We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Amazing experience, delicious cuisine, great service, and definitely one of the highlights of our BC trip. We took the water taxi out to the InnChanter to arrive in the late afternoon after the other tourists had left the hot springs area. We were warmly greeted and shown around the boat. While sitting on the top deck having a glass of wine, we witnessed two bald eagles catching their dinner right beside the boat. We then ventured off to the hot springs for a soak before dinner. No one there except for one gentleman from the native community on the shore near the boat. He entertained us with many stories while we relaxed in the hot springs pools. When we arrived back to the boat, Sean had a wonderful meal prepared. We had a wonderful evening with the other guests on the boat and Sean. The next morning, we got up and went out to the hot springs once again for a soak before breakfast. Once again, no one there and when we got back to the boat, Sean had prepared a wonderful breakfast for us. Sean then made arrangements for us to return to the main land on the float plane. Staying on the InnChanter was indeed a unique experience which we fully enjoyed. Sean is a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. Well worth the time to go and would definitely recommend this as a destination.

Room Tip: This boat has shared washroom facilities so, if you like privacy, this probably is not the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waterloverOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

So, the downsides first. You are on a boat. There are tiny quarters below. You will hear your neighbors in all of their endeavors. You will hear people overhead. If you don't like the other guests, you are more or less trapped with them. We had one girl get "trashed" the second night we were there, and this was a nuisance.

The other downside: there is only one restroom, no shower, on the boat. This can be problematic with lots of people on the boat.

The other other downside: If you have any orthopaedic issues, find navigating small spaces difficult, clambering up rickety/narrow stairs difficult, you should not come here.

The positives: it is absolutely lovely to be in an inlet, twinkling stars overhead at night, shiny phosphorescent sea creatures sparkling from the ocean below at night; to kayak over to the hotsprings whenever you want, or kayak through channels and into coves, get out and hike around!

The boat itself is very Robert Louis Stevenson-esque; and intentionally. The owner is a great cook-- definitely high carb food! So if you are on a diet (which I was not) then you will have to exercise a high degree of self control!

Would recommend taking a float plane to and from-- beautiful aerial views of the coast, and very fast! Would call this type of trip a romantic adventure-- but you have to be willing to rough it a little.

Room Tip: So-- some of the rooms are canted so that your feet are above your head (it's a boat afterall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I honestly cannot understand why people would have any complaint about this place. Is it musty, rustic, and bare-bones? Absolutely. But honestly, why were you going to one of the most remote places on Earth expecting anything else? In the absolute dead centre of nowhere, this is a wonderful way to spend a few nights, doing as close to nothing as you possibly can. Shaun puts together fabulous meals, is a wonderful host, and goes out of his way to make sure everyone is having a wonderful time.
The InnChanter is one of the greatest hidden gems I have ever stumbled across.

PS. You simply have not done anything with your life until you have kayaked in Hot Springs Cove at midnight in bioluminescent waters. Yes, your bowwake will glow in the dark.

Not an appropriate place to take children, people with limited mobility, or pets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I realize that TripAdvisor is the bread & butter for this place, so a negative review and can be devastating. I considered not writing this, but I think people need to know that the current reviews do not tell the full picture of this bed & breakfast. The location is absolutely amazing, no question, and given that the InnChanter is the only overnight option to the hot springs, you are at their mercy. That said, the prices that they charge vs. the value of what you get is not reasonable. My family of four stayed here recently for $480.

The price included dinner and breakfast. I was looking forward to the "gourmet" meals that I had read so much about. It was legitimately cool to see the fisherman show up at 4:00 with a freshly caught halibut. We were later told by Mark, our host, that it was a good thing he came when he did, because "Plan B was chicken." The halibut was over cooked with crushed wasabi peas served with white rice and a green salad with lettuce that had certainly seen better days. I am admittedly a food snob, but this is hardly the gourmet fare that it had been built up to be. Breakfast was also thrown together with pantry staples that seemed to have been sitting on the shelf a little too long. Mealy apples and bananas were the only fruits offered.

Second, the sleeping, it's a boat. I get it. I was not expecting luxury, but I also wasn't expecting to be woken up by the comings and goings of a random stranger in the middle of the night. While we were there, some guy that was never introduced to us and we were never told would be sleeping with us, came in around midnight and then promptly left again at 6:30am. It's a small, old (creaky) boat. We heard everything. None of us got a particularly good night's sleep, but my husband literally didn't sleep at all. To add insult to injury here, there was an alarm that went off for about 45 minutes at 3:00 in the morning. We were told later it was an alarm from the inverter that the batteries were too low. The kicker is that the reason it went off for 45 minutes without anyone turning it off is because Mark had conveniently left for an evening at the Hot Springs.

Finally, there was the "mandatory" gratuity. Even though we were disappointed with the service, we did not complain, we just packed up our bags and were ready to chalk this one up to "adventure." However, as we were settling up our bill, we saw that Mark had added a mandatory gratuity of $50 to our tab. I was/am speechless. I had to tip this guy? On all levels this place under delivered. With the alarm going off, the strangers coming and going, I simply did not feel safe.

The only saving grace is that perhaps Sean, the owner who was not around during our stay, really does run a tighter ship. I hope that he is a better cook and a better host. One who does not abandon his guests, and one who does not invite casual acquaintances to join him on the ship while he has paying guests.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank KaraRoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

If you are looking for a true escape and ready to "get away from it all", this is the place for you! The Innchanter provides a perfect balance between experiencing the sites and sounds of nature, while still having all the comforts of home. I was surprised by the size of the boat, and was amazed to discover that it has a wood burning fireplace! The atmosphere is unique, charming, and impeccably clean. It is obvious that a lot of love and attention has gone into this place. We had unlimited access to the row boat, which we could take anywhere we wanted, but of course, the main attraction is the natural hot springs. Because the boat is anchored so close to the entrance to the hot springs, we could go in the morning or later afternoon, when we could have the entire hot springs to ourselves, which are usually overrun with large groups of tourists! It is truly a magical and once in a lifetime experience to sit in a hot pool among the rocks, watching the waves of the ocean crash just a few meters away!

The true centrepiece of the Innchanter, however, in the innkeeper, Shawn. Not only is he a fantastic cook and a gifted story teller, he is the consummate host, making sure that we were happy, entertained, warm, well fed, and well caffeinated at all times.

We got engaged during our stay at the Innchanter, and Shawn went above and beyond to make sure that the surprise proposal went smoothly - in fact he played an integral (behind the scenes) role in the proposal! Look out for a special board along the boardwalk on the way to the hot springs!

Room Tip: Choose the "Library" as it has the most windows! However, during summer months, you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

There are only a handful of choices for visiting Hot Springs Cove: Travel by plane or boat to visit for the day and compete with crowds for a small piece of bliss for an hour or so, or be dropped off with a tent, water, food and tp for a camping adventure (and have unlimited access to the springs), or bring your own floating accommodations to anchor in the bay... OR book a boat or plane to drop you off at the Innchanter with your bathing suit and toothbrush.

Sure this is an old boat and non-boaters may find the space confined, but if one has ever spent time aboard a sailboat, you'll find yourself reveling the luxury of space on this ship. Not a cruise ship by any worldly, modern standards, but comfortable, warm and safe enough to call home for a couple nights. We found Sean to be not only a gracious and engaging host, but an excellent cook and raconteur of local history and facts. We never wanted for a good meal, a good book to read or a lively conversation with the crew or other guests.

Most importantly, being anchored a short row away from the dock that begins the 2 kilometer trek to the hot springs allowed us to enjoy the springs on our own time and terms, arriving well before the first boat of "tourists", and soaking in the afternoon and evening when the crowds had departed. Adding to the flexible timing of staying at the springs is the unique experience of enjoying a rising tide of chilly ocean water rolling into the succulent warmth of the hot springs and having the sensuous chill and warmth of mother nature's extreme touches on your body simultaneously.

We didn't see much on the boat ride out due to fog, and being on the open water can be quite a rough ride. We opted to fly back and enjoyed a whale siting from above.

If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is a hard one to trump: Truly memorable, adventurous, private, remote and exotic enough to make friends envious of your trip.

Room Tip: The library cabin may be the largest aboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were so looking forward to this 3 day section of our trip to Vancouver Island. What could be better? An hour boat ride from Tofino, stationed within a row boat's distance of a hike thru the rain forest to natural hot springs. Everything about it turned out to be awesome except the InnChanter, an old boat that should have been sunk years ago and needs to be inspected by the Canadian Department of Health. Me and my husband actually love "funky". This was way off the funk scale. Our teeny room in the hold smelled like some strange mix of transmission fluid and sewage. No surprise since our first instruction was to press this button on and off for TWO MINUTES to flush the toilet. Let me say that 2 minutes of flushing did not make a difference. I'll stop here...surroundings? Awesome! Boat? Bad...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank BellaD465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
23.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
25.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
25.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
22.4 mi away
Tofino Resort + Marina
Tofino Resort + Marina
#14 of 16 in Tofino
36 reviews
23.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnChanter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InnChanter, a west coast Bed and Breakfast vacation accommodations in Tofino, BC. Luxury accommodation and gourmet meals. InnChanter is a heritage vessel built in the 1920's and refitted to take you back to the style and class of the era of her creation.Our prices include Dinner and Breakfast. We have 6 kayaks and 2 rowboats available to all of our guests to enjoy. The B&B is docked in Tofino October through April, and in Hot Springs Cove May through September. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing