We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tofino Swell Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
18
6
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
6
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tub was an added bonusstayed longerview of the oceancommunialkitchenlodgetvsleeping
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed here once in the past and found it to be nice, but it seems that the service has gone down hill as our most recent stay was not pleasant. The hot tub became 'partied out' by other guests and had to be refilled so we did not have use of it for our stay (which has always been one of the main reasons we come here). Also we had to continually fight for parking near the lodge as the lot was full, and then to top it off the room cleaner started cleaning our room and packing up all of our belongings while we were out one day as she had been given misinformation about our stay. Overall it is a beautiful location at a reasonable price, but only if they increase their level of customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Swell Lodge, Tofino, BC presents the traveller with a truly “fishing lodge” experience. This is not a place for pampering spa types that want the west coast experience. No, this caters to the sports person, being it hiking, surfing or, more likely, fishing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable albeit sparsely furnished. A common area upstairs (or in some cases beside) provides a very well stocked kitchen, dining and living room area for meal preparation, etc. You must bring your own here including such things as cream and sugar for coffee and the like. But all else is supplied. Courtesy dictates you clean up after yourself. This does present some noise issues as early risers prepare breakfast, especially for those upstairs rooms adjoining the common area. Outside is a very nice deck area, a hot tub and a lower sitting area around a fire pit. There is a grass area with pleasant garden which lead onto a rather rustic dock where your boat can be moored. The operators, like their guests, are laid back and provide you with a very friendly visit.
Again, not for the trendy spa types looking for the storm swells, but I would not hesitate to encourage you to visit this well priced west coast lodge.

Room Tip: Bring a cooler to keep your perishables cold.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Tofino Swell Lodge sits right next to one of the piers. Views are breathtaking, especially from the large group living room/kitchen. Guest are invited to prepare their catch (from the sea or supermarket) and have their meals together. Also there are various outdoor sitting areas in front of the house.
However, we were disappointed, because our room adjacent to the group room did not share that view, but looked on the parking lot in the rear. It was also rather tiny with no windows to open but the slinding entrance door. Even considering the Tofino price levels, we felt we were overpaying.
Also, the place needs some paint.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Profigast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Tofino is expensive but this place is good value as you can self cater. It has the most beautiful view over the sea and islands and is located overlooking the crab dock so you may be able to buy seafood from there if the right boat is in. There are other nearby source of seafood as well.
We were the only guests who had not been before but the unexpected pleasure was the other guests, most of who had been coming regularly for years. It is a sociable place with most people cooking and chatting in the large kitchen/dining/living room area. We ate fabulous crab and shrimp, other guests helped/guided us in preparation and cooking.
You can manage in Tofino without a car, there is a bus service from the ferries and a beach bus as well although life is easier with a car. Some people come with their own boat to fish. The rooms are basic but fine - we only needed them to sleep in. You have to pay in cash.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Tofino is one of my favorite places on this planet and I've been there 8-10 times over the last 20 years. Luckily it hasn't changed too much. Last May I went there with my sister and mother for my mother's 70th birthday and it couldn't have been more wonderful. It was their first time in Tofino and all of us loved staying at the Swell Lodge for this special occasion.

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and comfortable, with spectacular views of the inlet (my favorite side.) We had the common areas to ourselves and loved preparing meals in the well equipped kitchen while enjoying the views (aah, those views) through the floor to ceiling windows. The weather was on the cool side otherwise we would have loved to spend time on the deck or in the beautiful garden. The atmosphere at the lodge was very peaceful and idyllic.

And Chris & Betsy did a great job looking after us, making us feel very welcome and not minding resetting the internet for us a few times! Chris also took us around the inlet on his boat which was spectacular and one of my mother's favorite moments.

Tofino is worth a trip in itself but a place like the Swell Lodge will make it perfect for you!

Thank you Chris & Betsy

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gipsylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews