We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lots of opportunity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lots of opportunity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

It IS like a hostel, but to my surprise, i didn't even mind sharing the bathrooms..hot water, very clean, perfectly usable and convenient. Our room was basic but pleasant, lots of light, just enough space and clean. Again to my surprise, I really enjoyed the communal living areas downstairs, eating at big tables..et fok form UK and Europe and..., and missed it when the next day we stayed at a more conventional motel..where i felt stuck in my room!.
Darwin's cafe is a total plus - great fresh food, and lovely atmosphere--for reading, sitting,waiting for the others, chatting if so inclined...botanical gardens entrance included in hotel cost...sorry, but didn't at all take to the rather wierd botanical gardens, but appreciated trails to the mudflats. Staff was helpful and pleasant. I'd go back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 weeks for a yoga teacher training program in September. The staff at the lodge and in Darwin's Cafe were really amazing and easy to talk to. They worked really hard to accommodate all the needs of our big group. Towels and housecoats are provided and beach towels can also be borrowed. The shared living space is super comfy and blankets are available to snuggle up in. Laundry was available at $2/wash $2/dry. The kitchen space is really great and fully equipped. Darwin's cafe has a really great healthy menu and the Gardens are beautiful to walk through and enjoy the incredible nature Tofino has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

The lodge is basically a hostel, which is fine, but instead it was priced as a luxury hotel. The location is lovely--in the woods--and the design of the building is rustic and natural. However, the rooms very extremely overpriced.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, which included a queen bed and a bunkbed, as well as a sofa and chair, a desk, a sink, and a bathroom. We had not been able to find out any information about the bed arrangements in the suite, only that it slept four. We had three adults. The bunkbed was not at all comfortable for an adult and the room was certainly not on par for a $200 per night suite. We were very disappointed.

Breakfasts included bread and jam, fruit and homemade muffins (which were quite good). It would have been nice to have had cheese, meat, eggs or some other type of protein.

It is a bit of a distance from the "downtown" of Tofino, so a car would be needed unless you are a long-distance walker or have a bicycle.

There seemed to be no regular staff at the front desk. The only time we saw a staff member was when breakfast was being prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We just got back from our first trip to Tofino as a family. We stayed one night at the Ecolodge as we liked the idea of the botanical gardens, and the room was within our price range. The check in was smooth, and the front desk help was amazing (the same girl worked both days we were there) - she was very welcoming and made a delicious breakfast in the morning! The gardens were beautiful, and we explored them in the evening with a drink while they played classical music throughout. We stayed in the garden suite which was very comfortable apart from the bed, it was pretty squeaky and hard - and unfortunately the paper thin walls are kind of a deal-breaker for us (which makes me really sad!) We could hear the conversation from the family above as though they were in the same room as us.

So, if you don't care about the noise - we really recommend the Ecolodge. And if you go, make sure you get something from Darwin's Café which is on the same grounds as the Ecolodge. It's one of the cutest cafés I've been to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We booked two nights at the Ecolodge. There were 4 of us sharing the Forest Suite, me, my husband and my two sons aged 12 and 14. The room was very comfortable and warm with an ensuite. There was only one other guest whilst we were there, so it was very quiet.

We all loved the breakfast of porridge (oatmeal) and bran muffins. The staff were friendly and helpful and my sons loved playing with the owner's dog 'Pete'. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Forest Suite was ideal for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra day. Everything is clean, cool with a very relaxed and informal atmosphere. There is free access anytime to the gorgeous gardens which are temperate rain forest and are next to the sea and mudflats.
Lots of beautiful Pacific beaches close by.
Not ensuite so a bit expensive, but good breakfast included and excellent showers, and there is a really good kitchen to make your own food if you want to.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have access to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Don't expect a bedroom like the one shown on the website. The location itself is nice and it was high season, but paying CAD 149.00 plus taxes and not being able to sleep is unacceptable. The concept of sharing the kitchen and bathrooms was OK since it was the deal, but “eco” should not mean an old bed with a worn out noisy box spring, and a more noise due to thin walls. In fact, some people went to sleep in their cars. Bathrobes and slippers were less than inviting. Food smell was everywhere including in bedding. This is a lodge, but being cheaper should not mean less than decent accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George P, Owner at The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Camaci,

We are sorry to hear that the Ecolodge at Tofino Botanical Gardens did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and will do our utmost to address the concerns you have raised. The bathrobes and slippers provided to guests are laundered between each stay, and we have inspected each bed frame to tighten them where necessary. While none of our mattresses or box springs are more than two years old (since our extensive 2010 renovation), again, we're sorry they did not meet your needs. We hope that you will give us a try again in the future, but regardless, we hope you will come back to enjoy the beaches, scenery and community of Tofino. Please contact me directly at info@tbgf.org should you have any more feedback or wish to reply to this. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Tripadvisor.

--George P., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.5 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens

Property: The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens
Address: 1084 Pacific Rim Highway | PO Box 886, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Clayoquot Field Station at the Tofino Botanical Gardens)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens provides beautiful, comfortable, accommodations while maintaining respect for the environment. Our vibrant common areas promote shared ideas, shared experiences and even shared meals. With our 12-acre gardens at your front door and our natural history library, we provide everything the conscious traveler needs to discover the nature of Tofino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ecolodge at the Tofino Botanical Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ecolodge At The Tofino Botanical Gardens Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing