We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem for Sure!”

Tofino Botanical Gardens
Ranked #18 of 53 things to do in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tofino Botanical Gardens is over 12 acres of coastal old-growth forest with walking trails, sculpture, & interpretive sites located throughout. With our childrens garden, vegetable and herb gardens, and exotic plants from places like Chile or the Himalayas, there is something for everyone at the Gardens.Plus, we have ducks.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Gem for Sure!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a really lovely p,ace to wander around. Wasn't expecting too much but we were constantly surprised around every curve in the pathways. Great garden sculptures, humorous settings, great plants and views. Lots of seating along the way and the photo ops are incredible. Thank you for a great morning of exploring and a delicious coffee & biscotti at the end of our excursion through the gardens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bagwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    74
    46
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I too dragged my husband and another couple to this with great expectations. Was just another walk that we'd have been happier doing for free elsewhere in a spot with no shortage of venues.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mcfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and creepy!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very interesting place, full of weird sculptures. Lots of native plants that are labelled and a beautiful trail leading around the property. As well, there is a lovely café with amazing coffee. A nice relaxing way to spend the afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaarina1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beaut sculptures, lovely forest”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Tofino Gardens is definitely worth a visit for the beautiful sculptures, nice cafe and lovely walk through old growth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DJJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Strange place”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I "dragged" my husband in here while we were biking around Tofino. Wish I hadn't! This was not at all what I was expecting from a "botanical garden," I'm not sure what it was... part trail, part kids amusement, part farm, part resting place for random artifacts... but not at all worth a $10 entry fee. While the map had some explanation, few things on the trail were marked. In fact, the place didn't seem very well-maintained (granted it was after high growing season, but still...) and failed to impart any particular knowledge, beauty or natural wonder. Honestly, we got a lot more out of hiking the Pacific Rim Park trails and the ones around our resort. The cafe looked nice, so I guess it'd be a nice spot for a coffee or lunch... maybe it should focus on that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank D3TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tofino Botanical Gardens also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing