We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Tofino stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove
Ranked #16 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great base for Tofino stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had never stayed at a B&B before so weren't quite sure what to expect. For our 3 night stay in late August 2012, Val was away and Suzie (sp?) was taking care of the place. She accomodated our dietary concerns and provided separate breakfasts for us vs the other guests. All of the food was great (and the other guests looked amazing too - wished we could have had it!). We loved the location and the views. We went down to the cove just outside of the B&B several times and enjoyed the other beach also about 5 minutes away as well. The only small complaints that stop me from giving it a 5 star rating was that you could hear noises from other rooms occasionally (walking upstairs sometimes or very loud TV watching neighbours) but it never lasted long. The other one is that two of the mornings during our showers we ran out of hot water. We didn't bring it up - as wasn't a huge deal to us - as the B&B was full at the time, likely it was just a popular time prior to breakfast and all was used up. Overall - we loved our stay and would gladly return. We thought it was a great deal vs. the other B&Bs that we were initially looking at, at substantially higher prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamaraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have every intention of returning to Tofino one day, and we will definitely stay here again. Our room was very spacious and clean, with gorgeous views of Duffin Cove. Val's breakfasts were delicious (certainly one of the hightlights of the day) and again the views of Duffin Cove from the breakfast table were outstanding. Val was very friendly and helpful; she called our airline for us to make sure that they were flying off the island that day. When we told her that we had hitchhiked into Tofino (a first for us and comes with a long story) she told us that we were her first guests ever to have done this :) The location of her B&B is perfect; just a few minutes walk to downtown Tofino were we ate at some fantastic restaurants (The Shelter was our favorite). There is also a stunning beach less than a five minute walk from the inn where we enjoyed the most wonderful sunset with a bottle of wine. We are thrilled we found Val's place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

There are many beautiful and majestic beaches within a short walk or car ride, so you won't want to be walking sand into your room, but you will want to sit for ages, relax and admire the amazing views of Duffin Cove.

Our room (by the path down the side of the house) has a magic view and if (as Val said she would) the little tree was pruned it would have been even better as it , as this obstructs about 20% of the window.

There are many comments about the place being "tired" or in need of some paint on the outside, but I must say its a tiny bit churlish to comment thus in the face of the breathtaking beauty that is outside. But everyone has different expectations - we weren't expecting "The Ritz" we were expecting a comfortable homely B&B with outstanding views, a friendly host and good breakfasts - and that's what we got.

There is even safe access to the private beach in the Cove below.

The bed is comfortable, the room spacious as is the well-appointed bathroom - just remember to close the bathroom door and turn on the fan when showering or the smoke alarm will sound.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would be happy to stay again. I've written to Val and explained the very few changes that would have increased our review to a 5 of 5, and she has replied positively, so perhaps future guests will benefit from this. Bear all this in mind and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: They're all good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCouple_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My sister and I stayed at Tides Inn for two nights in September. We hadn't travelled together for almost 30 years. We were looking for a B&B that was conveniently located to downtown Tofino and with enough room that the two of us could have our space. The room we rented had a king bed and a half dividing wall with a single bed. It also had a large living room area with an electric fireplace. The room was beautiful and so was the very spacious bathroom.
The setting was also wonderful. Our room had floor to ceiling windows across the bedroom and living room areas. We had a separate entrance to the outside which led to both the garden/decks and around the house to the driveway. From the deck, there was a staircase down to the private cove. It was a rocky beach with a mountain in the background and eagles flying overhead. Stunningly beautiful.
Our breakfasts were delicious and Val made us feel very much at home. She also gave us excellent restaurant suggestions.
We highly recommend the Tides Inn in Tofino.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
461 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I loved the room we stayed in. It was spacious and nice and very clean but the food was not good at all it tasted quite bad and breakfast is too early at 8:30am. The house needs a lot of work on the outside at least a paint joband the hottub was broken and we got no money off our bill and that was a dissapointment since we wanted to relax in the hottub.
She also has a lot of rules like the tv must be turned down to the minimum volume at 10pm sharp and no late night toilet flushes and just was too rigid and breakfast is really not worth getting up for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiatravelgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Well placed and lovely view. Food was fine and Val was helpful and friendly but the accommodation is a bit dated and tired. It is at the cheaper end of the b&bs in Tofino and you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This B&B is a bit outside the centre of Tofino (just a 15 minutes walk) but the view is absolutely stunning. There are 4 rooms situated at the ground level of the house. The rooms differ a but in size. We booked the Barnacle room and a another room (with two couples). Al the rooms have private excess. Excellent bathrooms and very good mattress. The rooms have large windows, which can be a bit of a problem for your privacy (windowblinds available) but great for the view.
They have a Jacuzzi to share in there garden, overlooking the Duffin Cove. On the day we arrived the Jacuzzi brooked down but Val (host) made sure that is was fixed next day. The host Val was very friendly and willing to help us with what to do and where to go. There’s not a lot of different choices for breakfast, but if you want something different just ask and Val will see if she’s able to help you.
This B&B is probably not the must luxurious one, but it’s definitely more than just standard and the view is great (did I mention this before). There is even access to a kind of private beach, great to watch sunset. The prices in Tofino are sky high (in comparison to a lot of other places in Canada) so I think this B&B is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove

Property: The Tides Inn on Duffin Cove
Address: 160 Arnet Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Tides Inn On Duffin Cove Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing