We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Shame about the Staff”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful spot! But staff seemed aimless and poorly trained, and a definite lack of management presence. Had to ask several times for the same item. Great location though! Maybe the remote location is a factor??

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Dave B,

We appreciate you taking a moment to review your past stay at the lodge. We are glad to hear that you found our location to beautiful and that you enjoyed our lodge.

We do take pride in having a well-trained customer serviced oriented front desk staff. We do find it concerning that you found our staff to be aimless and under trained. There is always a manger (or two) on-site each day and they can be spoken to at the front desk at any time... we are very friendly, I promise!

We do apologize that you unfortunately did not see the best that our staff has to offer, but I will personally be showing this review at our next front desk meeting as means to encourage a more positive and friendly front desk approach.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Duane Bell with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Just the correct balance of .......everything. Accommodation not spacious but actually just fine for what you need for a perfect stay. Very clean and fresh, comfy beds, fresh air and the walks on the beach......!
Staff there when you need them, but keep a low profile.
All staff we met were delightful to chat to...Mia and the lad from Brighton.
Congratulations to management and staff, a wonderful resort set in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at Middle Beach Lodge during a one night trip to Tofino with a friend. We booked a queen room with ocean view. The lodge is absolutely beautiful, a rustic feel with lovely wood interiors, and a number of gorgeous deck areas with lovely views of the ocean. Our room was small and simple, but very comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. Even though it was high season, it felt quiet and comfortable. It was also very good value for the price. I had called last minute and the front desk offered a great last-minute rate and were very accomodating. Truly enjoyed the hospitality, and the all-day complimentary coffee, tea and snack service was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I am writing this review before embarking on my third maybe even fourth visit to this lodge. Why you may ask?? Planning a trip with friends from out of town as a retirement surprise, we're finding it rather strange the lodge advertises a duplex cabin with 2 bedrooms one a king and one a queen. Ok just what we need, BUT when you go to book this they want to charge you a large sum extra for the additional two people and incidentally this is not a cheap place to start with. Why? Are we booking the cabin or are we paying for all the individual beds? We complained and they offered 100 dollars off, but its still the principal is to my mind WRONG. Middle Beach if you want more money for your cabins please say so up front and not play this silly mind game.

Room Tip: This is such a lovely spot any room is good to have, you are situated between two awesome beaches, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Julie G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your reservation process with our front desk here at Middle Beach Lodge, in beautiful Tofino, BC!

We understand that the idea of having additional adults and additional children charges can seem a little confusing and frustrating. However, this has been a something that Middle Beach Lodge has been practising for over 20 years and should be no surprise as on our website, right beside the rate sheet we state that all rates are based on double occupancy. Then for a second time when guests call in to book, we inform them that all rates are based on double occupancy regardless of the size of the unit. Finally, at check-in we do go over this with guests and confirm the exact number of guests in each party to ensure we will be billing them correctly.

Our prices are built around double occupancy and if you look at other resorts in Tofino, you will see that this is an industry standard. We do encourage our front desk staff to include these charges in the rates from the moment a guest calls to ensure their are no surprises or "mind games". We do apologize if this was not the case with your reservation process.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,
Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The location of this lodge, right on the shore but a quick drive into town, is ideal. When you want to explore the nearby trails and beaches, go into town for a meal, or treat yourself to a massage at Ancient Cedar Spa, it's a quick and easy drive. If you prefer to walk along one of the two adjacent beaches or hang out in the beautiful great room, reading a book and watching the waves, you can do that instead. Our room was tiny but had a great view of the waves, which we could hear crashing on the rocks below us all night. Bed was comfy with amazing sheets. I couldn't disagree more with the reviewers who criticized the breakfast! Sure, the light, fluffy cinnamon rolls were unhealthy, but the homemade bread and preserves, accompanied by fresh grapefruit and boiled egg and/or granola -- they even had a toaster designated for gluten-free bread only -- was all healthy and delicious. I don't drink coffee, but they had all my favorite types of Tazo tea. My only criticism was that the daytime staff was unfriendly, and there was nowhere to store our bags until the very strictly-adhered to check-in time of 3:00, and with signs at every Provincial Park parking lot warning not to leave valuables in the car, we were worried about theft. It seems that, given the break-ins that apparently have happened in the area, the lodge should accomodate guests' luggage, as do most hotels we've visited. Also, smoking should be prohibited on the balconies; we were enjoying a pizza on the main balcony our last evening there, and a couple joined us (not a problem) and then the man lit up a cigarette (major problem). Other than those issues, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs with no balcony. Would choose a room with a balcony next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cscgesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautiful, rustic building inside and out. We loved our cozy little room with 3 windows looking out to the ocean plus balcony with full ocean view and sounds of waves when we opened the balcony door a little. Staff seemed a little distant but answered any questions. I shouldn't have overheard a phone conversation at the desk about surfing after work or a discussion between 2 employees at the desk about overtime hours and pay while waiting for a third employee to answer a question, but the location between 2 beautiful almost deserted beaches and the lodge itself will definitely make me come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The lodge is in a stunning location and has lovely communal areas to read and enjoy the quiet. However, I can only agree with other traveller´s comments about breakfast being rather lacklustre and full of calories, no decent coffee and no healthy options. In addition we were travelling with our 3 children and we could not move in our room once the double sofa bed was made up and there was absolutely nowhere to even put our suitcases, let alone unpack anything. Dinner was expensive and not to be recommended as there are so many great places in Tofino - Shelter for one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £88 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island
Middle Beach Lodge Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing