We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January stay in the Sunset Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“January stay in the Sunset Room”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This place was amazing. Phenomenally clean, comfy bed, loungey bit where you could sit and read in front of the fire if you wanted. Fantastic hosts & as I've seen in lots of other reviews, the breakfasts were stunning. Even though we were there in January, we had a great walk along the beach (which is literally just outside the house). We stayed in the Sunset Room (there aren't enough reviews on here about the Sunset Room!). It was really nice - giant bed, plenty of other space, big en-suite and great views over the beach & ocean. I would recommend this place to anyone any time of year - it was simply fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 932Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
232
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We were skeptical about going to the "beautiful" Tofino during the winter months for a little romantic getaway but it could not have been BETTER. The Brimar was by far the best decision of the trip. We stayed in the Loft for 2 nights and enjoyed 2 of the 3 days of our trip in sunshine! The Loft has an amazing claw foot tub and skylights to watch the stars- a perfect place for a romantic trip. Paula is a fantastic host (not to mention her amazing breakfasts with fresh fruit and granola, yogurt, freshly baked bread *the most delicious*, and warm entrees every morning)- we really enjoyed her hospitality and company. She graciously booked activities for us so they were ready upon arrival, and provided the best recommendations for places to eat and things to do. Our breakfasts were not only delicious- but a great time for conversation. We cant stop talking about our trip and how "pristine" Tofino is- especially in the winter months where its quiet and beautiful. I couldn't give a better recommendation- if you are going to Tofino... Brimar is the place to stay!!! We can't wait to be back and when we will definitely be staying with Paula at the Brimar!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustenVoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

What a perfect beachfront house, delicious breakfasts and gorgeous location right on the beach. The house is lovely- lots of privacy and with large windows looking out at the surf and the house is tucked away from the main road. The trails nearby go through lush mossy rainforest with massive trees, and out along the beautiful coast. It was a magical place to visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMason-BriMar, General Manager at BriMar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Thanks for your comments! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Check out our new Specials & Packages page for weekly/monthly discounts and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I had so much fun at Brimar I don't know where to begin! I stayed for one week in the Moonrise Room over the holidays, a beautifully appointed room with tons of space, private washroom, and an incredible ocean view. The rest of the house and grounds are absolutely gorgeous and spotless; pictures don't do it justice at all.

Paula and her family were the most lovely hosts. She made absolutely delish breakfasts--omelets, granola, just-out-of-the-oven bread, fresh fruit, eggs benedict, just to name a few of the options--and there were always lots of hot beverages to enjoy inside or to take out on the beach! The house is of course right on Chesterman Beach (~5 km from town), and I began and ended each day with a walk in my wellies and a nice cuppa. Paula helped me rent a bike with Tof Cycles, which was integral to my adventures up and down the Sound. And it was AMAZING to meet the other guests staying at Brimar, who all had the most captivating stories of how they came to visit this incredible slice of the West Coast. I have been raving to everyone I know about this trip :) I will be back!!

Room Tip: All three rooms (Moonrise, Sunset, Loft) have full ocean views. I stayed by myself in the Moonrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqimparfait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMason-BriMar, General Manager at BriMar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
WOW! Another wonderful review, thank you! It was our pleasure to welcome you into our home; by the time you were due to leave I felt as though you were part of our family. I'm glad you had such a great visit, we would love to see you again some day. Your enthusiasm for our environment and for life in general is superb. I wish you all the best while you work hard finishing your degree!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

There is so much to say about the Brimar we don't know where to begin. It started when we drove up and were greeted by Dieter who helped us carry in our bags. The house is spectacular and our room, The Loft, was amazing . The view of the ocean is absolutely breath taking. It has now become the wallpaper on our iPhones and home computer. Paula's breakfasts are to die for. Besides the homemade granola and fresh fruit, there was fresh bread from athe local Tofino bakery, yogourt and cereals. She also made a hot entree each morning which for us was a mouthwatering omelette, whole wheat waffles and eggs Benedict. Each meal had a different slant to it not just the usual fair. e.g. the eggs bene had fresh spinach and thinnly sliced tomato as well as a just-prepared Hollandaise sauce. The coffee was also excellent.
Paula was a wealth of knowledge on the Tofino area and gave us many ideas on what restaurants to try or where to hike. She is a superb hostess. As mentioned above, The Loft was a piece of paradise. It is very spacious and has the uniqueness of having a skylight above the king size bed. Thus we were able to stare at the stars one night and watch the rain another. Even though it was October, our bay window was always open so we could hear the sound of the ocean. Thank you Paula for letting us share this experience

Room Tip: All rooms 3 face the ocean but the loft is superior. We were the only people so can't comment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMason-BriMar, General Manager at BriMar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind compliments...it is so great to have guests like you come to visit. I hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed for 5 days and we'd recommend it to anyone. Paula made us feel like one of the family, and we miss her breakfasts already. The loft is a gorgeous room to watch winter storms in, and when we stayed we were fortunate enough to be there during a meteor shower, so we got to watch shooting stars through the skylights at night. The beach is a wonderful place to go for a stroll morning or night with a warm drink. It was a nice relaxing trip and if we visit again we will be staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaMason-BriMar, General Manager at BriMar Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It was my pleasure hosting you, I hope to welcome you back again soon. Merry Xmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

One of the most wonderful places, I've ever vacationed. Beautiful home, beautiful views and Paula, a wonderful hostess. Left feeling relaxed, refreshed and recharged. The beach is the back yard. Beautifully landscaped.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Camper_EM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Tofino Travellers Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BriMar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BriMar Bed and Breakfast

Property: BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1375 Chesterman Beach Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BriMar Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a Taste of our Life at BriMar Bed and Breakfast...located right on the south end of Chesterman Beach, Tofino BC. Perched on the edge of the sand, our home provides a wonderful getaway, perfect for any time of the year. Consider complete relaxation, sipping tea and reading a book by the old-fashioned wood stove or maybe just watching the waves breaking as you drift off into your daydreams. Venture out onto Chesterman Beach for a walk along the ocean, to see everything from local professional surfers mastering huge waves to whales spouting as they pass on their annual migration to eagles soaring overhead. Enjoy shopping through the cozy village of Tofino with a peppermint latte or listen to local musicians at a nearby Inn. Let us help to show you around our gorgeous piece of paradise by organizing activities for you such as Whale Watching, Surfing Lessoons/Rentals, Bird Watching, Fishing, Kayaking, Flight Seeing or Paddleboarding to mention a few. Spoil yourself with Massage Treatments and Yoga Classes or Hike the many scenic Trails in the nearby Pacific Rim National Park. Tofino is proud to offer an amazing experience for any traveller regardles of your interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BriMar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimar b&b
Brimar Hotel Tofino
BriMar Bed And Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing