)! Nice outdoor hot tubs with forest rooms - lovely when it is cool and crisp outside - on clear nights lay back and watch for satellites then warm up with the gas fireplaces (in all their rooms). Towel and cookie service for our dog greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: For sure the ocean view not only for the view but for the sounds of surf all night long - so soothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your recent visit. You offer readers some great advise, watch for our specials! We are offering a great deal right now, good until July 15th.

We look forward to your next visit.


Tim Hackett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing