We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tofino Swell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tofino Swell Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Garson ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Different and nice”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

View of the ocean was really nice. Was interesting to watch the boats go by. The room was small and very clean. Twin beds you don't see every day. No fridge no phone no microwave....but not really needed. The little village is close by and everything is there that you would need.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went here because they were pet friendly and located on the bay. Wow, what a nice view: boats on docks, then Meares Island and then in the far background tall mountains. What is really special is the communal kitchen and eating area. It is really well appointed and a nice opportunity to save money cooking for yourself and meeting other guests. I met an artist/paleontologist from Texas and we exchanged Facebook pages to keep in touch. The Inn has a series of outdoor terraces to eat or enjoy the view on. There are a couple of bbq's on them also. The owner offers charter fishing which we didn't avail ourselves of. They only have a few rooms, so it is very intimate if you are lucky enough to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slocomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were so impressed with this lodge. The views were fabulous. Everything was very clean and well kept. We took our little dog and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The common room kitchen is well appointed and the common room is a great place to relax and enjoy the view. We used the hot tub. It was clean and was a great way to end the day while taking in the view.
I will stay there again. It was great value for money if you want a relaxing stay without all the luxury pampering and big price tag. It was a great find.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms that face the ocean on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treefrogs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Swell, and found the accommodation well appointed, but tired. This is primarily a fishing lodge catering to people who care less about pristine 'au courant' design than clean and practical amenities and a relaxing atmosphere.
The bed was comfortable and fresh, but the room was very musty, and I squashed several ants on the dresser. The shower was good and hot, and the towels fresh, but the bathroom seriously needed updating and there was a very messy caulking job all around the perimeter that highlighted the poor handy-man type of finish work that really will only get worse with time.
Our host was friendly and welcoming, and the view outstanding, but if you are looking for posh, this ain't it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We had a blast at the swell. We stayed here to fish and had the best time. Everybody welcomed us as family and treated us wonderful. This was my second stay and I will certainly be back. Book a fishing trip at the front desk and have a blast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeeter2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed here once in the past and found it to be nice, but it seems that the service has gone down hill as our most recent stay was not pleasant. The hot tub became 'partied out' by other guests and had to be refilled so we did not have use of it for our stay (which has always been one of the main reasons we come here). Also we had to continually fight for parking near the lodge as the lot was full, and then to top it off the room cleaner started cleaning our room and packing up all of our belongings while we were out one day as she had been given misinformation about our stay. Overall it is a beautiful location at a reasonable price, but only if they increase their level of customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Swell Lodge, Tofino, BC presents the traveller with a truly “fishing lodge” experience. This is not a place for pampering spa types that want the west coast experience. No, this caters to the sports person, being it hiking, surfing or, more likely, fishing. The rooms are very clean and comfortable albeit sparsely furnished. A common area upstairs (or in some cases beside) provides a very well stocked kitchen, dining and living room area for meal preparation, etc. You must bring your own here including such things as cream and sugar for coffee and the like. But all else is supplied. Courtesy dictates you clean up after yourself. This does present some noise issues as early risers prepare breakfast, especially for those upstairs rooms adjoining the common area. Outside is a very nice deck area, a hot tub and a lower sitting area around a fire pit. There is a grass area with pleasant garden which lead onto a rather rustic dock where your boat can be moored. The operators, like their guests, are laid back and provide you with a very friendly visit.
Again, not for the trendy spa types looking for the storm swells, but I would not hesitate to encourage you to visit this well priced west coast lodge.

Room Tip: Bring a cooler to keep your perishables cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
3.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Swell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Swell Lodge

Property: Tofino Swell Lodge
Address: 341 Olson, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tofino Swell Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts of the waterfront Tofino Swell Lodge are Betsy and Chris. They offer seven rooms, each named after a local species of salmon. Your stay comes complete with inviting common areas, fully equipped kitchen, picturesque gardens, a patio with BBQ and a hot tub looking into Clayoquot Sound. From the lodge Chris also operates Tofino Sports Fishing; join Chris on a fishing charter, scenic cruise or bird watching tour. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tofino Swell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tofino Swell Lodge Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing