We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvey House”
Review of Harvey House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harvey House B&B
Ranked #5 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Harvey House”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Harvey House, really lovely b&b. Room very comfortable, well appointed - we felt part of the rain Forest. Breakfast served in the room, excellent. Owners Nicky and Chris are very friendly and give good advice and recommendations of things to do and places to eat (they even booked for us! - Shelter restaurant is a must!)

Room Tip: We were in the Rainforest Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
332
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent two nights at the Harvey House last week and were completely blown away by the experience. Chris and Nicky were phenomenal hosts - helpful and friendly without being intrusive. They truly have a beautiful home in a surreal location on Chesterman beach. As others have described, it is just a short walk to the beach and we enjoyed the peace and serenity of the forested views.

The suite itself was fantastic - gorgeous bathroom with heated floors, comfortable bed, nice sitting area for breakfast. But it was the subtle touches that really impressed us. Umbrella, flashlight for late night walks, milk for coffees and water bottles in the fridge. Very thoughtful and the gestures didn't go unnoticed.

Breakfasts were fantastic - absolutely delicious food that tasted like it just came out of the oven. Delicious fresh fruit and juice as well. We truly were spoiled and loved the fact that we could eat in our room and enjoy the privacy!

It was a memorable trip as we got engaged while we were there, but the experience was made even more special thanks to our amazing hosts. We will be back for sure to celebrate future anniversaries. Thank you again Chris and Nicky!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, Bucks
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a brilliant find! We stayed in the turret suite for 6 nights back in June and it was easily the best B&B experience we have ever had. Everything is clean, modern and spacious and room was just beautifully done. Huge comfy bed, beautiful views all around of the rainforest. Massive bathroom with freestanding bath, double sized shower and two sinks.
Everything you need is provided - beach towels, coffee maker, fridge, dvd player etc.

Fantastic location just a few minutes from Chesterman beach.

Chris and Nicky the hosts were great and provided loads of information and the breakfasts were to die for. I am still missing them...........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katkuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed twice at this Bed and Breakfast (Chesterman Room) in a span of 1 month. The suite was spotless and very modern. The hosts were very kind and warm. Breakfast was outstanding and served in the privacy of our own room. We loved the selection of complimentary movies (All great titles), and the considerable thought and care the owners put into this business. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Wow! What a wonderful "find". Harvey House embodies everything that a perfect B and B should entail. Amazing location, literally meters from Chesterman's beach in Tofino, gracious hosts, who not only understood our need for privacy, but were so personable and helpful in suggesting great dining experiences within the area, and organizing trips on our behalf, that we wanted to hang out with them for our entire three day stay. Our room (the Turret room) was spacious and bright but the incredible en suite bathroom took it to a different level.

One of the highlights, however, was breakfast; served every morning in our room, together with the menu, weather report and tide times.They were not only absolutely delicious but eliminated those ghastly breakfasts so often "demanded" by more B and B's where guests have to sit at a table with 8 strangers at 8.30 in the morning where you can hear a pin drop!

Thank you, Nicky and Chris. You have definitely found your calling!

Room Tip: The Turret room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently spent a couple of nights in the Rainforest Suite at the Harvey House B&B and couldn't have been happier. We took a chance and sent an email to Chris and Nicky to see if they had any last minute cancellations and were delighted to find they could accommodate us. Our hosts were professional, courteous, communicative and very accommodating throughout our stay.

The room was clean, well-designed and comfortable. They had WIFI access, a mini fridge and a few dishes for any meals or snacks.

If anything, stay here for the breakfasts! We were totally blown away with the meals. Fresh-baked buns, croissants and muffins on a rotating menu. Fresh and delicious.

We needed to eat early and hit the road one morning and they were able to provide us with our meal an hour earlier than usual. Now that's exactly what I meant by 'very accommodating'. A first-class stay; we would definitely stay with them again.

Thanks Chris and Nicky!

Trevor and Gagan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We spent four nights here recently in the Rainforest Suite. I had originally wanted to book one of the bigger suites, the Rainforest being the smallest but could not, due to availability. However on arrival we couldn't have been happier and our stay really was a highlight of our visit to Canada. The suite was spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything we could need. We loved our delicious, home baked breakfasts delivered to the privacy of our room and Chris and Nicky were perfect hosts - available and on hand for travel advice but unobtrusive. The location of this charming B and B couldn't be better - right opposite Chesterman Beach.

Travelling extensively with work, I don't give glowing reviews without real reason and also - on principle - only review places, activities and restaurants that we feel are 4 or 5 star. This is an absolute treasure of place and one I hope we will come back to. I will certainly treasure the picture that I acquired while I was there of the beach (a photograph taken by Chris who is obviously talented in this area too!) with incredibly fond memories. Thanks and best wishes to Nicky and Chris.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
BriMar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House B&B

Property: Harvey House B&B
Address: 1310 Lynn Road | PO Box 150, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three luxurious suites nestled in the rainforest just steps across the lane from Tofino's magnificent Chesterman Beach. All rooms have queen beds, fireplaces, en-suite bathrooms with slate tile and underfloor heating, flat screen TVs, DVDs, tea and coffee making facilities, private phone and wireless internet access. Our largest, most romantic suite also has private, sunny, balcony and dramatic free-standing double soaker tub. Deluxe continental breakfast delivered to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harvey House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey House B&B Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing