We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 28 October 2009

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a spectacular weekend at the Long Beach Lodge. It was truly a weekend we will always remember.

We enjoyed two fantastic dinners; it makes such a difference when the fish are actually caught that same day. On the second night it was such a treat to sample practically the entire sushi menu. The room was great. The soaker tub was just what the doctor ordered after an entire morning of surfing. In fact, we’d like to remodel our own bathroom in a similar manner. Thank you Carmen for the surfing lesson; if it weren’t for the photos, none of my friends would have believed me! The bed was very comfortable. We got into the habit of sleeping with the balcony door slightly open. This made falling asleep all too easy as the sound of the crashing waves on the beach lulled us to sleep. The great room was an ideal place to sit and relax, whether it was having lunch by the window or marveling at the stars from the balcony at night. We found the staff always friendly, helpful and efficient.

We strongly recommend the Long Beach Lodge to anyone seeking to enjoy the stunning natural beauty of Tofino. If you’re like us, leaving the Lodge will certainly be a difficulty!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,163
    474
    122
    51
    17
See reviews for
753
1,572
97
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

What an absolute fabulous weekend getaway! My husband and I just wanted some time alone without the kids and found this amazing lodge in Tofino. From the moment we arrived, the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our room had a lovely ocean view, with super comfy beds and a cozy fireplace. There is nothing like waking up to the sound of the ocean waves. Normally I wouldn't use bathtubs in hotel rooms but this room was so clean the jacuzzi tub was just too inviting. The continental breakfast was way more than I expected. The homemade granola was my favourite but I had to have a couple of the delicious sticky buns as well. We loved the great room in this lodge so much we ate all of our meals here instead of going into town. The view from the great room was spectacular, the service was excellent, and the food was simply delicious. One of the many highlights of our stay was the surfing lessons provided by this lodge. This is something we've never done before and now can't wait to try again. We really found that with the beautiuful setting of this lodge, with romantic walks along the beach, the amazing food & service, the fun surfing lessons offered, and of course the comfortable room offered to us, we spent the entire weekend here at this lodge not ever needing to leave to go and look for something to do elsewhere. It truly was our best weekend getaway ever! Thank you Long Beach Lodge...we'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaLoulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

During our Thanksgiving weekend we stayed at Long Beach Resort in Tofino. Our cottage was beautifully furnished and a delight to relax in. The location of the Lodge allowed us to walk the beach and watch the waves of the Pacific Ocean. We stayed at the Long Beach lodge due to its rating as Canada's 3 best resort. Unfortunately, the service was terrible! On arrival, we found that there were broken light bulbs, remote controls that did not work. Our first morning the maid service did not fix our bed nor clean up the cottage at all. The restaurant staff were hurried and not understanding our desire to have a relaxed Thanksgiving Day dinner. The Hostess was surly. The food was below par - the butternut squash soup was watery, the beet soup was over peppered, the Brussel sprouts were hard. At the price we were paying we expected better service and quality food. If you stay here, either do your own cooking or eat at the many great places in Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoasteddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing 3 night stay at the Long Beach Lodge and because we had such a fabulous time, I felt compelled to write a review!! We booked one of the deluxe oceanfront rooms on the third floor which offered gorgeous full views of beautiful Cox Bay. We walked all the main beaches and in our opinion, Cox Bay is the best of them all!! Our room was extra cozy with a spacious balcony, comfy bed, soft terry cloth robes, fireplace, and huge soaker tub for two. We also loved waking up every morning and making our way down to the relaxed and cozy great room to eat breakfast.
We ate most of our meals at the lodge but also ventured into town one evening for a meal at 'Shelter' and highly recommend!! Definitely the meal highlight of the trip!
No complaints from us, we will be back, thanks Long Beach Lodge for a fabulous romantic gettaway!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachesVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The condo style accommodation of the main building had a super view of the water from the top floor. However, there was a lack of soundproofing and a sense of a lack of privacy. The best chocolate ice cream dessert I have ever tasted was enjoyed. Other cuisine was lacking at times and there is no room service. I would rate this resort as three stars maximum. I would not recommend it to a friend unless the culinary quality became more consistent and room service was available. Other than improving soundproofing, the lack of privacy is beyond control of the resort. The outdoor adventure consists of easy beach walking at low tide and a few very short nature trails.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liketobealone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
238 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

It is said to be the third best lodge in BC? I don´t think so. It is definately a nice and good place to vacation but it does not fullfill top requirements concerning facilities. Most rooms face the ocean what is for sure a big plus and the ocean is really just out of your door. Some rooms are high priced but offer standard facilities except the penthouse and better appartments. Some rooms face the parking lot so check which room you get. Room number 205 (as far as I remember) is facing the restrooms and is very near to the kitchen and restaurant and maybe a bit noisier. The grand lobby room is perfect and offers everything you need to watch the ocean on a windy stromy day. The free continental breakfast is very good and is abundant. The cabins to rent are very big and well equipped but are a bit away from the ocean, they are located in the rain forest but beds are comfortably and the hot tube is outside the bedroom, but there is no real veranda and place to sit on a hot evening. In total for we shared the cabin it was a good deal and place. Service staff is very young and is sometimes not very fast and experienced, but I have no negative experience here. Beach is clean and open, enjoyable!
So definately the closeness to the ocean and the cosy lobby room with big glass front are the USPs. Tofino is a 7 km drive away, for dining we could not check the hotel, we ate at Schooners, the best place in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

From the moment we drove on to the property it was obvious we had arrived at a special place. At no time did our feelings change throughout our stay.
We had booked two nights and had the benefit of an ocean view room.
Staff: at all times courteous, friendly and ready to assist.
Room: just entering the room was a treat particularly the panoramic views of beach and ocean. A large soaker tub is situated such as to allow privacy yet the advantage of the same view.
Dining: a continental breakfast (enough for us) is served although a full breakfast menu is available. Evening dining provides not only visual delights but at each of our two dinners quality was outstanding and the presentation as good as anything we have enjoyed wherever our travels have taken us. Watching the sunset while enjoying a glass of wine, from our room or the dining room, was reminiscent of our cruise to Hawaii.
Guests: from young couples to persons of our own age. As it was early October there were no children that we observed.
General: the property is very well maintained and provides the guest with lots of opportunity to go at their own pace, from walking on the beach to reading and watching the surfers from the Great Room. It is obviously a photographers delight for we have never seen so many guests snapping away from morning to night.
We are an older couple who no longer travel south for the winter. We now cruise but look for places to get us into winter and into spring that provide comfort, scenery and dining of high quality.
At this resort we found it all.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2togolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,028 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Property: Long Beach Lodge Resort
Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing