We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This was the best stay of our trip. Beautifully renovated rustic old boat in the perfect location right beside the Hot Springs Cove. We actually stayed an extra night because Kathy and Steve were wonderful hosts and there is no other place like it. Kathy's cooking felt like it was made with love and the conversations with them were always interesting. They also would tell us the perfect time to go to the hot springs when the tide was high and the crowds were low. We actually had the entire springs to ourselves at midnight! And the phosphorescents were incredible on the paddle back.
Again a very special place and at a bargain price with dinner, breakfast and canoe/kayaks included, compared to other places available in Tofino.
Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    7
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2013 and had an excellent time on board. The Innchanter has a beautiful vintage feel to it and the living room is a wonderfully romantic and cosy place at night with its fireplace and lots of candles. The hot springs are amazing and it is really great to be able to go after the last day trip boat leaves (there is not all that much room there). Kathy and Steve are plain awesome - great hosts, amazing cooks and fun to hang out with. They are also super knowledgeable about the area and had some great hints for places to check out in the vicinity. Thank you guys! We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Electricity can be limited at times (solar panels), so charge your camera, etc. before you go. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix_CGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The InnChanter is amazing! The trip from Vancouver to Tofino, to Hot Springs Cove is wonderful, pure nature and wildlife! The boat it self was decorated in a caring manner. Comfy sleeping. Steve & Kathy did a great job: They cooked extremly well with fresh ingredients and fresh herbs growing at the roof of the boat! And they gave good advice to go to the hot springs late or extremely early and they did know good kajak trips - we have not seen any other tourist along our kajak trip throug a little river with a nice picknick at a beach. Thanks for the wonderful stay Kathy and Steve - good job!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barcelonautin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

The Innchanter was recommended to me by a friend, I liked the idea of a bed and breakfast boat and was looking for something off beat. Our hosts were a charming couple who were inn keeping for the owner. The boat was wonderful, unique, quirky, and just what a b&b should be--quiet and personal. Steve and Kath were awesome hosts, fabulous cooks and wonderful company. Being able to visit the hot springs late in the evening once all the day visitors had left was the way to do it. We loved our cozy room with the walls lined with books. The panoramic view in the dining room was amazing and sitting there so lovely with the fireplace blazing . What an amazing experience!!! Thanks Kath and Steve.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tokir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the Innchanter in May 2013. The whole exprerience was just lovely. We took a whale watch boat from Tofino, this takes about 90 minutes. And we took a float plane back after our stay. That was amazing. We booked through Ocean Outfitters who do a great job. The Innchanter experience was really relaxing. If you can handle rustic amenities, this is a great place to stay. If you're looking for turn down service, spa treatments and a cocktail lounge, its not. A typical day would be spent sleeping in and enjoying coffee on deck while watching the boats and float planes come and go, have a delicious brunch, grab a kayak and snacks and go exploring, come back and have a short nap, then a delicious dinner, then spend the evening at the hot springs. The tour boats are gone by about 5pm so you have the place to yourselves. For a low key self guided adventure eco-stay, this was perfect for us.

Pros: the host (Shaun) is a great storyteller and really makes you feel welcome and at home. The brunches and dinners were very good. It was nice having family style meals with the other guests. Its good to bring some snacks with you to nibble through the afternoon and take on excursions. There were 4 kayaks and 2 rowboats for guest use. There's also a small motorboat, and Shaun is happy to deliver you to the dock or anywhere within a short distance if you want to hike or lay on a beach. There are LOTS of books available to read, a a few games to play. The beds are super comfy. There are places around the ship to have private time, or to gather with other guests. The whale watch boat brought fresh fish for dinner, that was pretty cool.

Cons ( understandable ones): The rooms are small but, hey, its a ship. Same for the 2 bathrooms, they're ship heads and everyone shares them. Everything else easily made up for these 2 minor things.

Room Tip: The "library room" is on the main level, the rest are downstairs in close quarters..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I are so happy we picked the InnChanter for our minimoon in August 2012. We stayed on the boat for two nights and we thought we would get bored for three days stuck in the middle of nowhere, but we actually did so many things, from fishing, rowing, sunbathing on deserted sandy beaches, chilling out in the hot springs ALONE by day (before 9 AM) or night (after 9 PM), watching the phosphorescents in the water at night and staring at the starry sky, meeting new people and enjoying seafood!

The boat itself is small, cute and cozy. If you are looking for a huge luxury yacht cruise, this is not the place for you! But if you love quaint and charming, you will just LOVE the InnChanter. It is all made of wood and well maintained by the owner Shawn. The dinning room has the best panoramic view I have ever had, on water bays and mountains. The room we had (Princess room) was beautifully decorated and it was more room than we ever needed! We had wonderful evening talks lit by candlelight in the living room and we even had a drop of Sortilege watching a DVD with Shawn at night (Bring Your Own Booze!).

I understand the washrooms can be a drawback for a lot of people because you have a limited access to water on the boat, but you have to accept the conditions of living in such a remote and secret place. Why should we waste water or electricity anyway? If you ask nicely, Shawn will let you take a quick shower!

So it really depends on what you are looking for, but if you are simple, easy-going, like the company of others and enjoy all that nature has to offer, go for it! And don't pass on the sea plane for the extra bucks it is really worth it! The view is stunning all along the way and you might even see a whale from up there if you are lucky! I hope you will enjoy your stay on the InnChanter as much as we did!

Room Tip: The Princess room (downstairs) and the Library room (upstairs) are both isolated from other rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTine_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Amazing experience, delicious cuisine, great service, and definitely one of the highlights of our BC trip. We took the water taxi out to the InnChanter to arrive in the late afternoon after the other tourists had left the hot springs area. We were warmly greeted and shown around the boat. While sitting on the top deck having a glass of wine, we witnessed two bald eagles catching their dinner right beside the boat. We then ventured off to the hot springs for a soak before dinner. No one there except for one gentleman from the native community on the shore near the boat. He entertained us with many stories while we relaxed in the hot springs pools. When we arrived back to the boat, Sean had a wonderful meal prepared. We had a wonderful evening with the other guests on the boat and Sean. The next morning, we got up and went out to the hot springs once again for a soak before breakfast. Once again, no one there and when we got back to the boat, Sean had prepared a wonderful breakfast for us. Sean then made arrangements for us to return to the main land on the float plane. Staying on the InnChanter was indeed a unique experience which we fully enjoyed. Sean is a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. Well worth the time to go and would definitely recommend this as a destination.

Room Tip: This boat has shared washroom facilities so, if you like privacy, this probably is not the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterloverOrillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofino
23.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
23.1 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
22.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
43.7 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
25.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnChanter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnChanter Bed & Breakfast

Property: InnChanter Bed & Breakfast
Address: Tofino, British Columbia V0R2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the InnChanter, a west coast Bed and Breakfast vacation accommodations in Tofino, BC. Luxury accommodation and gourmet meals. InnChanter is a heritage vessel built in the 1920's and refitted to take you back to the style and class of the era of her creation.Our prices include Dinner and Breakfast. We have 6 kayaks and 2 rowboats available to all of our guests to enjoy. The B&B is docked in Tofino October through April, and in Hot Springs Cove May through September. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
InnChanter Bed & Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing