We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We ended up at the Long Beach Lodge on a spur of the moment weekend to Vancouver Island on our motorcycle. It was our first stay of the weekend, the other being Sooke Harbour House in Sooke (also superb!). We called Long Beach on our way to the Port Angeles ferry Friday afternoon and were lucky to score the last and only room they had available (a Penthouse Suite) at a significant, last minute discount.

The drive from Victoria to Port Alberni on HWY can be full of traffic and nothing impressive but as soon as you turn off on HWY 4 towards Tofino, the adventure begins. It was a bit foggy and rainy on our drive but the views were still beautiful. We are planning to go back when the weather is better to fully soak up the scenery.
Long Beach Lodge was to be my reward stay at the end of a long, rainy and cold motorcycle ride that I agreed to go on with my husband. I was not disappointed. They have been voted Top 5 Hotels / Resorts of Canada by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine for the last 2 years. They have also been included in Architectural Digest.

Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was in the main building, a short walk from the front desk. It was warm, spacious and luxurious. My favorite part was the floor to ceiling windows overlooking the secluded beach and ocean that were complimented with a cozy couch and fireplace. The bathroom was huge, complete with soaking tub and walk-in shower.

Dinner in the lodge room was oh so good. We had arrived much later than expected and almost missed dinner. They graciously extended us the chance to order from the dinner menu before closing the kitchen. We were so thankful. The wait staff was exceptional and made us feel like we were the only ones in the room. The views of the ocean from the lodge room were perfect.

Long Beach Lodge was a welcome reward at the end of our long journey. The ambience of the lodge helped us forget the cold adventure we had just endured and made the whole trip worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,691 - 2,697 of 3,020 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel has an amazing view of the ocean, The restaurant service I would say is ok, the food is definately poor, and god forbid should you conplain about it. The restaurant is over priced, over rated and poorly managed.The rooms are not that clean, our patio door was so dirty we could hardly open it, I would not waste my money on staying here again, The Wickinanish Inn is far better and not that much more

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank working4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLBLR, General Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2010

Dear Trip Advisor Readers,

We take pride in our operation and the product that we produce. Should you have any concerns during your stay please bring them to my attention at anytime. Unfortunately during this stay the reviewer choose to physically threaten our kitchen staff rather than bring his concerns forward to myself, even though he was offered on numerous occasions to speak to me. (The guest was evicted from the property with the assistance of the RCMP for his crude threatening behavoir, of which I have only ever had to do 4 times in my 26 years in the resort business

Best Regards,
Perry Schmunk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed at LBLR September 24-26th. My boyfriend had never been to the West Coast, so I decided to spoil him (and me) for the weekend.
We didn't luck out with the weather (it is Tofino and all part of the experience-rain!) but we did luck out with our room and everything about LBLR.

We had a partial oceanview room with the "deluxe" king size bed. Super comfortable-it felt like you were floating! The pillows were also totally awesome! Super fluffy and big! The bathroom had a double soaker tub with seperate shower - very convenient. And ladies - if you forget makeup remover or qtips or a shower cap - they have it all!!!! :)

The servers at the restaurant/great room were extremely friendly both at breakfast (which is included with your room rate) and also dinner (not included). We didn't have lunch there, but I'm sure the service was still great! And the best part about the great room - you have a full oceanview of the entire beach!

All in all, we will definitely be going back to LBLR. Thank you to Perry and his hard-working team!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-Aria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed for family vacation in August and we had an amazing time! Make sure to take surf lessons from their in-house staff as they do a great job but also way more convenient then having to rent board/gear in town. As the gear is then put right on a rack at the Lodge. Great beach for swimming with kids and perfect place for kids to play and build sand castles. Staff wonderful and make sure and don't miss sunsets from the Lodge bar!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeppowder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The hotel is actually on Cox Bay which is on the Tofino side of Long Beach.
Very smart room. The bathroom has a double bath and is separated from the bedroom by wooden louvres so no sound proofing between bathroom and bedroom!
No pool, small modern gym, free internet.
We paid for a sea view room and due to arriving at 4.30pm were allocated a ground floor room. This was more long grass view than sea view but no other rooms were available - so, arrive early.
Superb view from restaurant which served a very good breakfast. Evening meal a little slow to arrive but food OK.
The view from the jetty at Tofino is terrific at sunset. Ate at the excellent Sea Shanty but dine early so that you can get back to the hotel before dark - the winding road is no fun in the dark.
Next time we would stay at a hotel with a pool or one in Tofino.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul&Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerLBLR, General Manager at Long Beach Lodge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Dear Trip Advisor Readers,

When making your reservation, put in your room type requests, we do our very best to make sur all requests are met, i.e. first floor with direct step out access to the beach or a higher floor. We do not discrimate at the time of check in, but it is first come, first served (in terms of room type requests) at the time of reservation. And book early to make sure all your requests are met! We operate at/or close to full occupancy most of the year.

For any questions about the resort, please contact us directly or visit us online. Our amentites to name a few include an on site surf school, free daily breakfast, a great beach and our own in house fishing charter operations.

Best Regards
Perry Schmunk
General Manager
Long Beach Lodge Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This is the first time that we visited the west coast of Vancouver Island. We were so moved by the ocean it was incredible. The choice to wed at this hotel was the perfect one, the staff were awesome and our private wedding went very well. I am hoping to spend our 1st Anniversary there. We love the storm season.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahltanWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The service was excellent, the room was beautiful with a great view especially to watch the sun set and a beautiful beach to walk on.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,079 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Lodge Resort

Address: 1441 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 897, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#3 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £134 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Lodge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our luxury Oceanfront Tofino Accommodations! A luxurious beachfront resort for the discerning traveler, is perched on the edge of Cox Bay, between the pristine beauty of Pacific Rim National Park and spectacular Clayoquot Sound. This cedar-shingled lodge offers 5 star amenities and casual service in a rustic setting, creating a perfect, serene retreat from everyday responsibilities. This area has become a year-round destination for those who revel in unspoiled wilderness. Walk along endless stretches of deserted beach, hike rainforest trails, explore the galleries and shops or simply sit, relax, watch and wonder at it all.Experience the natural beauty, exceptional amenities and handcrafted cuisine at Long Beach Lodge Resort, our luxurious Tofino resort located on a beautiful beach front acreage on Vancouver Island's rugged West Coast. The Resort is set amongst the native coastal vegetation and takes full advantage of the expansive sandy beach and the open ocean with wild west coast surf... in fact it is one of the few Tofino hotels that can claim such a spectacular locale. Come view Tofino's biggest waves from the comfort of our iconic Great Room and partake in some of our award-winning cuisine!Long Beach Lodge is the ONLY resort on Cox Bay Beach offering ANY of these in-house services:full service restaurant & lounge (Great Room) surf instruction & rentals with spa-like change rooms, lockers, hot tub & sauna (Surf Club Centre) boat charter service (Marine Adventures); whale watching, bear watching and other wildlife viewing We are honored to be recognized as the #1 Vancouver Island Resort by Condé Nast Traveler Magazine Reader Choice Awards AND a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice 2013 winner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Long Beach Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Hotel Tofino
Long Beach Resort
Long Beach Lodge Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing