We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the Best”
Review of Middle Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middle Beach Lodge
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Has all the ingredients but unfortunately there is a lack of attention to detail which lets it down.
The location is stunning, the public rooms impressive and the staff always pleasant. Our room however had a poorly designed bathroom and insufficient mirrors. Whilst the availability of coffee daily in the lounge until 11pm is impressive it is not, for us anyway, a sufficient substitute for a simple kettle in the room.
We enjoyed two superb evening meals but felt very let down when having booked a third, after the menus were published, it was decided later in the day that due to lack of bookings it would be cancelled. That is quite unacceptable and would not happen in other hotels of our experience. Seemed quite ridiculous too given that numerous potential diners would be booking in later in the day upon their arrival!
Shame.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avante540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Avante540,

Thank you for taking the time to provide thoughtful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Great Room and the beautiful expanse it overlooks, but sorry to hear that your accommodation did not elicit the same enthusiasm. We do offer units outside the main lodge with alternate washroom configurations and kitchenettes for all your culinary needs.

In regards to your dinner reservation: Unfortunately, there are occasions (though rare) when, due to low occupancy, we cannot logistically serve our Dinner At The Headlands. We are doing everything we can to ensure this happens as infrequently as possible, and we hope you come back to dine with us again.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We enjoyed a very quiet three nights at Middle Beach Lodge over (American) Thanksgiving week. We loved the breakfast and enjoyed a delicious dinner there every night. During the day we shopped online in the common area (consistently good wifi). We'd take a stroll on the beach or head out at lunch at mid-day. Other guests, including families with small children, enjoyed reading, playing board games and hanging out. I really enjoyed this off season gem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Gail R,

Thank you for taking a moment to provide such positive feedback. The tranquility and quiet Middle Beach provide (on such a wild and oftentimes fierce coast) are what make it a wholly unique getaway.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had driven up to Tofino from Victoria just to stay at this hotel on the advice if a cousin who knows it well.The main building and restaurant is separate from the bedrooms.We were seconds away from the main building.The style is elegant and restrained and is a delight with astounding views all around.Sitting before dinner is an occasion and the food was excellent even though it was a set menu it was superb.Arriving at reception we were surprised to see a great array of waterproofs and wellingtons but it was our good luck to have constant sunshine for our visit. This was the highlight of our visit to Canada and was all too short a time.The staff were happy and helpful.

Room Tip: Maybe keep close to main building but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorrocks1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Jorrocks1932,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The lodge was built with recycled, heritage materials with the intention of highlighting its rugged trappings and not the other way around. Thanks for noticing.

We are equally pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, as it is our goal to provide inspired meals that reflect and compliment our incredible surroundings.

As much fun as can be had trekking around the wet coast in bright yellow galoshes, the summer months have certainly been sunny ones so far, and we hope the trend continues. Thank you for your kind words and patronage.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed in small but very quaint ocean view room. Room was $79.00 in mid June. What a deal! Ambience is amazing in all buildings. But, there is only one, don't eat the previously prepared dinners. We were too tired to leave as we arrived late. Besides that, it was great.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Diane B,

Thank you for staying with us and for your positive feedback. Our policy at MBL is to provide access to a truly intimate coastal getaway at prices that accommodate a wide array of travel budgets.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. It is of great importance that our meals meet the expectations of our guests. We take great care in the preparation and presentation of our dinners, and our access to fresh, local seafood and island produce inspires us to create memorable Tofino tastes.

If our Dinner At The Headlands did not fully satisfy, we would welcome any suggestions you may have concerning its improvement.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Middle beach is great value for the money. My husband and I stayed in a sextet suite and it fit our needs perfectly. We were able to make some meals in the unit and loved falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night.

The grounds are well maintained. The addition of the gym is great but the quick access to the multi-use path off the highway is a real bonus for runners. The location to town and other beaches is also really convenient.

Loved the continental breakfast - great coffee and fresh baked goods.

Overall, a really nice home base in Tofino.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AshPatSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear AshPatSat,

Thank you for the review. It is a point of pride for us that out oceanfront grounds grant ease of access to Tofino hotspots while still retaining a sense of sanctuary. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and proud to be your home away.

Safe Travels,

Sam Connolly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Middle Beach Resort sits high on a bluff with easy access to three beaches. The resort has done a fabulous job of landscaping in a way that preserves natural landscape. The main lodge features dining area and very comfortable lounge and deck that has the feel of a large mountain getaway, stone fireplace, many sitting areas. windows to view. So if you rent a smaller room, you may use the lodge. There are a couple of smaller single cabins, one of which we rented, then duplex, four-plex and larger family cabins. that were situated side by side along the main Lodge with bluff views over the ocean. Another slightly older (by two years) adult only building was situated away from the rest and was, to me, not as appealing though to be fair, I did not see the interior. Another Beach view building faced Mackenzie Beach.

A walk down Mackenzie Beach gives you a glimpse of all the other resorts, row after row. Trees downed and buildings plunked down. Each different in appearance and no doubt, price. Some beaches along the highway are geared it seems to surfing, not an activity I associate with the "old days" when Tofino and Long Beach were less popular and populated. Accommodations along the drive vary in type and price and the activity at the beaches change from the baby boomer seashell collectors and young families to the wet-suited surfing twenty plus.

Middle Beach Lodge Dining is fantastic. The young chef boasted access to local fish-- halibut, salmon and crab offered as a sort of served buffet for $30 plus per person. Guests all "belly up" to the included breakfast which was more than ample in choice from toast, bagels and cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, fresh muffins, croissant, cinnamon buns, yogurt, cereals, fruit. Off season and for a moment, looking around the dining area, i imagined all these boomers 20 or 30 years hence sitting in this very place but as in an assisted living facility. The piped in music was geared to our pleasure. Grace Slick, McCartney, and other sixties tunes, but only the slowest and lowest.

Worrisome.

The staff and service were great. We will return. Some guest return year after year. It would be a fabulous 'girl's getaway' as you could rent a larger unit with three sleeping areas.

Room Tip: Choose the type of unit that suites your requirements as the Resort provides a variety of size, layo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindalindalinda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, Front Office Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Lindalindalinda10,

What a response! Thank you for taking the time to poetically describe the lodge and its surroundings, we really appreciate the effort that you put into your review.

We do have larger cabins on site that would accommodate for a girls getaway weekend, these are the Duplex and Single Cabins. We can also do "Girls Getaway" packages during our regular and low seasons, in conjunction with Sacred Stone Spa.

We look forward to your next stay,

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, son, myself and our dog lucky had the wonderful opportunity to stay at mbl! This place is so charming right on the ocean ! We stayed in one of the triplex cabins which was soooo perfect for us we absolutely love it! Had the best view too! On the Friday we stayed for the crab dinner or should I say feast ! It was so yummy and all the sides with were too! The dessert was to die for I had fondu oh my goodness is all I have to say! The boys had upside down pineapple cake which they loved! The staff are very nice and work well together as a team:-) there are trails to walk off your meals all around and beach access is a one min trail to one and 4 min to the other. Everything was amazing! I could go on and on !! Thanks again mbl till we meet again!!! Oh and we were blessed with beautiful weather woot woot!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank sharm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MBL_Manager, General Manager at Middle Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sharm0,

Thank you for your wonder response! On behalf of all the staff, we would also like to thank you for coming to stay with us! I personally got to talk to you on the phone on a number of occasions and always welcomed all the questions that you asked before your arrival.

When you did arrive with your family, your bubbly personality was noted by all the staff and we were so happy that you could have been with us for one of our famous crab dinners.

We look forward to seeing you next time,

Kind Regards,

Olivia Taylor

Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.5 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Beach Lodge

Address: 400 MacKenzie Beach Road | PO Box 100, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#7 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £88 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Middle Beach Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Middle Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middle Beach Hotel Tofino
Middle Beach Lodge Vancouver Island
Middle Beach Lodge Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing