We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tofino hotel perfectly in tune with this wonderful town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Tough City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Tough City
Ranked #18 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
yeahwhistler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Tofino hotel perfectly in tune with this wonderful town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

So much character in this amazingly cute building. Rough around the edges, but every inch of the place is a wonder. So much art, carvings, paintings, pictures. The place is alive with Tofino. For me it perfectly symbolizes Tofino, wild, care free and alive with spirit. Love this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahwhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    25
    18
    4
    13
See reviews for
9
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night when we visited Tofino for our honeymoon. The room was very small and below the restaurant upstairs. This did cause some noise in our room until 10pm. The room was clean and washroom was nice and simple. I would recommend this place to anybody staying overnight for one night who is looking for a cheap place in the middle of town.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarrs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

This property is quirky and eclectic so your stay may have some ups and downs like ours did. The owner helped us with our bags when we went to the room and introduced us to "King," his huge, but totally gentle dog, that spends a lot of time on the porch. Our check-in was courteous & the owner's partner/significant other helped us out 1 night by giving us a tip about a public (no fee) beach to walk on, Chesterman Beach. Our room was downstairs from the restaurant & the confirmation said, "There may be some noise from above when our sushi bar is open, just so you know." They were right - you could hear the staff setting up in late morning & the noises of tables & chairs being shuffled around & footsteps back & forth on the wooden floor, etc. but at least there wasn't a lot of conversation noise late into the night, even when the restaurant was quite busy. We had room #3 & stayed for 4 nights. The bathroom was roomy and modern, with good towels which were changed daily, but no hair dryer provided. The king size mattress was firm, which we liked, the duvet comfortable, and the pillows just O.K. A coffeemaker, wine glasses, tiny TV, & small mini frig that "buzzed" all the time (& woke me up frequently in the night) were provided. There was an old dressing table/mirror missing it's top with 3 tiny drawers, a coat rack with some hangers, and two luggage racks, but no closet. Due to our longer stay we lived out of our suitcasees and I would have appreciated a dresser or a closet. This room has a small deck that looks onto the ocean with one O.K. deck chair & a broken bar stool with an unattached seat. However, the view right off the deck was a pile of empty buckets & left-over wood from a buillding project. There was a combination of white cotton & black velvet curtains. so if you want a dark room at night these won't help you. The sushi bar was both a plus & a minus - GREAT restaurant (amazing Buddha roll and Crazy Ron roll), but the smell of sushi every time we walked in & out of the hotel to our room got to me after 1 day. Late one afternoon my husband wanted to have a beer on the deck of the restaurant (which had about six customers at the time) to look out onto the water but the staff wouldn't serve him unless he ordered a meal. We were kind of perturbed about that considering we were spending $800 Canadian for just our room and it wasn't busy at all. They do have four blue deck chairs on the porch (along with 2 rusting gallon paint cans & dried-up paint rollers a barrel next to them) where you could have a drink from their bar, but this side of the porch looks onto an unfinished restaurant that they appear to be slowly constructing next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Quirky and comfortable hotel in a splendid corner of Vancouver Island. Room overlooked the Pacific Ocean and views of wildlife and boats. Good food as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltiretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

This was our second time staying here. We stayed here once in 2007 and loved it. We even got the same room. While we knew not to expect too much, the room was not very clean and there was a very large "love stain" on our blanket. I asked for the bed to be remade and received a much colder attitude than we had in the past. During our previous stay the staff were very welcoming... but it seems like no one really cared this time around. We were disappointed and probably won't go back. It just seemed like the front desk staff was sick of dealing with tourists.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sportspanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

We spent one night at this hotel. The power was out from Port Alberni to Tofino (20 000 people) so the restaurant was not open and it was very quiet. The girl at the front desk (the owner) was very nice with us. We talked with her for a half of hour and it was very funny and interesting. The power was out and we wanted some beer. The BC Liquor Store was closed so we asked her if we could buy some beer from the restaurant even if it's closed. She said we could take some beers but told us that we could replace them the day after, when the power is back and the liquor store is open so we don't have to pay the big price. Very nice from her !

The room was beautiful and clean and the bed was very good (Room 4)
Wonderfull view of water and mountains.
The balcony was large enough... with chairs.
A very nice place from the inside and the outside.

The place is probably noisy when the restaurant is open. We could easily hear people going up and down the stairs. And there's probably a sushi smell too. If you don't mind about a little sushi smell and noise when the restaurant is open, this place is perfect !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trounoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My boyfriend and I just got back from a 2 night stay at the Inn at Tough City. Even though we had a fabulous vacation, this Hotel was definitely not the highlight. The Hotel looks beautiful from the Outside, but we didn't have a very comfortable stay. The whole Hotel smells like Sushi of course, from the restaurant below. This is definitely not a luxury Hotel!
We stayed in Room # 6, which had a balcony with an ocean view and a soaker tub. The room was quite basic, and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The pillows were totally flat and shapeless, and need replacing. The mattress sloped down really low on one side and gave no support, while the other side was firm. It seemed like a really old mattress that needed to be thrown out. We had to squeeze into one side of the bed together. The only nice thing about the bed was the duvet cover. The rooms are also hot with no AC and the fridge buzzed loudly throughout the night, waking me up. The smells coming in through the open door were either like camp fire or rotten fish, not too pleasent.
After the first night I went to speak to the Front Desk about possibly changing rooms because of the bed. The girl I spoke to offered no apology or suggestions about the bed being uncomfortable, except to let me know which other rooms were available, (and we would have to pay more.)
The bathroom was nice though, and I had a very relaxing bath in the big soaker tub! I wouldn't stay at this Hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
0.2 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
House of Himwitsa
House of Himwitsa
#3 of 18 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Tough City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tough City

Property: The Inn at Tough City
Address: 350 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn at Tough City 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Tough City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tough City Hotel Tofino
The Inn At Tough City Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing