We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tofino Swell Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tofino Swell Lodge
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This was a real gem in our estimation. The room was nothing fancy. It was clean and functional. The outstanding thing here is the location and grounds of the property. It is quiet located away from the high activity in Tofino. It is right beside the Tofino Harbour (Armitage Point) pier. Just out the door and down a short street and you can walk out on the pier. There is a very large well equipped common room and kitchen with a to die for view of the waterfront. There is also a hot tub which is nice after a days sightseeing. It is just a short drive to the stores of Tofino. Would not hesitate to stay here again. A great experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the water is a plus and is also close to the hot tub. The rooms have names Sockeye, Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

WOW!
This was one of the nicest places we have EVER stayed in while traveling - PERIOD.
It looks deceiving when you drive into an unmarked gravel driveway. BUT wait until you see the view from the deck as you register at the Office.
The rooms for sleeping are quaint, and bathrooms spotless. It's the REST of the facilities you have access to, that make this A-For-Sure-place to book.
It's a large home converted into separate rooms.
Leaving a magnificent common room for reading/visiting/TV/and an open concept kitchen area for your cooking.
WELL appointed with all the appliances, dishes, cookware, and more. You have access to two refrigerators for storing your food, and an outdoor deck in case eating outside is what you want.
The decks are multi level, and lead down to a beautifully crafted BBQ area with a large drum for that outdoor fire by the sea.
I can't say enough about Chris, who assists Betsy in this oasis.
The grounds are gorgeous and the views at sunset were breath taking.
OH, did I mention the outdoor hot tub?
Quiet beyond belief with a cross breeze when you open the windows, you'll feel like you slipped away for that rest, and, a reprieve from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Stay above ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the end of August - yes you could call the place quaint, bohemian, different .... whatever but for the money it was not a great experience! The rooms left much to be desired and in our party we had 2 rooms so this is not just based on one night in one room. On the surface they were clean enough but you didnt really feel that you wanted to walk barefoot on the carpets. The bedding was clean but for the money we were charged it could at least have all matched - real mish mash of sheets in various colours and obviously all the bedding had seen better days. The owner couldnt have seem less interested in our stay as long as she was paid for the room - she didnt even bother to show us to the room. It was raining and all the outside paths to the rooms were extremely slippery when wet and it would have been even better if she had provided some sort of lighting along the paths or even a torch - really quite treacherous trying to get to the room with luggage in the dark. We were in Canada for 3 weeks and stayed in some lovely hotels - we really couldnt wait to get out of this one.

Room Tip: If you really feel that you have to stay here do make sure you get one of the rooms on the front wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djm53london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garson ON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

View of the ocean was really nice. Was interesting to watch the boats go by. The room was small and very clean. Twin beds you don't see every day. No fridge no phone no microwave....but not really needed. The little village is close by and everything is there that you would need.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went here because they were pet friendly and located on the bay. Wow, what a nice view: boats on docks, then Meares Island and then in the far background tall mountains. What is really special is the communal kitchen and eating area. It is really well appointed and a nice opportunity to save money cooking for yourself and meeting other guests. I met an artist/paleontologist from Texas and we exchanged Facebook pages to keep in touch. The Inn has a series of outdoor terraces to eat or enjoy the view on. There are a couple of bbq's on them also. The owner offers charter fishing which we didn't avail ourselves of. They only have a few rooms, so it is very intimate if you are lucky enough to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slocomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were so impressed with this lodge. The views were fabulous. Everything was very clean and well kept. We took our little dog and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The common room kitchen is well appointed and the common room is a great place to relax and enjoy the view. We used the hot tub. It was clean and was a great way to end the day while taking in the view.
I will stay there again. It was great value for money if you want a relaxing stay without all the luxury pampering and big price tag. It was a great find.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms that face the ocean on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treefrogs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Swell, and found the accommodation well appointed, but tired. This is primarily a fishing lodge catering to people who care less about pristine 'au courant' design than clean and practical amenities and a relaxing atmosphere.
The bed was comfortable and fresh, but the room was very musty, and I squashed several ants on the dresser. The shower was good and hot, and the towels fresh, but the bathroom seriously needed updating and there was a very messy caulking job all around the perimeter that highlighted the poor handy-man type of finish work that really will only get worse with time.
Our host was friendly and welcoming, and the view outstanding, but if you are looking for posh, this ain't it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Swell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Swell Lodge

Property: Tofino Swell Lodge
Address: 341 Olson, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tofino Swell Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts of the waterfront Tofino Swell Lodge are Betsy and Chris. They offer seven rooms, each named after a local species of salmon. Your stay comes complete with inviting common areas, fully equipped kitchen, picturesque gardens, a patio with BBQ and a hot tub looking into Clayoquot Sound. From the lodge Chris also operates Tofino Sports Fishing; join Chris on a fishing charter, scenic cruise or bird watching tour. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tofino Swell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tofino Swell Lodge Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing