We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamie's Rainforest Inn(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tofino Motel HarbourView(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cox Bay Beach Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$299
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Beach Lodge(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Duffin Cove Oceanfront Lodging(Tofino)(Great Value!)
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
17
14
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
14
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitebran muffinsshared kitchenprivate bathroomdouble roomcommon roomhostelcanada
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The lodge is basically a hostel, which is fine, but instead it was priced as a luxury hotel. The location is lovely--in the woods--and the design of the building is rustic and natural. However, the rooms very extremely overpriced.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which included a queen bed and a bunkbed, as well as a sofa and chair, a desk, a sink, and a bathroom. We had not been able to find out any information about the bed arrangements in the suite, only that it slept four. We had three adults. The bunkbed was not at all comfortable for an adult and the room was certainly not on par for a $200 per night suite. We were very disappointed.

Breakfasts included bread and jam, fruit and homemade muffins (which were quite good). It would have been nice to have had cheese, meat, eggs or some other type of protein.

It is a bit of a distance from the "downtown" of Tofino, so a car would be needed unless you are a long-distance walker or have a bicycle.

There seemed to be no regular staff at the front desk. The only time we saw a staff member was when breakfast was being prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Tofino as a family. We stayed one night at the Ecolodge as we liked the idea of the botanical gardens, and the room was within our price range. The check in was smooth, and the front desk help was amazing (the same girl worked both days we were there) - she was very welcoming and made a delicious breakfast in the morning! The gardens were beautiful, and we explored them in the evening with a drink while they played classical music throughout. We stayed in the garden suite which was very comfortable apart from the bed, it was pretty squeaky and hard - and unfortunately the paper thin walls are kind of a deal-breaker for us (which makes me really sad!) We could hear the conversation from the family above as though they were in the same room as us.

So, if you don't care about the noise - we really recommend the Ecolodge. And if you go, make sure you get something from Darwin's Café which is on the same grounds as the Ecolodge. It's one of the cutest cafés I've been to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We booked two nights at the Ecolodge. There were 4 of us sharing the Forest Suite, me, my husband and my two sons aged 12 and 14. The room was very comfortable and warm with an ensuite. There was only one other guest whilst we were there, so it was very quiet.

We all loved the breakfast of porridge (oatmeal) and bran muffins. The staff were friendly and helpful and my sons loved playing with the owner's dog 'Pete'. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Forest Suite was ideal for a family of 4.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra day. Everything is clean, cool with a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. There is free access anytime to the gorgeous gardens which are temperate rain forest and are next to the sea and mudflats.
Lots of beautiful Pacific beaches close by.
Not ensuite so a bit expensive, but good breakfast included and excellent showers, and there is a really good kitchen to make your own food if you want to.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have access to the gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Don't expect a bedroom like the one shown on the website. The location itself is nice and it was high season, but paying CAD 149.00 plus taxes and not being able to sleep is unacceptable. The concept of sharing the kitchen and bathrooms was OK since it was the deal, but “eco” should not mean an old bed with a worn out noisy box spring, and a more noise due to thin walls. In fact, some people went to sleep in their cars. Bathrobes and slippers were less than inviting. Food smell was everywhere including in bedding. This is a lodge, but being cheaper should not mean less than decent accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Camaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George P, Owner at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Camaci,

We are sorry to hear that the Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and will do our utmost to address the concerns you have raised. The bathrobes and slippers provided to guests are laundered between each stay, and we have inspected each bed frame to tighten them where necessary. While none of our mattresses or box springs are more than two years old (since our extensive 2010 renovation), again, we're sorry they did not meet your needs. We hope that you will give us a try again in the future, but regardless, we hope you will come back to enjoy the beaches, scenery and community of Tofino. Please contact me directly at info@tbgf.org should you have any more feedback or wish to reply to this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor.

--George P., Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews