We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, not so great dorm layout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place, not so great dorm layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a dorm room .. Great place, great staff, great restaurant, great discounts on their tours but the dorm room layout gave other travellers the chance to make lots of noise. Within the dorm there were 2 sinks and 2 toilets, meaning some yuk smells and noises at all times. Then , as well as the main door to the dorm there was a sliding door right by my head which for some reason people kept going in and out of in the middle of the night. Then the bunk beds were shaky. Each time the petite girl in the bunk above got in and out, it was like a Richter 7 earthquake. They did warn me on the phone that it was basic accommodation so I'm sure this review would be a 5 had I booked a 'proper' room. Very nice place to stay, but only book a dorm if you are hardy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank stalkercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn!

Having a space that combines a sleeping area, storage lockers, and washroom facilities allows for all amenities to be conveniently accessible for our dorm guests. We apologize that in your case, the proximity of the washroom facilities to your bunk, as well as the general noise of other guests were disturbing factors for you during your stay.

In regards to the shakiness of the bunk we greatly appreciate the feedback, as this is pertinent information our maintenance staff will be looking into. We sincerely apologize that this too was a negative factor during your stay.

On a more positive note, we are delighted to know that your experience with our staff, our in house restaurant, and discounted tours were aspects of your stay that you appreciated!

We hope that you will join us again, so that we can try and create a better experience during your second visit with us.

Warmest Regards,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    106
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
75
122
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

pulling up to the front I wasn't sure what to expect - it doesn't seem like much from the outside.
It's not luxurious, but it's good value, clean, spacious and the service throughout the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Patrick H,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of Jamie's Rainforest Inn.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the great value, cleanliness, and the customer service!

Our team at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

the hotel rooms were very nice and had internet, microwave fridge and big tv. sadly the wifi was horrible and when it did work we couldn't get onto webpages even to check email most of the time. they blamed the provider but as we had been to tofino the year previously in a different place the wifi was much better. The parking was a sad point as its just a gravel area with no handicapped parking which we could have used and theres no lighting either so get ur stuff unpacked from your vehicle before its dark. The girl who checked us in and whom we dealt with ( Destiny ) was the nicest person we dealt with on our 2 week trip and was extremely helpful, friendly, and truly seemed to enjoy her job. TY for making our stay there an extremely pleasureable one Destiny!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digger1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you posting a review of Jamie's Rainforest Inn!

In regards to the internet, it is as you said: an issue with our provider. We have purchased the largest bandwidth package available but as your visit was during high season there was a particularly high volume of users utilizing a limited supply of bandwidth. We apologize that the Wi-Fi was a sad point for you, and we assure you that improving this service is an ongoing concern for us.

As for our parking facilities, we are currently in the process of improving them! We truly appreciate your feedback as that gives us the opportunity to introduce the important improvements you suggested such as assigned handicapped parking and better lighting.

That said, we are very glad that you had such a positive experience with our staff. Destiny was thrilled to know that she was able to help create such a pleasurable stay for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jamie's Rainforest Inn!

Sincerely,

The Jamie's Rainforest Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

this hotel is definitely a gem. great service and the room was clean, king bed was comfy and it had a jetted tub. Close to town and two great beaches. we loved it. the restaurant and bar are very nice and handy. the food was great. we would definitely return here. it's especially good for motorcyclists as you can park right underneath your hotel window if you want.

Room Tip: just ask when you book as they are very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your enthusiastic review of Jamie’s Rainforest Inn!

We are so glad you could enjoy all the features of our hotel; as well as the local scenery.

We hope to welcome you back someday!

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was fine, the food in the restaurant was very tasteful, the location is good.
We booked a room with a king bed and a sofa bed, because we are friends who want separate beds and no other room was available at the time of booking. However, the sofa bed wasn't comfortable at all, so we asked if perhaps another room would be available. There was, but then there was a hassle about the way we made our reservation.
Though we made our reservation last February directly through the hotel website, www.tofinorainforestinn.com, there is appareantly a link to ReservationCounter, who directly charged our creditcard in USD, without us knowing. The hotel itself has print outs from Expedia. Appareantly, the staff is not aware of this link to ReservationCounter/Expedia and went into a discussion with us. After this discussion and our explanation that we where not interested in a refund for the more expensive room we booked, we got our new twin room, in which we slept just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schanulleke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Pros - cost, location, staff, cleanliness, tv's, AC, restaurant (staff, price and food)
Cons - parking, internet.... both could use some serious improvement.

Both the cons are not life threatening, but if they were fixed I would give a 5 star rating. The internet had full bars in my room but would do nothing once connected and once I had a good parking spot, I was reluctant to give it up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhpenner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Jamie's Rainforest Inn!

We would like to say that we are disappointed that we could not provide Wi-Fi service that was up to your standard. Unfortunately due to our remoteness, there is very limited internet capacity. In an effort to provide the best Wi-Fi service possible we have purchased the largest bandwidth package available. Unfortunately, as you were staying with us during peak season, when our hotel is at maximum capacity, our bandwidth was divided amongst an unusually high volume of people. As a business we consistently look for any way to improve guest experiences but there is simply no way to rectify this problem until our providers add additional fiber optic cables so we can purchase more bandwidth.

In regards to our parking facilities, please be advised that we are in the process of improving those facilities. Thank you very much for your feedback!

Lastly, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed some of the other very positive features of our business such as: affordability, a great location, friendly staff, a high standard of cleanliness, and all of the onsite amenities that we offer to our guests.

We hope you will join us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamies Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, just outside Tofino. Nice and friendly staff. Spacious room with large bed.
Very good restaurant with a waitress who was really interested in our experiences.
Discount for Jamies Whale watching tour when booked at the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WvB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamiesRainforestInn, Front Desk Agent at Jamie's Rainforest Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Jamie's Rainforest Inn! We are so glad to see you enjoyed both your stay and our onsite restaurant facilities.

We take pride in hiring great staff that not only take an interest in guest experiences but strive to create positive new ones. Therefore, we are delighted that you could benefit from that effort!

Besides great staff, we realize that value is very important for our current and potential guests.
That is why we are so happy to offer discounted rates for whale watching, bear watching, and hot springs programs.

Hopefully you will join us again someday!

Sincerely,

The Staff at Jamie’s Rainforest Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamie's Rainforest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamie's Rainforest Inn

Property: Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Address: 1258 Pacific Rim Highway, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Orca Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jamie's Rainforest Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamie’s Rainforest Inn, located in beautiful Tofino, British Columbia, Canada, is the ideal location for your trip to Vancouver Island’s rugged west coast. We are conveniently located on the main road into Tofino, just a short drive (4 km) from the town center and less than a 10 minute walk from Chesterman Beach, one of Tofino’s most popular surfing beaches. The Inn sits on 4 acres of beautiful old growth coastal rainforest with easy access to our private waterfront (located on the inlet side of the Tofino peninsula). There are easy walking trails all over the property making this the perfect location to be fully immersed in the natural beauty that Tofino offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jamie's Rainforest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayoquot Orca Hotel Tofino
Jamie's Rainforest Inn Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing