We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cottage, terrific range of activities, incredible staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family of five had plenty of room in the incredibly spacious cottage. We loved having the option of cooking our own food or dining in the restaurant. The kids learned to surf, we did the boat tour and of course played on the beach. The games, movies and beach toys to borrow were an added bonus! We had a marvellous vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73MAC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review, the cottages are perfect for family holidays, I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of all the activities we offer. Our own in house surf school and centre are very popular with guests. We will look forward to your next visit. Thank you.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,793 - 1,799 of 3,069 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Resort is spread over a large area and caters for just about everybody. We had booked a room in the main hotel and arriving early it was not ready. However, the receptionist contacted housekeeping to give it priority and by the time we had eaten lunch it was ready.

The room was large with great views across the ocean and a good sized bathroom with shutters giving views across the room and out to sea.

The hotel is a hot spot for surfers and although not participating ourselves it was fun to watch the more energetic indulge.

It also benefits from an on-site laundry which we made use of but, although it didn’t affect us, it was disappointing to find two of the three washing machines out of action.

Food in the restaurant was good with the advantage of looking out over the sea and the bar and other staff were all friendly and helpful..

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JandJ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a great visit. I am hoping that any laundry equipment not working has being fixed, I will check this morning.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My Wife and I loved this place!
Great restaurant fantastic location. Mind blowing sunsets! Surf lessons kayaking hiking and then the private hot tub to soak away aches and pains
Great cottages very cozy and comfortable
Will return with children next time
We enjoyed the area very much and this was the perfect place to stay

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FredoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you both enjoyed your visit and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We will look forward to your next visit as return guests, your children will love it too!


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. I think what most people are here for is the location and it does not disappoint. The beach is absolutely stunning. A surfers paradise (lots of them here) but also great if you just want to relax and chill out. It isn't a noisy cramped beach - far from it. It is huge and feels so peaceful. The sunsets are worth the long trip to get here!

The food served in the great room - a lovely space Central to the hotel which looks out onto the water - is great. Emphasis on local produce and most beers and wines also local (try the Vanc Island Pinot Noir - delightful!). Food was tasty, classy and struck the right balance between fine dining and relaxed home cooking.

Breakfast also delicious.

Our servers were all without exception fantastic and infact every member of staff that we saw said hello and was friendly and courteous. Also had an out of the blue call from guest services to check everything was ok and if we needed anything. Great touch! We also loved the bottle of wine and glasses they left for us in our room as a congratulations for our honeymoon. Thank you LBL - would definitely recommend you!


Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Congratulations on your resent marriage, and my very best wishes. Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed Canada's true west coast! Your comments concerning our staff are greatly appreciated.
I hope you will both have an opportunity to visit us again.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our stay was nice but personally not worth $687 for 2 nights ex. breakfast.
We booked the standard room that was clean and had a nice bathroom but.. I never had a 140 cm bed for 2 persons except in the centre of Paris... And here.. Maybe this was a single room?
The room was quite dark because we were probably on the north side of the hotel.
Wifi is not stable and very slow.
When we arrived at 19.00 on the first day, the restaurant was already fully booked and on the second evening there was a wedding so eventually we had dinner in Tofino and not in the hotel.
The breakfast was ok but again, I expected a bit more from a hotel of this level. My partner ordered steelcut oats for $14 and got eh.. Oats..
I would expect some nuts, fresh fruit or cinnamon with it.
The area and the beach around the hotel are beautiful so the place is definately worth a visit but maybe pay even more for the best experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Annet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as such as most of our guests. The rate you paid, is the lowest summer rate of any comparable beachfront hotel in Tofino. The room you stayed in has a queen sized bed. We ask our guests, upon booking to make their dinner reservations as the dining room becomes fully booked, in the summer. If you booked through a third party, you may not have been informed. However, with registered guests arriving late, we will always fit you in. I am not sure why you were not, but I will check. Because there was a wedding, should not have prevented you from enjoying dinner on your second night.

Thank you for visiting Canada, I am glad you enjoyed our area and beaches.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I were married at LBL on May 31,2014. We decided to get married there based on our previous incredible experiences at LBL. We can't say enough good things about this place. The wedding coordinator, Megan Hall does an amazing job. From the moment we contacted her about booking our wedding to the congratulatory email we got from her a week after our wedding, she did everything perfectly. She took care of everything, all we had to do was show up! We felt like we were rock stars!!! On a very busy weekend, with a huge surf competition going on directly in front of the LBL, Megan ensured that our wedding trumped everything else. She arranged to have the competition stopped for the duration or our ceremony and kept the area as clear as she could.
We even had a couple unexpected guests for the reception and Megan just made it work! Tariq and Monica were the wait staff for our wedding. They weren't just servers, they were guests at our wedding. They did an incredible job.
We felt like we were royalty. For example, every suggestion we made for our preferences was answered with a "yes". We had a full crab dinner with ice cream wedding cake for dessert, obviously not a traditional dinner for a wedding but LBL handled it famously for about 50 guests. All of the staff there become a part of the family and are incredibly nice and accommodating. Don't misunderstand, they aren't fake nice, and don't appear like they're forced to say "good morning" like in other hotels. They are just all wonderful individuals who take pride in their work and LBL.
LBL will forever be our special place in our hearts and we will continue to return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Congratulations on your recent wedding, my very best wishes for a long and happy marriage.

Thank you for your nice comments, I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time. I hear the same comments, from all our brides, concerning Megan. She is the nicest person and genuinely loves doing what she does. Tariq and Monica are awesome as well. Guests often comment that while it is a given that the beach and resort are beautiful, it is our staff that keeps them returning.

We will look forward to your next visit, perhaps a anniversary.


Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our stay at the Long Beach Lodge was wonderful overall. We were met by friendly and welcoming staff who gave us complementary cocktails in the restaurant. Our room was nicely furnished, clean, and had all the amenities we could wish for. The bed was comfortable, and pillows seemed of good quality. Our only complaint was the heat in the room. We both had absolutely lousy sleeps because it was absurdly hot in the room and there was no AC. We were told at the time of checkout that there was a fan in the closet (which we didn't open because we had no need). For the cost of the room, we both agree that it should really come equipped with air conditioning. Otherwise, we would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room overlooking the ocean, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownBratt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lblr, Owner at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you had a great stay. I apologize that you were not informed that the fan was in the closet. If anything is not to your satisfaction please contact the front desk, day or night, so that can resolve the problem so that you may have a comfortable stay. None of the hotels have air conditioning as Tofino has a very moderate climate with very few really hot days.

Tim Hackett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £131 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing