We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Tranquil Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites
Ranked #13 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
535 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“A Very Tranquil Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

If you are looking for a place away from the madding Tofino crowds, this peaceful setting could be for you. Michelle is very warm and helpful. Our room, a bit dark, was well furnished and had a kitchenette where it is possible to cook a full-blown meal if required. This is not a bird sanctuary in the truest sense of the word, but the bird feeders do attract a wide range of birds and we very much enjoyed watching them.

Room Tip: Upper floor at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we just stayed 6 nights at Cobble Wood and loved it. The location is perfect--not in town so very quiet and yet a 8 minute walk to the sunset on a beautiful little horseshoe cove--also 5 minute walk to Live to Surf Plaza where there's home made chocolate and gelato--great vegertarian wraps and bowls--best fish tacos on the planet--and a great surf rental company as well as video rentals and very reasonable boike rentals run by a super guy named Allen--you can bike into town in about 12 minutes--bike to the botanical gardens or walk in about 4 minutes--the grounds are very nice and the beds comforatable--the kitchen well supplied and the sound or mourning doves is haunting--

We stayed in the Golden Dawn and i imagine it is similar to all the suites--one bedrrom--kitchen--bath and shower and roomy living room with big screen/dvd as well as a solid wireless connection.

The only reason i don't give it the 5 stars i should give it is our suite was above the washer/dryer/garage and between the garage door opening and closing and the laundry machines working there was a bit of noise--especially during siesta time--but we never said anything--i'm sure if we did Ken or Michelle would have adjusted the schedule--they are really wonderful--

all in all a great place to stay in tofino--highly recommended! We will be back this winter.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The owners were very hospitable and understanding for our needs. We had a good time and the annual Tofino Food and Wine fest is a 2 minute stumble away at the Tofino Botanical Gardens. The high ceiling and spacious living room area made it a very comfy stay.

Room Tip: For maximum comfort choose one of the upper suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Nestled in a quiet spot surrounded by nature and 5 mins from the beach.The suite was clean and had everything we needed from towels to pots and cutlery. Its the little details that make a stay special and the Cobble Wood is a quaint and special little place. On top of that the owners we very nice and super helpful. Five gold stars!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at the Kingfisher Suite and absolutely loved it! So spacious and excellent for 2-4 people. The place was so clean and the bed was cozy. Also included a pull out sofa bed, super comfy too. Amazing owners & very accommodating. A lovely, spacious yard which includes a BBQ and a nice place to have lunch or dinner outside. We were able to use the fire pit as well and the owner assisted us in starting the fire. Loved this place a lot! Perfect location, walking distance from the beach! THANK YOU! Great experience. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khalida F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This was a nice spot not far from the center of Tofino. We stayed in the Sunset Cedars suite with a kitchenette.
The room was clean and comfortable and the service from the staff was very good, with the owner showing my husband how to smoke wild salmon on the BBQ with cedar planks, delicious!
When one of the burners on the stove top was not working it was promptly replaced with another.
It was lovely to have hummingbirds right outside the window feeding from the bird feeder, great photo opportunities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom/one bathroom suite on the upper floor of this guesthouse in mid-July. A car is necessary, it's a 5-10 minute drive to Tofino, public beaches and hikes. This is not on the beach. There is a beach for the campgrounds across the highway, about 10-15 minutes walk, with no public parking. The suite was clean and bright, warm in the late afternoon sun but with a ceiling fan and very quiet tucked away on its gravel road. We spotted many hummingbirds from the balcony. The kitchen was well-equipped and there was wifi and a TV. Use of an outdoor barbeque, picnic table, and large yard was shared with guests in 3 other suites, without problems. Normally I have stayed in hotels on the beach, but this trip was with a friend's family, so the guesthouse was a better choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdecastell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites

Property: Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites
Address: 1110 Fellowship Drive | PO Box 668, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the West coast cedars and well located near beaches, botanical gardens and bird sanctuary, "Cobble Wood and Bird Sanctuary Guesthouses" offer rest, tranquility and privacy for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Our self-contained couples or family suites and our new 2 or 3 bedroom home directly backing the bird sanctuary, offer either a full kitchen or kitchenette, fireplaces and separate entrances. All suites have wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD cable and phone, some feature heated floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cobble Wood Guesthouse and Bird Sanctuary House & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobble Wood Guesthouse And Bird Sanctuary House & Suites Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing