We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House of Himwitsa”
Review of House of Himwitsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
House of Himwitsa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“House of Himwitsa”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

As a visitor to North America we were a little concerned about what the term 'self catering' actually meant. We need not have worried, as the range and standard of equipment provided was excellent. The accommodation is spacious, facilities are superb and the views from the balcony overlooking the Sound totally delightful. Our room had a hot tub on the balcony, allowing us to soak whilst watching the early morning mist lifting or the sun setting. The grocery store is a few yards away, and it carries all the items one would need, regardless of the size or tastes of your party. Just two very small points....there is no lift and the stairs to the accommodation are quite steep, but the staff are quite happy to carry bags on arrival or departure.....and there is a restaurant (Sea Shanty) right underneath the balconies, with both outdoor and indoor eating, serving supper only. So your balcony is overlooked, if you like, but from down below. Having said that we did not find either point an issue. It was a truly lovely stay....thank you Himwitsa!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Sound and with a hot tub! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBG0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
penticton
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I will most defiantly return And If anyone asks I say; this place is a must to stay. to What an awesome Place,from the warm welcome, to the spacious suite.The view from the hot tub in our suite was just spectacular.the suite were very tidy and clean.I found the house of Himwitsa to be centrality located.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wes m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis G, Owner at House of Himwitsa, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
We want to take this time to thank-you for choosing us while visiting Tofino.
Perhaps our paths will cross once again should you decide to return to our
village of Tofino.
chuu (Nuu Chah Nulth for saying good bye)

Lewis & Cathy George
Himwitsa Lodge in Tofino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great family owned place gives personalized service like adjusting our hot tub temp, bringing restaurant order to our room, great off the beaten path travel tips, etc. The view is to die for on the front suites, especially at sunrise and sunset while watching the fishing boats, wildlife come and go.Seeing the float planes take off in front of the lodge made us book a return flight from hot springs cove. Took the earliest boat from Jamie's out to the cove to avoid the crowds and the returned right here by float plane. What an experience! The restaurant is good-blackened halibut sandwich with mango chutney and salmon salad. Great off season rates, too...may stay a month next year! Seriously!! It is a great base with all the amenities whilst exploring Uclulet's Barkley Sound by boat and all the Pacific Rim trails and beaches.

Room Tip: Suites 1, 2 or 3 are huge with kitchenette and ocean And mountain views 1 and 3 also have hot tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We had fabulous views from our room which overlooked the harbor & Clayquot Sound. The hot tub on the balcony was a highlight. The room was very spacious with a small kitchenette area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We spent two nights at the House of Himwitsa in July 2009. We stayed in room #2. The room was huge, with two double/queen beds, two rocking chairs, dining table for four and a small kitchen area. The bathroom was large and modern. The room had a large balcony with two nice deck chairs that overlooked Clayquot Sound and a couple of the piers of the town. ,The view was gorgeous, even though it rained most of our visit. This room did not have a hot tub, which was fine by us - the price of the room is less because of this. The room was very clean, with all furnishings in good shape, if not totally modern. The TV was snall, but did have a nice selection of satellite channes and a movie player - some movies were kept on a bookshelf in the hallway if you were interested.
The check in/check out process was interesting as it was at the counter of the gift shop below the lodge. We made our reservation via e-mail and the confirmation received was not e-mailed back to us. Upon check, we found that they were expecting us to stay one additional night, but allowed to depart without penalty. There are no elevators to the five upstairs room, which you access by a locked entrance up a flight of stairs. The lodge is also above a restaurant, which was a little noisy, but not bad at all and went away when the restaurant closed at 9 pm.
Overall, the room was great, the price ($175 US per night) was reasonable for the location, time of year, size of the room and general amenities, and we enjoyed our stay at the House of Himwitsa.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blairb366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

We stayed here for 1 night (unfortunately as we would have stayed longer if they weren't booked) last week and it was fantastic. We were in Room #1, which was huge, 2 double beds, fireplace, kitchen, private deck balcony with hot tub, fabulous views over the marina where the float planes go from, big TV and great restaurant downstairs. This was especially appreciated as we escaped a dodgy place that day and had spent a very long day trying to get back to Tofino. Also because of the next night when we had to stay at the Orca (see my other review of that) which was more expensive and 10 times worse than the Himwitsa, in comparison. Tofino is expensive, no doubt, but if you are going to spend the money, I would say spend it here and hopefully your stay will be as good as ours. Nothing like sipping cold wine while looking up at the stars in your private hot tub on your balcony.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — it was only available for 1 night
  • Tips/Secrets — pick the Himwitsa Lodge - fantastic and it also is owned and run by the First Nation people
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BridgetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 October 2004

Himwatsa House is a solid choice for your first visit to Tofino. It has clean, large rooms, some with great views of Clayquot Sound, and is centrally located in the very small town of Tofino. Everything is within walking distance. Staff was helpful, and overall, my stay was very satisfactory. The only reason for the overall rating of average is the price -- Tofino overall is an expensive place to stay. Second, I'd probably give room #2 an above average rating (4/5) based on the better price to value ratio (see below).

Himwatsa House is located at the end of the main waterfront road in Tofino. The rooms are located on the second floor above the Himwatsa store/gallery, Sea Shanty restaurant, and a couple other storefronts. Parking is provided for guests.

The rooms are your basic modern condo style; nothing special - not romantic, not outdoorsy, not upscale. We stayed in two of the rooms. Room #5 is a large suite with kitchen, dining area, living area, bathroom, separate bedroom, and outside balcony with hottub. There is satellite TV in all the rooms. The balcony has a somewhat obstructed view of the sound. The rest of the windows look out toward the streets and town - nothing to look at.

Room #2 is a large room, with a kitchen and dining area, and an outdoor balcony (no hottub) with great views of Clayquot sound. And I do mean great - one of the most scenic outdoor views I've had from a hotel room. Unless you need the extra room, I thought the less expensive room #2 was the better bargain since Tofino is all about the amazing outdoors.

The only major detraction was that the hottub water was somewhat "oily" even though it had the typical chlorine smell. I declined to use it much.

Second major detraction might be your expectations. Many people come to Tofino for the beauty of the outdoors, and stay at lodges near the ocean. Himwatsa is not situated in the woods; you are not surrounded by the towering pines of the Pacific Northwest. You are in a very small town with the benefits and minor detractions that entails (the biggest being the occasional noisy seaplane taking off).

I found the balance just right - I could walk out to a cafe for coffee, or get provisions for a hike at the small local grocery store - but was a short drive to the Pacific Rim park.

If you've never been to Tofino, don't misunderstand the "town" characterization. It is a very small town by any standard, and has few of the detractions of urban life, like noise or traffic. My caveat is that I went during the shoulder season of September, so it may be more hectic in summer.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Himwitsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Himwitsa

Property: House of Himwitsa
Address: 300 Main St. | P.O. Box 176, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — House of Himwitsa 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himwitsa Lodge is located in the downtown core of Tofino, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada, near the end of Trans Canada Highway. Tofino is a beautiful rural town that is situated in the Pacific Rim National Park Reserve as well as the United Nations World Biosphere Reserve. During peak season, the small town of Tofino boasts tourists from all over the world, hence the recommendation of reserving an accommodation in Tofino for your stay. The Himwitsa lodging in Tofino, presents great location, fabulous breathtaking sunset views over Vargas Island and great rates! We have 4 suites available that suits every need to relax and enjoy the town of Tofino; whether you're on your honeymoon, a weekend getaway in Tofino or traveling with family! We have three studio styled suites that have a 180 degree view, and two apartment styled suites have a 90 degree view that overlooks the bustling harbor of Tofino. Moreover, four suites come with an outdoor hot tub on a private balcony! All rooms are equipped with a full bathroom, kitchenettes, satellite TV, free wifi and parking. On the edge of the West Coast in Tofino, Himwitsa Lodge is only minutes away from all the local shops, Tonquin Beach, tours for hot springs cove, whale watching, bear watching, kayaking and surfing. Don't want to waste travel time? Fly in from Vancouver, BC via seaplane and land right next to us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your House of Himwitsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Himwitsa Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing