We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner's do not keep their word”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We made a reservation to stay at Duffin Cove. Our arrival date was 12 days from the day we made the booking. I let the owner know that I was concerned that if we had to cancel we were already below the number of days required to cancel. Their cancellation policy is 14 days. The owner said to me verbally “Do not worry about that. If you have to cancel we will only charge you approximately $30, not your full $199 deposit.” We had to cancel and he refused to honour what he said to us and instead kept our $199 deposit. When we attempted to discuss the difference between what they said and what they did we were treated unprofessionally, rudely and dismissed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
4  Thank DebbieB121312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateusz K, Guest Relations Manager at Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hi Debbie,

We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our staff representative this summer. We charge $30 if a cancellation needs to be made with more than 14 days in advance or the first night deposit with less time remaining. The person you dealt with is not the owner and no longer works here. The new management takes care of special cases and employs strict documentation of guest concerns. At times we may consider a special case like yours and when this is possible, both parties would receive confirmation of such an exchange by email or otherwise.

With Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Simple no frills accommodation with a setting to die for in an area full of spectacular scenery , excellent value and within easy walking distance of the village - friendly staff and dog !! Highly recommended and ideal as a base for exploring the area

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This place is very simple, unpretencious, no frills, and priced exactly right. The room I stayed in was small but cozy and had a fantastic view of the ocean. I fell asleep to the sound of waves outside my window, where in the world do you get that for $109???? The location is terrific, just steps away from the main part of Tofino. It's like a cabin in the woods, except it's in the middle of a popular resort destination. The staff was very friendly and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: I stayed in #106 - awesome!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jaie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I really liked this place, the location is beautiful, the lady who runs it is very nice and helpful. The hotel will soon needs rennovating, still if you look for a nice clean place, with a wonderful view, but not too fancy, you'll do good!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are more expensive but are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

i spent the night with my parents.

our room was great!

the location is amazing! the cove was beautiful.

the Internet was slow.

there was a full kitchen and lounge area filled with crockery and cutlery.

Room Tip: room # 4 has a great view from lounge. the bedrooms have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afshan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed in room 106 which is a bachelor suite with a queen bed. We had an absolutely fabulous view and found the room to be quite comfortable. Nothing fancy, but totally fine. We enjoyed watching the sunset and listening to the water. Calmer little inlet at this part of town, no heavy loud crashing waves.

I loved how friendly the staff on site were. Both before and during our stay they answered all our questions and were always helpful and cheerful.

Great location - only a couple minute walk to the shops, groceries and restaurants. Resort seems very private, even if the walls are indeed a little thin. Also appreciated the deep tub and mini fridge provided. We had a lovely time and will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 106 or the ocean fron cabins are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimBot138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Well it was nice room, but not really an ocean view as we were told. It had a lovely kitchen with everything you could ask for and a fantastic soaker tub. It was very quiet and secluded. My biggest complaint was finding a dead bug on the blanket in the bedroom. Rather ruined the weekend apart from the rain. Personally I am in no hurry to go back there again. Sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.6 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing