We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, right in town, ocean side accommodations, helpful manager.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place, right in town, ocean side accommodations, helpful manager.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

The room we had was right on the shore. Clean and appeared to be recently renovated. Cozy, with a balcony. bed was great and everything was clean. Quiet location but close to the town...walk to a restaurant. The manager was most helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there next time. Also they have other types of accommodations, such as cabins which sleep 8, and I think rooms with kitchenettes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredfolkKenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    62
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
53
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We (A group of 7) stayed at the Duffin Cove resort. We took in surfing, whale watching and spent some wonderful nights on their private property looking at the Ocean, enjoying local Crab and really, just enjoying ourselves. The Duffin Cove is an amazingly relaxing place. The new Managers were completely accomodating, helping us book tours and even cooking our crab. They made us feel really at home. The property is very woodsy and gives it a nice private feel. The buildings are in need of a little TLC, but nothing horrible. The rooms are not extravagant, but they do have a certain "homey" feeling and give you what you need for a good nights sleep! The Cove is a perfect place for family enjoyment or groups of old friends catiching up and telling stories!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennylane20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Myself & 2 friends booked our room at Duffin based on the good comments posted here on TripAdvisor. It was a mistake.
We hauled our luggage down those "rustic" stairs only to be greeted by a musty/dusty room with the floor covered with dead and/or dying beetles! had to have been at least 100 in the room... The fabulous view could not make up for this.
The only positive part of this experience was that they refunded the 1 night deposit I had placed on my VISA with no "quibbling".
The lesson we learned from this - ALWAYS ask to see the room first before you unload the luggage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertaGirl043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

we had a great view onto clayoquot sounds which was lovely, we also saw sea otters and bald eagles and a raccoon whilst we were on the lovely sunny balcony, the next day however, the mist came in and we could see nothing so maybe if we were looking at the room the next day, the view wouldn't have sold it for us who knows! There is lovely new couple who have just taken over this resort, but they do have their work cut out for them as we had to wait ages for our room to be ready as there was only one person cleaning rooms and there was a lack of understanding which room needed to be cleaned and the next day wasnt much better, but fairly comfortable room anyway but quite overpriced really you are definitely paying for the view and the location is good as you can just walk downtown etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

First off, the view from our Studio was absolutely amazing and the location of the hotel couldn't be beat. Otherwise, this hotel did not have much to offer. The buildings and furnishings are in rough repair and very out of date. It looks like there has not been much spent on improvements for quite a few years. The building we stayed in housed 6 very small "Studios". It was very cheaply constructed with flimsy walls and doors. The entire building swayed and rumbled whenever anyone climbed the stairs to the second level. Even the opening and closing of patio doors could be heard throughout the building. Luckily, the others staying in this building with us were quiet types, because voices could easily be heard from suite to suite.
We appreciate a rustic unique setting, (we were heading out on a week long kayak/camping trip) and are relatively easy to please, but there was very little "love" put into this place. Others might call it unique and quirky. I just call it cheap. For the value, there are much better places to stay in Tofino.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, bc
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We got a nice suite with a full kitchen which was nice. Great view of the ocean and we were able to spend a lot of time on the little rocky beach. We even saw some sea otters!
I have stayed there twice now in the off season and from what I have seen it seems to have the best value for the laid-back type of traveller.
Very friendly service too!
Both times we have walked in without a reservation and received a very good rate.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadic007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I'll preface this review by saying I would not stay in Tofino during the high season - rooms everywhere are ridiculously priced, including at this resort. During the offseason, the room rates here are in the $105-150 range, which is reasonable for the region.

The location of this resort is very convenient being in the heart of Tofino. You can park your car, and walk anywhere in the town. There's also a small staircase that leads down to the small, rocky, beach area. At low tide (and if you watch your step!), you can see a lot of marine life in the tidal pools here. The resort itself consists of separate buildings joined by boardwalks with a thick forest covering giving the place a very secluded feeling.

This was my third stay at this resort. The first time, back in the early 90s, was in a studio room - while those rooms do have the best view of the cove, they are only large enough for one person or a close couple. With both the sofa bed and queen bed, there was literally no room to move around the room. That said, they were clean and decently priced.

This time, and the previous time, I stayed in one of the one bedroom suites. These consist of a small living room area with a sofa bed, kitchen area, bathroom and a bedroom with one queen bed. The suite was quite clean, which is difficult to do given that the area is usually wet, and guests often arrive after hikes or other outdoor activities. The furniture and facilities (except for the TV) were also in reasonably good condition - that is, obviously not new, but clean. The bathroom was in very good condition and well decorated with ample towels.

Having your own cooking facilities here is super-convenient, as you can walk a block to the Co-op grocery store, buy food and cook it in your room! This is especially valuable given that many of the restaurants in Tofino are mostly fine dining or greatly overpriced.

Now for the quirks... The kitchen had no frying pans - it's a bit awkward cooking a steak in a soup pot. The bed sheets looked clean - I inspected them very carefully, but they were dark brown! This made it more difficult to inspect them. The towels also seemed pretty clean, but were dark blue. There's something about having white sheets and towels that gives one more confidence of cleanliness than dark colours...I think that's why most hotels have white towels/sheets. The TV was fairly old, which wasn't a problem...but it had no remote control! We were told this before we went to our room. I forgot what a pain it was to switch from channel 46 to 3 without a remote. That said, it is much more relaxing to have the TV off and just listen to the ocean at night... There was also a slight musty smell near the door - I don't fault them so much, because it is an *extremely* wet climate, but it was still a bit concerning.

So...all that being said, the location, cooking facilities and reasonable all season rate means that I would recommend this place to someone wanting good value in Tofino, and would likely stay here again if staying in Tofino. I may stay in Ucluelet next time I visit the region though - seems a bit more down to earth.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 215 Campbell Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hugging the west coastline of Vancouver Island, Duffin Cove Resort boasts an air of rustic charm and West Coast flavour with waterfront cabins, studios and suites nestled in a remote rainforest setting...yet only one block from downtown Tofino. The unique character setting and location allows the quiet solitude to relax, explore the shoreline and enjoy West Coast living...Yet only walking distance to dining, shopping and other interesting adventures. Get away from civilization and into the quiet lifestyle of West Coast living. You will find us at "The end of the road!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duffin Cove Hotel Tofino
Duffin Cove Tofino
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing