We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I could see wanting someplace a little fancier or with a few more cottage amenities (i.e. TV, more mirrors, etc..),and the internet was spotty at best.

But other than that, I LOVED this spot. Cottages right overlooking a nice fun beach. Equipped with kitchen and equipment to make cooking a fun option. Perfect getaway spot and not too pricey.

Especially if you have kids, check out the hedge in the middle of the property between the two parkin areas - lots of hidden paths that are cute and fun :).

Room Tip: Cottages were worth a bit more both for the privacy and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    238
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
454
407
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days here and it was just perfect. We loved the no TV. We spent days on end just gazing out at the ocean. The kitchen was well equipped. The pool and hot tub were amazing after our surf lesson. Campfires right on the beach (thanks for the axe). We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbird_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We had a great three days at Ocean Village. The staff was super friendly, the room well appointed and spotless. The layout was just changed so that you can see the ocean view form every spot in the studio - and yet they are still private. Really beautiful spot on a great beach in Tofino.

Room Tip: The studios are the least expensive and some have a bit better views than the others - Suites 1-8 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in a Lower Studio suite and it was fantastic! The unit had been newly renovated this year, along with a number of units last year, and we found it to be truly perfect! Clean, comfortable, fresh, and had everything we needed. We stayed in one of the suites in the second row but because the second row is built on a raised hill, we still had a great view of the ocean. Some other family members stayed in the same style suite but on the waterfront and we found we spent equal time between the two as they both were great. We ate out a couple of times but we enjoy cooking and found the kitchens in the cabins and the communal BBQ to be just right. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, giving great suggestions on trails and beaches to check out as well as yummy restaurants to eat at. Our stay at Ocean Village was a perfect vacation that we never wanted to end! We will definitely be back and will recommend to others in the meantime! Until next time....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogLover201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in a lower studio unit and it was well-maintained and clean. The grounds are lovely as well. The unit we stayed in had a wood floor and no carpets, which was excellent as we had two dogs with us. The wifi was pretty spotty, though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed in an upper studio cabin for a night in February (storm watching season). We didn't get to see any storms, unfortunately! They have an indoor swimming pool and and hot tub, but we didn't get to use it either as the room was so cozy and nice. The cabin had a stove and cooking utensils so we spent our whole day just staying in and wandering around the beach which was right on the property. You get a great view of the sea from inside the cabin! At night, you can see how bright the stars are, and the sound of the waves in the background just made it into a perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria,BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We came here based on other recommendations from friends as we wanted to get away and be near the ocean.

We stayed in a lower cottage (#8) and had a fantastic unobstructed view of the beach so we could see our kids if they went out all the way down to the water. That was the best. We had a great time spending time at the beach and building castles and a fire at night. It was exactly what we were looking for.

We liked that this resort had a pool and hot tub. It would have been nice if they had any chairs or benches to sit on. We did manage to get a beach ball from the office for the kids to play with. The hot tub jets didn't work well at all. It mostly stayed on circulate and when on weren't powerful.

The bed was incredibly hard, and uncomfortable. I almost switched to sleeping on the pull outs and gave the kids the bed.

The kitchen was ok, but not very well stocked. We kept having to ask for things like a cookie sheet, microwavable bowl, and so on. By comparison we spent one night at the resort next door (see our review for Crystal Cove) where they had everything we could need including some games, aluminum foil, saran wrap.

We were aware there were no phones or tv, but we were told there was wifi. It didn't work properly the entire time we were there. We went to the Crystal Cove next door to get reliable wifi, a playground and Starbucks. We ultimately decided to pay double to stay there our last night, but didn't get the ocean view we had at Ocean Village.

Tip: Ask for a discount:

We called far ahead and asked about a discount for multiple nights, originally planning to stay 6 or 7 nights. We were offered 10% off if we stayed more than 3 days. We later found an online offer on their website for 15% off a 3 night stay or more, which they did agree to switch us to. We did decide to scale back to 3 nights only though and had to argue about keeping the 15%. On our last night we talked to another couple who were offered 10% off one night, 20% off two, 30% off 3 nights or 40% off for 4 or more nights. This would have definitely affected our decision to stay only 3 nights instead of 7 had we been made a better offer. They said they had said they would call back after they checked prices at close by resorts and apparently that made a difference. They also called on shorter notice than we did.

Room Tip: We would stay in cottage 8 again, there is a great ocean view. The lower cottages allow you to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameronbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thanks for your TripAdvisor review of Ocean Village. We're glad to hear that your kids had fun on the beach and that you enjoyed the view from your cottage. It concerns us that you weren't entirely satisfied with your experience. I'd like to take a moment to address your comments one by one:

The web promotion you mentioned was part of Feast! festival, attracting travelers to the area. We do offer varied promotions through the year but typically discounts of that magnitude are not offered except during storm watching months.

Our kitchens are fully stocked with bowls, plates, glasses, utensils, and cookware. We do not supply plastic wrap or aluminum foil. Thanks for bringing that to our attention though, we need to make guests aware of that.

As to the WiFi signal issues, that's the nature of wireless internet in Tofino. Like at other resorts in the area, high traffic times make for slow web browsing at Ocean Village. As someone who moved here from the city, I can attest to how frustrating it can be.

There is also a great local coffee bar - The Tofitian - just a 5 minute walk from the resort, and we recommend it to all of our guests.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from guests is always appreciated, and we're glad you voiced your concerns. We'll take your comments into consideration and continue to offer family-friendly, oceanfront accommodations at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing