We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the beach in Feb. But................”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the beach in Feb. But................”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I thought that I would never write in trip advirsor but here it goes.........My husband and I go to Long beach every year at this time. I had noticed a trazel zoo deal in Novmember. Thought we have never been there before so lets book. When we got there the girls at the front deck were very polite. Got our key and went to our room....I was a little shocked to see how small the room was but we thought oh well we are here now. Had a great walk on the beach then went to meet some friends in Tofino for dinner. We went back to our room and listened to the waves and fell a sleep. Not but an hour later we could hear someone above around room pacing around going to the bathroom and it continued for about 4 hours. My husband and I were not impressed .. How can you have a relaxing evening listening to that.!!! I had told the front desk girls the next morning about it and their response was "Maybe someone was not feeling well." I looked and said that, that was not what I came to listen to. We felt that we were in someone basement having to listen to that!!!! Im sure there is nicer rooms than that -but travel zoo and Middle beach do not let you know the facts. We have been going to Tofino for many years but never again to that place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrdr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Mrdr_13,

We appreciate you taking a moment to review your past stay at the lodge. Each comment you have made will be addressed with our management team, who will review the service levels that were provided during your stay.

We are truly sorry that you were kept up all night by the guests above you and that is not something that normally happens at the Lodge at the Beach. The Lodge at the Beach is an adult only area, and does not allow pets making it a very quiet and peaceful place for our guests to relax. It is unfortunate that in this rare situation this was not the case, and we do apologize for this.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    322
    110
    45
    25
See reviews for
197
597
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Enjoyed a week end at Long Beach and our stay at Middle Beach Lodge. Nice room, great complimentary breakfast and really made to feel at home. We moved our picnic, which was originally planned for the beach, to the great room and enjoyed the crackling fire in the huge rock fire place. Relaxed efficiency at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Dennis,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia!

Relaxing by a roaring fire in the grand fireplace is one of our guests’ favourite past time, especially on a cold winter evening! We are glad you felt welcomed and invited and we hope all of our guests can view Middle Beach Lodge as their home away from home.

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Duane Bell, General Manger &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have been to Tofino twice in the past few months and stayed at three different locations - Middle Beach Lodge is the one!

The location is terrific, the Lodge building is exceptional and the rates were excellent (we stayed in the off season). There are a large variety of rooms in this location, we stayed in the first single cabin as you enter the headlands property. Because of the variety of rooms I can't speak for them all.

I loved the location and grounds, the Lodge building (awesome), the complimentary breakfast in the Lodge each morning and the suppers we had there were good. We will definitely be going back there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear StParrot,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! We are honored for you to consider us to be your number one destination in Tofino. A big thank you!

We are thrilled you got to enjoy our pristine location perched among some of the most beautiful coastline Vancouver Island has to offer!

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Duane Bell, General Manger &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

LOVE it, obviously!... the accommodations, friendly staff, great breakfast, incredible beaches, crashing waves to lull you to sleep...Always amazing...Lots to keep busy with and to see, a trip into Tofino to see the latest incredible Roy Vickers work, have coffee, see a very talented glass designer at the "mall" on the way in, shouldn't be telling everyone all this, they'll go there...

Room Tip: Nice to have a bit of a kitchen if you're there for a few days, if just one night, the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingteri_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Travellingteri_12,

We are glad you enjoyed your West Coast Getaway at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia! Thank you for being such a loyal guest, six times visits and counting, very impressive!

We are proud to live in a city with such local talent as Roy Henry Vickers and we encourage all our guests to visit the famous Eagle Aerie Gallery located in downtown Tofino. If the “mall” you’re referring to is the ‘Live to Surf’ plaza, then that glass blower is our good friend ‘Sol’, just another example of some incredible artistic talent in Tofino. We highly recommend a visit to his South American themed studio, where he displays all his latest work.

We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to post this review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Duane Bell, General Manger &
All the Staff of Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I purchased a 50% off voucher for two nights in an ocean view lodge room online via Travelzoo and decided to use it to celebrate my birthday which fell within the voucher validity timeline. My husband and I love the area but had never stayed at this particular place before. We checked in and went to our room however found it to be extremely small with nothing more than a queen bed and a small adjacent bathroom. So even though it was clean and tidy, and an awesome ocean view, we went down to the front desk in the Headlands lodge and inquired if a larger room might be available for upgrade. We lucked out and for just an additional $30 per night we were upgraded to a suite in the sixplex adjacent to the beach lodge. This room was also very nice with an ocean view, albeit lots of trees, and had a wee kitchen and living area as well as a separate bedroom and larger bathroom with shower and a big tub, which was heaven. There was also a tv and media center and a gas fireplace, which was appreciated. I should mention that when we arrived in the original room had a medium sized bottle of sparkling wine and two champagne flutes along with a lovely card containing birthday wishes! I was thrilled. Needless to say we took it with us when we moved to our suite.

The property is very well maintained and beautiful with a few trails to viewpoints and beaches on either side of the property to walk. We made inquiries at the lodge front desk about the dinner menu for that evening and made our reservation. The beach lodge has a set three course meal which this evening included platters of appies to help yourself between 6 and 7 pm . We had the choice to sit either at our alotted table in the dining room or lounge about in the great room, which is what we did along with a cocktail from the bar. It gave us a chance to meet another couple while we waited for dinner which is served at 7 pm. We picked up our plates with a portion of crab and rissoto and then proceeded to a table spread with bread and a couple of salads to help ourselves. The servers kept our water topped up and brought us more crab and removed our crab shell scraps regularly. We had a choice of two desserts: a chocolate hazelnut cheese cake or fruit crumble and both were awesome! It was a very lovely dining experience.

Our stay included a self serve continental type breakfast served in either lodge in the great rooms. The furniture in both lodges was amazing with an eclectic collection of artifacts also found in both lodges along with wonderful massive fireplaces to sit by and warm yourself after strolling the property or beach. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available through the day, so we helped ourselves each afternoon and sat looking out enjoying the five star view. We were very close to the village of Tofino which has lots of great places for lunch and dinner. We also drove down to Ucluelet and hiked the Wild Pacific trail and did a wee bit of shopping.

I can whole heartedly recommend this accommodation if you are looking for a getaway to this wonderful region. This getaway will stand out as one of my all time best birthdays ever. Thanks Middle Beach management and staff!

Room Tip: I do recommend you book either a larger room or suite or perhaps one of the many different cabins on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualicum beach
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This was our first time at MBL and we were stunned at the natural beauty and breathtaking views! The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere warm and inviting. The homemade cookies served every evening were a hit with our daughter. We stayed at one of the triplex cabins and were very happy with it. We also enjoyed tremendously the continental breakfast served in the lodge. Best cinnamon buns ever. We will definitely be going back! It's a winner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilatesgal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile


Perched high up on one of the headlands overlooking Middle Beach just off the Pacific Rim Provincial Park, Middle Beach Lodge appealed primarily because its presence was virtually imperceptible from arial photos unlike many if its garish beachside counterparts.
A mile of private beach, two lodges and twenty self contained cabins the lodge has been designed with the utmost respect for the pristine environment it inhabits . Designed to invite the outside in, the heavy timbered West Coast buildings of Lodge at the Headlands provide an impressive demonstration of highly original ways to recycle of old, high quality lumber. Core feature elements include flooring, ceiling beams, tables, lamps, beds, reception desks, kitchen cabinetry all came from wood salvaged from old buildings in Victoria that were slated for demolition or redevelopment -
notable Victoria landmarks such as the Ogden Point Ice Plant in Victoria Harbour.
One of the really quirky features is the sliding cabin bathroom doors in each unit and the Lodge main entrance doors - which were rescued from the P&O liner Rajputana

With No television in the main lounge; an enormous roaring log fire vies fir attention with thehuge overstuffed sofas and massive armchairs designed for slumping. A huge games cupboard encourages this sort of evening activity with fresh baked cookies on one evening and a crab dinner complete with "seconds" of pudding ( crumble) - wonderful

I'd come here again in the wink of an eye!!!'

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island
Middle Beach Lodge Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing