We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Photography, Walking, Recharging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Photography, Walking, Recharging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Ocean Village was our choice for a quiet 'storm-watching' weekend in November. Who would have thought that the weather on the west coast of Vancouver Island could be so mild and peaceful? Although there were no storms we still found many other ways to enjoy this part of the world. Unit #45 is a single unit with a bedroom, kitchenette, modern bathroom, gas fireplace and Wi Fi. There is no TV and no radio, which is a plus for us since it provided fewer distractions. There is a pool on site which we did not use. The beach is wide and sandy, perfect for kids and dogs. When we were there the property was quiet with a few other guests, so if you're looking for a time and place for reflection then November is the time and Ocean Village is the place.

Room Tip: Cabins at the front are all single units - the ones at back have units up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    238
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
454
408
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We loved this place! Our one bedroom cottage was perfect for our family: two adults, a 4 1/2 year old and our giant yellow Labrador. We were met with a lovely doggy welcome package; the staff and facilities were excellent; and the beach - thank you Mother Nature!!! Despite the on and off rain, we had two campfires on the beach right in front of our cottage. Note to hikers: there is NO LIGHTHOUSE at the end of the Tofino Lighthouse Trail!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl-with-no-name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Ocean Village and had a great time! After a few friends told us about the place we thought we'd check it out next time we made it to Tofino. We're so glad we did cause we found it to be the perfect spot to kick back and relax! The location is very central with the beaches on one side and town on the other, everything seemed super close. We stayed in an Upper Studio which was well equipped, extremely clean and cozy, and had a lovely view of the ocean. The amenities on site were also great! The salt water pool and hot tub were an added bonus after a chilly surf and the BBQ area was a fantastic option to grill up a quick dinner. We're pretty laid back travellers who usually keep to ourselves but we found the staff were very friendly, outgoing and clearly hardworking. Service was very genuine and helpful, the girls at the front desk were kind enough to recommend a few local eateries which we enjoyed thoroughly. Check in and out were a breeze which is appreciated after a long journey and when you're headed back to catch the ferry. We would definitely stay here again and will be thanking our friends for the recommendation, as well as telling others!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My Wife and I were looking for a nice 2 day getaway for Thursday, November 14th and 15th 2013. I called Jamie at Ocean Village on Wednesday mid afternoon to enquire about rates. I asked if they had vacancy for the dates requested which they did. I mentioned that we had a hypoallergenic small indoor dog and was also looking for a friends and family rate or best rate available since they had rooms to sell. She wasn't sure what she could do for us. I gave her our phone number and asked her to please let us know. I did not receive a call back and the following day we headed out for Tofino. We arrived at the Information Centre in Tofino and they called Ocean Village for us. Apparently they had an 8 hour power outage and she wasn't able to call us back, however, she didn't even remember me calling ?? After negotiating rates back and forth with her, she offered us a rate of $119.00 plus tax which included our pet instead of charging the $20 per night pet fee. We accepted and drove over. When we arrived, Jamie said that she could not offer the room without charging the $20 pet fee. The rate she offered was $124 plus $20 pet fee. The internet rate was $119.00. I felt taken advantage of and the staff there didn't seem to care. I had managed hotels for 21 years plus and I have never encountered this before. We quietly left and stayed elsewhere enjoying our 2 days at another Beachfront Resort who valued our business during the shoulder and or off season. I'm sure that if we were treated fairly, we would have stayed and enjoyed it very much. The Beach and views are spectacular. One word of advice for the staff, if you offer a rate to your guests, you should stick to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanejon, General Manager at Ocean Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to point out that our receptionist Jaime is a fantastic employee. I regularly receive positive feedback about her efforts from guests and staff alike.

Ocean Village offers some of the most affordable beachfront rates in Tofino. Like most resorts we have non-negotiable pet fees regardless of size and coat. I'm sorry if that wasn't communicated clearly to you at the information centre, and I apologize for any confusion over the nightly rate.

We certainly value our guests, no matter what time of year.

Again I do apologize about your experience, if you would like to continue this discussion please feel free to contact me directly at shane@oceanvillageresort.com

Regards,
Shane Richards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This was our third stay in about four years. It was a family event for our wedding and booked six one bedroom cabins for our adult children for varying amounts of time. Our stay was ten days. These are great little cozy cabins and you can't find anything much closer to the beach in Tofino. No TV and that's just fine. Maybe bring a radio to listen to Long Beach radio (90.1 FM) - a gem of a small town radio station. The cabin is not what you could call "plush" but it lacks nothing- clean and comfortable and fully equipped kitchen set-up. If you want plush, check into a Fairmont for big dollars, I guess. Ocean Village is priced right and everyone we hosted was very happy with their stay
Friendly, attentive hard working staff. Beautifully maintained grounds. The public barbecue area has two large commercial type barbecues which we didn't use but will try another time. One disappointment - tried to reserve for a week at Christmas but no 1BR cabin available. Darn!!!
WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of our 2 month trip to Canada. We were in a 1 bedroom cabin situated right on the beach and had the most amazing view. It was very cosy, particularly on a cold rainy evening sitting on the couch beside the fireplace and looking out at the ocean. The cabin was very comfortable and quiet and located a short drive from the village and a number of tourist activities and also handy to hiking trails within the national park. Would recommend it for a quiet relaxing getaway or base for hiking the trails in the area

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed for three nights (Oct 19-22) in a cottage (#49) at Ocean Village, and loved it. It is a low-key, friendly environment; the grounds are immaculate. The cottage itself was very well-laid out, considering that it is quite small - there was storage room to put away clothes, sufficient space in the bathroom, and hooks by the door for coats etc. The kitchen in particular had everything one might need for a multi-day stay - much better equipped than I have seen elsewhere, even at "higher end" resorts. On-demand hot water, which ensured warm showers for both of us. The resort provides shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and dishsoap made by Sea Wench, which is all botanical and smells wonderful! (You can purchase products from the office.). We had difficulty with the Wifi - our laptop would load one page, but stall on the second - however, we didn't care much, as we brought board games to occupy us when we weren't out walking the beaches. The units are close together, and if you have loud neighbours, you can sometimes hear them vaguely through the walls, but everyone was good about observing quiet hours.

We had minimal interaction with staff, but found that everyone we did talk to was very friendly and accommodating, even when we had to cancel one of our nights at the last minute due to weather related delays.

The resort is about a five-minute drive to Tofino, and less than 10 from Long Beach and other walking trails, so a great central location. Mackenzie Beach is quite lovely, and a nice length for a morning or evening walk. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Cottages are about 15 feet from the beach, but all units are within a one minute walk. Choose upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yukondane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.5 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village Beach Resort

Property: Ocean Village Beach Resort
Address: 555 Hellesen Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tofino
#2 Family Hotel in Tofino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled comfortably on beautiful MacKenzie Beach, minutes from the picturesque village of Tofino. Our property is ideally located for guests to enjoy all of the activities this breathtaking area has to offer. Unobstructed views and direct beach access from your oceanfront cabin. Renovated and updated for maximum comfort, our iconic “beehive” cabins are available year-round at affordable, family-friendly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Beach Hotel Tofino
Ocean Village Beach Resort Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing