We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Beach Lodge”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Middle Beach Lodge”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wonderful location with amazing views over the ocean. Rustic yes, but in terms of comfort of accommodation certainly lacking. Eg 4 Adults staying for 5 nights with 1 toilet - ours had a broken flush- reported put right and then broke again. No Hanging space just hooks on the wall and no mirror in upstairs sleeping area. A complete lack of tourist information in the Lodge and cabins. Reception staff could have been more voluntarily helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycastleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear tonycastleton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Middle Beach Lodge, in beautiful Tofino, BC. We apologize that your stay did not meet up to your expectations, and I will personally be addressing a few of your concerns with our management team.

Unfortunately, all of our cabins come equipped with one bathroom regardless of the cabin size. This was the way the cabins were built and we do inform guests of this when booking. It is even more unfortunate that your toilet was malfunctioning during your stay. Our maintenance team is very skilled and will always try their best to find a solution. In this case it seems the toilet needed a new part and did not have an immediate fix. We do apologize for this as this was an extremely rare instance.

As for storage space, we do have closets in all the cabins and can provide extra coat hangers at the front desk upon request. It is concerning that you found our front desk to have little knowledge on tourist information as all of our front desk staff are long term locals who have all completed the Tofino Ambassador Program. At any given time our front desk staff are more than happy to help answer questions on attractions in the area. Hopefully, this was just a miscommunication, as our front desk staff are very informative and always ready to help.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    321
    108
    45
    25
See reviews for
194
595
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I couldn't have been more impressed by Middle Beach Lodge. It is the epitomy of rustic charm. It is located on the ocean with beautiful views of the beach from the great room. There were a couple rainy days where I was so content to snuggle up on one of the many couches with a blanket, a book and a cup of tea. There is tea, coffee and fruit available in the great room all day. Breakfast was diverse and delicious. The staff were really helpful and let us keep some of our food in the fridge over night. You can borrow a hairdryer, beach towels and sign out rain coats and boots. The laundry room in this building was $2/load but it took an extra dry cycle to dry the clothes which was a little bit inconvenient.
There is a small fitness facility which has some weights and treadmills. There was enough room for my friend and I to put down our yoga mats so it served it's purpose.
I had a room on the ground floor facing the forest. It had a cute little balcony with chairs. The room was rather on the small side. No room for a cot or anything. I liked the wooden hooks along the wall to hang my stuff but if you are more into drawer space, don't expect it. The sink was in the bedroom and toilet and bath were separate. The bed was really comfy and I slept great.
It was also nice that it was adults only which keeps the atmosphere much quieter. I did find my friend and I were the youngest guests there by far. All of the guests were 65 and over. Maybe it was because it was back to school season.... regardless I would love to return with my husband. Because the location is set back quite far from the road you would need to have your own transportation. I only say this because I was staying elsewhere for a course and had a few days off and stayed here. I ended up renting a bike which got me to and from town in about 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I like a lot of things about this lodge. It is perched right on the edge of the ocean and is rustic, comfortable and inviting. I particularly liked the use of antiques in their theme decorating and the fact that they utilized recycled timbers from other places such as Victoria. Our room had a view of the ocean, and although it didn't have all the "amenities" of a city hotel, it was comfortable and adequate. The included breakfast had a nice variety of food items but only hard-boiled eggs as hot food. The grounds were well groomed and attractive.
The one negative for us was the onsite evening dinner that we quite anticipated. The meal was overpriced for the food and quality we received. The halibut was a large portion but dry and tasteless. The kale was simply awful. I think the cooks could have done better.
All in all, we liked the place and would return for the comfortable, homey feeling of the lodge located in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: The lodge at the headlands is newer and nicer (from what we could see) than the older lodge on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorianPerepelitza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Certainly different. Wonderful location, we had a room in the main Lodge, ground floor with a balcony and sea view. However, room was extremely small and no wardrobe! Wooden hooks all along one wall for hanging clothes - not ideal. No place for putting suitcases, so hubby was constantly tripping over them. Bathroom was basic to say the least and wash basin was in the bedroom. Door into bathroom was so stiff it was virtually impossible to open. Having mentioned it a couple of times to Reception, surprised to see nothing done about it. Breakfast was a joke - first morning lovely croissants were available, but never seen again. Bread basket seemed constantly empty, as was butter dish (which actually wasn't butter). Poor lad trying to man the kitchen seemed out of his depth. Only saving feature was the fact that coffee was available on a self service basis all day - just as well as there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room. The Lounge was a very pleasant room - reminiscent of a New England lodge with large comfortable sofas - ideal for reading and relaxing - (again, just as well as no chairs provided in the bedroom).
An interesting 4 days - not sure if I would repeat it, probably not.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in main Lodge slightly better than first floor as there was a balcony. Can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our experience at Middle Beach Lodge was a bit of everything previous reviewers have indicated. It is a fantastic location with with rocky shores, beaches for walking and if the weather cooperates, great sunsets.
We were in the main lodge, upper floor (room 25). We chose this end unit to get a corner view of the beach which it delivered. The room was smaller than expected and there was not much room to sit or place luggage but the bed was very comfortable and the the same goes for the beddings. There was also a small balcony big enough for two to stand but not sit. Having the end unit also meant we had to listen to other guests as they congregated on the porch directly below. This resulted in having to keep the window closed until other guests went to bed. But we came to Tofino for the park and to see the town, not to sit in a room so this was not really a big deal at all.
Great breakfast selection, especially the selection of cereals, muffins and the cinnamon buns. There was only one coffee urn which constantly ran out (you would think they would have a least two). The breakfast items were refreshed as soon as the cooks could crank them out. The evening cookies do disappear fast but I didn't see anyone hoarding them - I think they were just popular.
The lodge was not gloomy - dim maybe but not gloomy. The constant dampness did seem to be taking its toll. There was a patch of something that could have been mould in our bathroom but I'm not a microbiologist so maybe not. The shower arrangement was rather bizarre. Due to the configuration of the roof, half the shower was no more than three feet tall and the curtain only extended halfway along the rod. There is also a window in the shower with no privacy frosting so anyone so inclined could watch along I suppose.
The oddest thing about our stay is that we were only provided with one facecloth for two people for two days. The first day may have just been an oversight but room was refreshed on the second day but again only with one facecloth. When this was mentioned to the desk clerk, she just shrugged. Overall the staff were cordial and professional and probably glad the summer season was winding down.
This property is worth the price if you treasure ocean views but don't mind a few odd things about the place - gives it character really; not something you'll find at a chain hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit to get great views but you'll sacrifice headroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It looks every bit as good as the pictures. The lodge has a quality feel and the view is wonderful. Many of the rooms are in cottages, well appointed , and have a "mountain cabin" feel. You are right over a beach. The staff were great, helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast and afternoon cookies were excellent. We spent three days in the area and enjoyed it. We travel a lot and this is one of the best places we have seen, worth paying a bit more for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docfrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The rooms were very basic and dingy, the decor really needs updating in the rooms, it looks old and tired. The bathroom floor was tiled and looked dirty and stained and the empty shower gel container from the previous occupant was still there. Cobwebs in the room, windows dirty, carpet dirty.

Corridors long and gloomy like in a horror movie.

The wooden tables in the dining area were sticky because they needed a good clean. The cutlery was also not clean - suspect the dishwasher was not doing a very good job. Be there early for the cookies put out at 8pm as they get swiped very quickly by some greedy guests who take more than their fair share.

Lock on room 17 was knackered and the key kept getting stuck in the lock - it was very hard to open. The timer was also jammed on the fan in the bathroom - it did not count down so if it was set at 40 minutes it just kept going on and on and on. Tried telling receptionist, she tried lock and said it was ok - but she had to heave and pull to get the key out! Reported it again to another receptionist when we checked out but she wasn't interested, just said 'oh dear'.. No note was made of the problem so I suspect the next person will have the same problem.

Whole place needs a good overhaul, decoration and clean.

Views were lovely from the 1st floor bedrooms. The lounge was great to relax in in the afternoon with a roaring log fire, soft music playing, the sound of the breakers on the sand and wonderful views over the ocean.

Best Western up the road is much better.

Room Tip: Dont go there, if you have to get a first floor looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildlife_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Wildlife_Traveller,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at Middle Beach Lodge in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia. We apologize that we did not meet up to your expectations, and as you can see by all of our other guests reviews, your experience was not the norm and this is not the image we wish to portray.

Please note that you stayed in the oldest building on our property, The Lodge at the Beach (23+ years), and we currently have several projects on the go to renovate the rooms and common areas in this lodge. As such, you will notice we have very competitive pricing on all the units in this building.

As for the cleanliness that you experienced, this is very alarming and concerning for us and I will personally be passing this review onto our housekeeping manager. I do stress that this is not acceptable and that Middle Beach Lodge has a very high standard of cleanliness that we like to uphold.

The fan in the washroom was not malfunctioning, and rather is controlled by the humidifier in your bedroom. Once the humidifier is turned off, the bathroom fan will turn off. Front desk staff would have be able to inform you of this if notified.

Please note that Middle Beach Lodge is a "Wilderness Resort" nestled in an unbeatable location with stunning surroundings. It is never our intention to appear "Gloomy", but due to the weather and our surroundings the atmosphere is that of a "rustic cabin on the coast" vibe.

We do appreciate that you enjoyed the views as well as the main lounge, and we are glad you got to relax.

I would like to encourage you to contact myself or our General Manager, Josh Hannigan with any further comments or concerns.

Our hope is that if you were to return to the West Coast we would have the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not truly represent our brand.

Kind Regards,

Markus McRurie
Manager
Middle Beach Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Property: Middle Beach Lodge
Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island
Middle Beach Lodge Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing