We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed a week”

Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Long Beach Golf Course & Campground
Ranked #19 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this campground in tofino. I love that there is a short boardwalk to the beach. The staff are friendly and deal with any concerns. The hot showers are very decent and seemed to be availiable any time I went. I also like that it is a short drive to town. My only suggestion is that they hire someone to kill the crows there as they woke my group up pretty early.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Elvira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Coming from a life of hectic schedules and city noise we absolutely cherish the opportunities we get to run away from it all and hang out in our tent close to nature. One of our favourite place to go is the west coast of Vancouver Island,Tofino and Ucluelet area specifically. Given that we sometimes fly by the seat of our pants and arrive without a reservation - it can be a little daunting.
We normally stay in Tofino at a couple popular camping places but the past few times it has proven to be rather lack luster. The droves of people packed into these popular sites produces a lot of late night noise and it is far from relaxing.
On the recommendation of a friend we decided to check out Long Beach Campground.
After reading some mixed reviews on here we were a little nervous
but we showed up at the Long Beach Campground office and we are so happy we did.
The place is truly a gem in between our 2 favourite west coast towns. It is not fancy. BUT the camping spots are spacious and have lots of trees around them to make it feel very private. The place was very clean. The bathrooms with FREE showers was such a treat and despite heavy use they were maintained and clean.
The staff working the desk was really down to earth and friendly. We got a low down on all the best places to surf and what to do. They all seem to really love the wildlife as we were given quite a stringent talk about being BEAR AWARE and keeping our sites clean. This is nice to see
As we are both beach goers we were thrilled to be literally minutes away from one of the most beautiful beaches in the world - LONG BEACH - and according to the staff - if you are surfer - it is the best place to surf in the summer - it has the best summertime waves in Canada.
I think STOKED was inserted in there somewhere.
WE will definitely be back and highly recommend this place to everyone.
Bonus with having a fully licensed restaurant there. HUGE burgers and ice cold beer.
Thank you LONG BEACH CAMPGROUND - YOU ROCK!
ps...please get better signage on the highway...so people know you are there.
All the best,
Tia and Brian Lee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Last minute road trip and everywhere else was booked up. Staff was very friendly and even though we were at the end of the run way, we only saw two planes. The morning marine layer makes it difficult to for them to take off early I think. This place would be fine with a few upgrades for toilets (instead of stinky, dirty, portals) and a proper sink/kitchen cleaning area. The showers worked and were warm but were dirty and not cleaned our entire visit, also as mentioned there are two rooms with two showers in each room. So lucky if you are a family, unlucky if you have to wait. Location made it easy to get to the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaberry_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Went down with my mom and dad and had the most amazing camping trip ever! The staff members are so nice and understandable! Such a beautiful camp ground with warm showers! Besides the rain (which has nothing to do with the camp grounds) it was spectacular and I have no complaints :)!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassidyHinsberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Julu 2013 - After a short inspection of Bella Pacifica CG we decided to stay (2 nights) at Long beach golf course CG : relatively small gravelly plots, surrounded by shrubs and trees gave some privacy. Airport is not a problem. Reception friendly. First night very quiet, second night very noisy, despite the many warmings for fines and eviction, though I did not wish to be the police(wo)man of the CG. Sanitation is awful : portable (smelly) toilets full to the brim, showers dirty, full of hair, not cleaned since...
Carole

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for a last minute surfing trip. Our site was right next to the airport landing strip, but luckily we didn't see/ hear any planes take off until the afternoon. The ground was incredibly rocky and sucked for tent placement. The site itself was long and narrow, pretty small over all. Just enough space for one tent, a table, a tiny fire pit, and the car to back into. I will give it to them though, it was very private and all sites seemed to have at least 2 trees among the prickle bushes for at least a cloths line. I thought there were flush toilets listed on the website, as to where they were I couldn't tell you. The showers we weird too. There were 2 doors that lock with 2 separate showers in each. Great for a family maybe but not singles. And they smelt like farts. I would also recommend bringing your own fire wood. They cut theirs too long to fit in the tiny fire pits and it was incredibly wet. Nice thing was the price, very cheap, and the restaurant is right there too. They will give you 10% off if you are staying at the site and are open for morning coffee around 8am. Not sure if this is good or bad but they lock the mysterious flush toilets, fart showers, and main gate at 11pm. So you can't drive off in the middle of the night, and if you arrive past 11 you need to walk your things in, but then again it makes it more difficult for someone to drive away with your surf gear.

Room Tip: There are distinctive forest sites and non forest sites. The forest is farther away from the airpor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthIslWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Similar to the review below, we booked this campsite as it was the only place that had availability during the busy holiday weekend. After reading the reviews below, we booked with some hesitation and made the journey from Vancouver hoping that it wouldn't be a huge mistake - it wasn't.

When we arrived we were greeted by Drew (the camp Manager) and he went through all the rules and regulations of the site - firmly, but fairly. Music off by 11pm, keep noise down thereafter, keep your site tidy to stop unwelcome wildlife etc.

The campground - each plot is well lined with bushes and trees so you do have a fair level of privacy between you and your neighbors. The ground on many of the pitches, is rocky and uneven, so bring a blow-up mattress or similar and you will be fine. Each pitch has a picnic table and a fire pit - ideal. The portaloos are dotted around the site with good regularity and as they get fuller, you can go to to the camp office and use the 'proper' toilets. Showers are also available and stayed warm throughout the day.

The golf center is next to the campsite office and has a bar/grill, toilet facilities etc for additional amenities.

The campsite is located almost bang in the middle of Tofino and Ucluelet (15k from each) and a 5 min drive from the beach.

To sum up - book with confidence. To the reviewers below, it's a campsite, not a hotel - we had a GREAT holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.3 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
2.0 mi away
Tofino Resort + Marina
Tofino Resort + Marina
#14 of 16 in Tofino
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
329 reviews
2.5 mi away
House of Himwitsa
House of Himwitsa
#2 of 20 in Tofino
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Golf Course & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Golf Course & Campground

Address: 1850 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Long Beach Campground is the perfect spot for a family vacation, a surfing adventure, or a laid-back getaway. Nestled in the ancient rainforest, the Long Beach Golf Course Campground offers 76 campsites in a wilderness setting and is only a few minutes drive from the waves of the world famous Long Beach in Pacific Rim National Park. Ideally situated between Tofino and Ucluelet, the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground's central location allows quick access to all the local attractions. Combine a stay at our campground with one of the many unique amenities that the Long Beach Golf Course and Campground has to offer. * 18 Hole Mini Putt * Driving Range * Championship 9 hole course * Paintball * On site RedCan Gourmet take-out * Cold Beer * Ice cream / snacks ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Long Beach Golf Course & Campground Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing