We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and whale watching experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We planned to stay for two nights and had a plesant experience. They offer $30 off a whale watching your which was a nice bonus because we weren't expecting it. The discount should have been displayed before hand as it would have made the choice of hotels that much easier. On our whale watching trip we saw two groups of grey whales; many of them showed their tails and one of the groups was mating! On out way back from seeing the sea lions we also got to see a calf jump out if the water multiple times. Our trip was cut a day short due to a family emergency and the staff were very understanding and let us cancel our second day without penalty. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonable rate at a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effjaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and we certainly appreciate you referring us to others! You have made an excellent suggestion regarding making guests aware of the discounted rates on whale watching, etc. before booking and we will definitely be implementing this. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Looks like the whole place has only recently been modernised. Room and public areas all good. Staff very friendly, and booked whale watching trip for us (with discount). We were in the main building with a rear door leading straight into the rain forest. A barbeque was underway just adjacent to us, but that had finished by 10 p.m. so no worries there. Other than that, very peaceful indeed. When we were there (July 2013) the restaurant was being refurbished, so no on-site food available, but plenty of nearby choices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night after booking after the last minute. They didn't have a hotel room but we rented the full hostel room for $95. Guy at the front desk was super friendly. Place was clean, they provided soap, towels etc. even for just the hostel room. Place had adjustable heat. We were very happy especially after every other place was booked! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missKaty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that we were able to accommodate you and appreciate your positive feedback. Hopefully we will see you again if you make it back to Tofino.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Last time in Tofino was 23 years ago so wasn't sure what to expect! Jamie's was a great place to stay. Very clean and bright, great staff, reasonably priced, nice location. Our room had a fridge and microwave which was very convenient. Beautiful rainforest at the back of the property. Enjoyed sitting around the fire pit in the evening. Will be nicer still when their restaurant opens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zahadran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We certainly appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome you again if you get a chance to return to Tofino.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Tofino is full of beach-side resort complexes with fancy suites and sky-high prices. Jamie's Rainforest Inn is not like that. It is more of an upmarket motel, although it does have its own very attractive patch of rainforest leading down to the inlet (which is mostly mud except at high tide). It is several kilometres from the town, although lovely Chesterman beach is within easy walking distance.
What Jamie's does have is straightforward accommodation at sensible (for Tofino) prices. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The $30 dollar discount on Jamie's whale watching and other boat trips were a very welcome bonus.
Our only criticism was that we found the kitchenette very limited. For us travellers from the UK, it seems bizarre to provide a microwave and fridge but no crockery or cutlery. Thankfully, the staff managed (with some difficulty) to rustle up a motley collection of plates and bowls and a few knives forks and spoons, but this was clearly not part of the plan.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank WhycantIbemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for your feedback. We certainly strive to provide great value, especially by Tofino standards, and are very glad you feel this way.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at Jamie's Rainforest Inn for 2 nights. It was a wonderful experience all around! Our kids are 7 and 10 so we weren't looking for a real fancy place. We had a view of the rainforest from our 2nd floor window. We could walk through the rainforest to the mud flats behind the Inn or walk a few minutes across the street to the amazing beach. The staff was very nice and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable (beds were great!). It's about a 5 minute drive into the little town. Bike paths throughout entire area and coffee and small market very close to Inn. We all loved it and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We were here for 2 nights, as part of our vacation trip through West Canada. The room was booked by our travel agency as part of the total package, so we are not aware of the room charge at the moment.

This place is not a fancy place, but the room has more than one could expect: airco, microwave, fridge, watercooker, coffee machine and complimentary WiFi. Quality of the coffee and tea are decent. The WiFi speed is fast if it works, but it is not very stable in the room. Quite annoying, since it is not too hard to provide a stable and good connection nowadays.

The room itself is large and spacious. Beds are very comfortable and have clean sheets. Bathroom is quite small though, but is hygienic and suffices. The hallways are very noisy, which is a minus in our opinion, but not a reason not to stay here for us.

Location of the place is perfectly fine, with some popular beaches around and not too far from downtown Tofino. Staff at the reception is very helpfull and is friendly, which made our total experience very good.

Please note that this place is quite new and still under some construction. The restaurant has not yet opened, for example. Based on the information provided, the restaurant will be open as from Fall 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UnitFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, General Manager at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are still on track to have our restaurant open in the Fall which will conclude our renovations. Hopefully if you return to Tofino you will have an opportunity to try it out!

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamie's Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Address: 1258 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Orca Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £58 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamie's Rainforest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamie’s Rainforest Inn, located in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia, Canada, is the ideal location for your trip to Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast. We are conveniently located on the main road into Tofino, just a short drive (4 km) from the town center and less than a 10 minute walk from Chesterman Beach, one of Tofino’s most popular surfing beaches. The Inn sits on 4 acres of beautiful old growth coastal rainforest with easy access to our private waterfront (located on the inlet side of the Tofino peninsula). There are easy walking trails all over the property making this the perfect location to be fully immersed in the natural beauty that Tofino offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jamie's Rainforest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Orca Hotel Tofino
Jamie's Rainforest Inn Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing