We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fishing at Tofino”

Tofino 1st Class Fishing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come experience some of the finest salmon & Halibut Fishing the West Coast has to offer aboard The Linda Sue ll with a born and raised local of Tofino with generations of fisherman in his blood (Captain Joel Nikiforuk). The Linda Sue is a 30 ft Conquest Boston Whaler nothing but a 1st Class Fishing Vessel that has been fully rigged out for all the fishing and trapping the west coast has to offer, so in other words any kind of fish you want is only a short cruse away
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Fishing at Tofino”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Our family (2 adults and 2 older children) has been fishing with Bjorn for many years. We always catch lots of salmon and or halibut and have a great time out on the water. Bjorn keeps his boat and tackle immaculate and he is knowledgeable, friendly and flexible. Our family looks forward to seeing Bjorn and going fishing as part of our Tofino experience each year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“95LB Halibut for Canada Day 2012”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Bjorn is the original man. He runs a great boat and is a pleasure to be with. No question he knows what he's doing. Best fishing trip I've had in Tofino, ever ! Catching a 95 halibut in rough seas is no small challange and we were certinaly up for it. I'm pretty sure we caught a Canada Day record fish for 2012, if not for many years. Great boat with lots of power, super clean and set up very well. See you next year if not sooner, Bjorn !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
1 review
“Truly First Class Fishing!”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have been going out fishing with Bjorn for quite a few years now, and we can safely say that we’ve never had anything but a great time. Bjorn is an extremely knowledgeable guide – he knows the area like the back of his hand - and he has a wealth of experience with fishing these waters. We have often heard the local guys say “if the fish are there, then Bjorn’ll find them”. With this depth of knowledge, it means that whatever the weather, or your experience level, he knows the best places to be. He is also very well informed about the local wildlife and very respectful of it and the environment and goes the extra mile to ensure that each trip is just right for you and for the conditions.
The boat, Linda Sue II, is excellent– we’ve been out in all weathers and always felt secure. There is plenty of room on board – we’ve not felt crowded in a group of 6, nor felt exposed with just 2. Not only is she very well designed, but she is immaculately maintained, and this year has completely new and very smart covers.
We have fished with Bjorn in rain, snow, fog and glorious sunshine and each time there has been something new to see, some great new fishing memory to keep us sane until the next time.
It’s difficult to have anything but a good time in Tofino, but going out with Bjorn makes it a great time!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
“Great Fishing and great fun”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Part 1 - Before the Fishing
Any other Fishing Guide might have been overwhelmed and not overly thrilled when they saw our family walking down the dock. Three adults (in age only) and three kids under 5, might have sent shivers down the spine of most sea-hardened veterans. But Bjorn welcomed us aboard his boat with a handshake and a smile. His 30' Boston Whaler was the perfect Vessel for our family. Easily able to handle the formidable girth we provide, and room for the children to move about. After loading our crab traps and fishing gear we were on our way. Bjorn beguiled us with stories of his youth growing up in Tofino, unintentionally reminding us of what is good in life. His knowledge of the local area was beyond reproach. This was not just a fishing trip all you readers out there, this was small glimpse into the lifestyle that we all crave.
Part 2 - The Fishing
The seas were angry that day my friends, waves spewed over the sides of the worthy craft and soaked us to the bone. The boat surged through the violent undulating waves. We all looked at each other wondering who would be the first. We had no luck the first hour, but continued undaunted. We hooked into few nice Sea Bass and Rock Cod, all of which were keepers. We were about to call it a day and head back to shore but Bjorn would have none of that. He said he had spot (all fishermen say that) . We were not 10 mins at his special spot, when my Brother had hooked a large one. It was a fight to the death (for the fish, we would not have died but the ridicule my Brother would have endured would be close to death.. sort of?!). The fish pulled and pushed and dipped and flopped, my brother dripping with sweat and beer trying desperately to maintain control. Bjorn calmly giving advice and feedback, kids and adults barfing out the side of the boat. The fish was obviously some leviathan from the farthest reaches of the ocean. It was chaos. At the end of it all we had landed a 60lbs Halibut. We all took a second to sit back and enjoy the moment has Bjorn drained the sea creature of its blood and beat it with a hammer (He did not beat it with a hammer, that was a dramatic tool). After the massive Halibut, the dozen or so crabs we caught, seemed a little less dramatic.

That day on the ocean with Bjorn will never be forgotten. We dined like kings that night and we toasted Bjorn on several occasions. We highly recommend Tofino 1st Class Fishing, it will be an experience not soon forgotten.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CharlesDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FISHING WITH BJORN BANKE - Tofino 1st Class Fishing”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Family of four, Mom, Dad and two teenage boys. - We have had some wonderful and unique experiences travelling, and this trip with Bjorn Banke was one of the most memorable. He is much more than an experienced fishing guide. A truly wonderful person who loves sharing his rich life experiences and at times you forget that you are with him to fish.....fascinating guy. We had 100% confidence in his knowledge and ability. Soooo fun!! Teenage boys were so impressed and can't wait to go out with him again. The Chinook meal we had when we got home was one of the best meals we have ever had....several more in the freezer.
Thank you Bjorn!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tofino 1st Class Fishing also viewed

 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino 1st Class Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing