We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectation at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses
Ranked #8 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectation at all”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I agree with most reviews about the nice ambience of Cobblewood but I would never stay here again for the following reasons:

1) The bedsheets and pillow cases were as rough as sand paper.The sheets were old and in my decades of travelling, I have never slept in such horrific bed sheets. Not kidding. I requested for a change as we booked for a 3 nights stay. The staff said that they ran out of bed sheets and suggested I place my own t-shirt over it..

2) The bath tub did not have a bath mat and my folks (in their 70's) felt that the tub was too slippery for them. The staff said that they didn't have bath mats and suggested that they placed a towel on the tub while showering.

4) The rooms were on the second floor, and the staff failed to highlight this to us. Our folks had trouble getting up and down the stairs.

5) As mentioned, our stay was for the duration of 3 nights./4days. Apparently, cleaning was not included in the price of CAD$200/night.. No one came in to clean our rooms, and refill the coffee/tea bags the entire time.

3) Forget about staying here if you do not have a car. The drive to town was at least 10-15mins.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilar, Owner at Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Though we appreciate all reviews from our valued guests, this review is unfortunately a misrepresentation of both our excellent, professional, carefully chosen, caretakers and of the product that we offer.

As we are an approved accommodation, we are inspected regularly for safety, cleanliness and product which includes, among other things, the non-slip tub surfaces, bedding and bathmats.

This suite is brand new as are the sheets. To suggest that our caretakers would ask guests to use their own t-shirts as cover slips would be completely out of character. One can easily see by ALL other reviews that the kind of care given to our guest’s needs by our manager/caretakers is exemplary.

As a kindness to our guests, we offer a "Welcome basket" of hot beverages and some condiments.
Though a confirmation was sent to these guests detailing the self-contained, self-catered suite with full kitchen that they had rented, stating what is, and is not provided, these guests somehow mistook this kind gesture of a welcome basket to be that we would somehow provide beverages for all of them for the length of their stay. This is not the case.

As we value the privacy of our guests, by the request of the guest we do offer in suite cleaning during the stay. No such request was made.

We have found over the years that those with legitimate special needs always ensure that they inquire prior to booking regarding their needs. That way we can offer an appropriate suite for them at our facility, or if not, we can steer them to a facility that can help them more appropriately. At no time in the numerous phone calls before the booking, nor during the stay, was it ever mentioned that stairs were a difficulty for the parents traveling with these guests. Photos online of the suite also show the staircase which would have been an indicator should that have been a problem for them.

We are located in an peaceful area where the beaches are 5-10 min 'walk' as is a plaza with restaurants, shops and surf rentals and the botanical gardens. To suggest that a car be necessary is a misrepresentation of what is available nearby our establishment.

It is our aim to do our very best to provide a wonderful experience with great accommodation for all our guests.

Thank you.
Michele ( owner )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed for one day in this lovely suit and it was Awesome. The place is new, clean, very quite, close to beaches, staff are very friendly, kind and helpful. The price is reasonable when traveling as family or friends. I will definitely stay there again when I come to Tofino.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This lovely apartment style complex offers style beauty and comfort. Complete with fully equiped kitchen, spacious living and dining area with two separate bedrooms, stylish linens and plenty of storage give this vacation spot a welcome feel after a full day of activities. Floor to ceiling windows only add to the beauty and openess. The fireplace although a lovely focal point, was not required due to the soaring temperatures, but surely a conveinance on a cooler evening. A very homey feeling from the moment you walk in the door. I would highly recommend this facility and I am certain you too will enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iriene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2009

My wife and our twin 16 month old boys were looking for economical accommodation in Tofino, so we could take part in my uncle's 75th birthday celebration. The Cobble Wood Guesthouse (the Bird Sanctuary House is across the road) is located in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of beautiful beaches and only a five minute drive to the town of Tofino. We were in the 1 bdrm, Golden Dawn Suite, which was in the top floor of the house and looked out into the trees lined the property. The suite had a full kitchen (fridge, stove, microwave, blender, coffee maker, coffee grinder, etc.) and the walk-in closet in the bedroom was large enough that we were able to set up both our boys portable cribs in it. The signal for the wireless internet was very week, but we were able to check email, and search for a kid-friendly lunch spot in town. The manager was very friendly and the unit was well kept and clean when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corshek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed in the Garden Jacuzzi suite and it was very comfortable. Very nice entry way and private, however we were unaware as someone else mentioned, that the suite was attached to the owner's residence. Not sure about the other suites, but this one was quite awkward. I'll explain: there is a nice jacuzzi tub but we were unaware that this suite does not come with a shower. One normally assumes that a shower is in all suites since not all people enjoy taking a bath to clean themselves. This was the one major downside. Also if cooking for yourself, be aware that the only sink to clean dishes in is the bathroom sink - again a bit awkward. Besides this, the suite was very nice, we enjoyed the use of a gas fireplace which made the room very cozy. Beata was very nice and helpful in booking activities for us and helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Definitely a plus. As for location, it's about a 5 minute drive into the city, but if you want to walk it, it's a bit far. The place is on the opposite side of the main road from the coast, so a 10 min walk to the closest beach is required. Overall not bad if you don't mind driving around everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fieromunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2009

As has been said by other reviewers, Beata was wonderful! We were planning for a gathering with 3 families and she was very helpful deciding how to arrange everyone. she went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, without being intrusive at all. One thing we didn't like was the pony wall between the living and bedrooms, you could hear everything through it. Also, we weren't aware from the website that the suites are connected to the owner's house - you could hear laundry and the dog barking through the wall. It definitely has a B&B feel to it, with the suites close to each other. it is ideal for more than one family traveling together, because you can be close but still have privacy.The setting was nice and quiet, and close to McKenzie beach- there were lovely little sitting areas outside. Overall, a pleasant experience. The extremely reasonable price, especially for the area was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We had sleuthed out possibilities in tofino and narrowed it down to a couple. After talking with beata it was confirmed that this was perfect spot. It's walkable from the beach (which is a perk) has kitchen, option of BBQ, lounge chairs around a firepit, EXCELLENT service by beata, her husband michael, and owners.
Would return on next trip for sure and recommend it totally. The only reason the room doesn't get a perfect score is because they exist in loft form (ie the wall doesn't meet the ceiling) which could make it difficult to settle young ones into bed (noise factor) All else was terrific.
thanks beata, michael and Ken (sorry I didn't meet your wife formally)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.7 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
314 reviews
2.0 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses

Property: Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses
Address: 1110 Fellowship Drive, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the West coast cedars and well located near beaches, botanical gardens and bird sanctuary, "Cobble Wood and Bird Sanctuary Guesthouses" offer rest, tranquility and privacy for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Our self-contained couples or family suites and our new 2 bedroom home directly backing the bird sanctuary, offer either a full kitchen or kitchenette, fireplaces and separate entrances. All suites have high speed wireless internet, TV/VCR/DVD cable and phone, some feature heated floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobble Wood & Bird Sanctuary Guest Houses Tofino, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing