We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bed and Break on Van Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BriMar Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Bed and Break on Van Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

An amazing house on one of the best stretches of beach Canada has. Paula is a super hostess and her food could keep you at the table all day. My third time staying at Brimar and will keep coming back! Thanks Paula!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank OneHandPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
220
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed at many B&Bs throughout North America, and this is without doubt the BEST! This B&B has it all! More than anything, this is due to the efforts of the wonderful hostess, Paula.
Our room on the top floor was spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean with fabulous views of the beach and ocean. We slept soundly with the windows open, waves lapping at the shore. The property is tucked into the bottom end of Rosie's Bay, a 40 minute stroll along Chesterman Beach to The Wickinnish. The Brimar B&B is the prettiest cottage on the beach.
The breakfasts were spectacular... Paula is a gourmet talent. The fresh baked cranberry pumpkin seed bread is "to die for"! Paula also helped with many suggestions for everything from finding hidden treasures, like Pettinger Point, and assisting us with dinner reservations, to ideas for other local activities and attractions.
As we were visiting just before the May long weekend, we had the whole place to ourselves, including the beach. Note that the beach is public property, so there is the potential on busy summer weekends for beach fire parties.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have just stayed at Brimar for the second time and loved it just as much as the first! Everything is wonderful from the entrance through a charming courtyard to the roar of the ocean that you notice as soon as you approach the house. We were 2 couples that enjoyed the house from the spacious rooms to the convenience of having the living room to hang out in for hors d'oeuvres and wine in the evening. Paula was always gracious and made the most wonderful breakfasts to start off our day. I chose this B and B because I wanted to be on Chesterman Beach and it once again created memories of Tofino that will make me want to come back.

Room Tip: Either of the 2 ensuite rooms would work - either the 3rd Floor or the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonlou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is an extraordinary haven along an extraordinary stretch of coast on Vancouver Island. I was enchanted from the moment I arrived at the lovely B & B. Correction-even more enchanted, as the enchantment started after arriving on the lush and fragrant island a few days previous. The BriMar is a lovely Victorian manor just a few steps from Chesterman beach. The large lounge and dining room are surrounded on 3 sides by knee to ceiling windows. My cozy room, "the Moonrise" had a direct view of the beach and crashing waves framed by tall shaggy trees that i could see from my bed or the small seating area by the windows of my room. The sash windows opened easily to allow the sounds and smell of the ocean and rainforest in. The amenities were all impeccably clean and unscented-hurray! The breakfast was delicious, generous and very healthy. The hostess-manager, well, here's a fine example of the type of thoughtful care I received throughout my 2 day stay: as a solo traveler I was in contact with Paula about directions from the Cox Bay Info Centre, where the Tofino Bus would be dropping me off, to the B&B. Instead of walking a mile along the bike path, there was Paula waiting for me, to drive me. "Just thought it would be nicer to be met at the bus", she said taking my big wheelie bag and stashing it in her trunk. This is the definition of a warm welcome and thoughtful anticipation of the guest's needs. It just got better from there, and was never intrusive or harrasssed the way some other B&B hosts can be. This was a wonderfully peaceful place that is certainly do-able for a solo traveller who is also travelling without a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-solo-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is THE place! The house, the rooms, the views, the location, the beach, the atmosphere, the guests, the food...and certainly not least, the manager, Paula (you rock!)

You will not be disappointed at BriMar. Virtually everything you would expect or hope to expect from an archetypical B&B is evident at BriMar. It's beautiful, well built, well appointed, and well staffed. It all comes together to ensure your stay will be unequalled. Each room has direct beach views, with the endless surf providing the soundtrack for your stay. You could be happy to stay put right there, but the multitude of Tofino's other attractions will also call you away. Of course, as does the rising tide, you will return, contented.

Paula could sleepwalk through breakfast and this would still be an exceptional experience. The fact that she infuses your visit with her convivial appeal and helpfulness is what makes the whole shebang truly memorable. She is a delight to experience and to know, and her culinary skills are wonderful. If we lived in the same town I know we would be friends. She genuinely cares for her guests, and she graciously accommodated our special dietary needs on short notice without missing a beat. She also packed us a generous take away (cooked) breakfast because we had to leave very early to catch the return ferry. I've truly had victuals over just the few days we were there that I've not seen or experienced before. Pancakes on skewers...who does that? Incredible place, sublimely executed!

Can't wait to return....
So my advice...if you can get there, do so.

Room Tip: not a bad one. The loft is the biggest, with a claw foot tub and very large shower in room. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank not-a-redshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Paula, the manager at BriMar is providing an exceptional B and B experience for her guests. What more could one ask for: ocean waves of Chesterman Beach pounding outside your window; modern spacious bedrooms; welcoming guest lounge with wood stove lit in the evening; enticing, tasty, wholesome breakfasts; and the welcoming hospitality of Paula and Deiter. We will definitely return to this beautiful place. Thank-you, Paula!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a beautiful mansion right on the beach! Having walked Chesterman Beach a few times in the past, I'd often wondered what it would be like to live in a house right on the ocean -well for 2 days I certainly got a small feel for it!

Paula, the on-site manager, left us a note welcoming us to BriMar and directions to our Sunset Room. We were blown away by the views in the communal dining/living room as we walked up to our room. When we entered our room, the view was just as incredible! Paula arrived shortly after and personally welcomed us. After settling in, we walked outside right on to the beach for a walk as we watched the sunset with warm drinks in our hands (coffee and tea machine at the front entrance).

The Sunset Room is clean, big and spacious with a king bed, amazing sheets and beautiful floors. The room has a spectacular and peaceful view of the ocean with large windows that open, bringing in the sound of the crashing waves even closer. There is a big bathroom in the room, and standup shower. A table and chairs are in front of the window and was perfect for one of our take-out dinner night at home (a guest fridge is available). For those who want it, Wifi, TV and DVD players were available in the room, as well as a selection of movies to choose from in the living room area.

The breakfast each morning at 8:30am was delicious, sun-dried tomato and asparagus omelet one morning and a quiche the next morning. Fruits, yoghurt, granola and homemade bread was served every morning. We were the only guests staying the first night and ended up chatting with Paula for a couple of hours! We could have chatted longer, but we were on our way to do 2 hikes recommended by Paula. We asked if we could have our breakfast the next day outside in the yard where table and chairs were already set up, and Paula happily fixed up a breakfast tray for us and we had our breakfast outside as the sun rose on the beach.

We were really impressed with the hospitality and the balance of privacy, let alone the beautiful home! Our 6th time in Tofino, and 1st time staying at the BriMar - we would highly recommend it -thanks Paula!

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Sunset Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.9 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BriMar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BriMar Bed and Breakfast

Property: BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1375 Chesterman Beach Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BriMar Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a Taste of our Life at BriMar Bed and Breakfast...located right on the south end of Chesterman Beach, Tofino BC. Perched on the edge of the sand, our home provides a wonderful getaway, perfect for any time of the year. Consider complete relaxation, sipping tea and reading a book by the old-fashioned wood stove or maybe just watching the waves breaking as you drift off into your daydreams. Venture out onto Chesterman Beach for a walk along the ocean, to see everything from local professional surfers mastering huge waves to whales spouting as they pass on their annual migration to eagles soaring overhead. Enjoy shopping through the cozy village of Tofino with a peppermint latte or listen to local musicians at a nearby Inn. Let us help to show you around our gorgeous piece of paradise by organizing activities for you such as Whale Watching, Surfing Lessoons/Rentals, Bird Watching, Fishing, Kayaking, Flight Seeing or Paddleboarding to mention a few. Spoil yourself with Massage Treatments and Yoga Classes or Hike the many scenic Trails in the nearby Pacific Rim National Park. Tofino is proud to offer an amazing experience for any traveller regardles of your interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BriMar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brimar b&b
Brimar Hotel Tofino
BriMar Bed And Breakfast Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing