We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING. WORTH THE VISIT.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ice House Oyster Bar

Ice House Oyster Bar
Ranked #4 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS AMAZING. WORTH THE VISIT.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

One of the best new restaurants in Tofino. First of all, the location and the water view are hard to beat, since it is over the water. Whether you sit inside or outside, you will get the best water views, especially if you enjoy watching the Seaplanes take off and land. If not, then you can enjoy watching the boats enter and exit the Harbor while enjoying great food. We started our visit with the ICE cold White Bark beer on Tap which was the best. Our Primary reason for the visit were the RAW oysters and we tried every kind of oyster they had which were delicious. The next item we had off the menu were the Calamari. This dish was amazing to say the least, so make sure you order it when you visit. We've tried Calamari at every restaurant we've eaten, and these were the best we've ever had. The Staff was great and very attentive. The Chef and the manager were awesome, and they both stopped by our table. This place had a laid back, cool vibe with nice music playing. We can't wait until our next visit, so we can try some of the other delicious items off the menu. We definitely recommend the Ice House, and you won't be disappointed. One last thing, to find the place go down First street to main, then make a left on Main St. You will go down one block, then take right down the hill to the Pier where the restaurant is located on the Pier.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLERSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    74
    22
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow and overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We really wanted to support this establishment after hearing they had only been open for two weeks. After seeing the other reviews maybe we were just unlucky...just a few constructive criticisms for the Ice House...

1) It should not take one hour for fish and chips - and the 'frites' should be fresh (not lukewarm and almost stale) for $20
2) If you offer to make a young child a plate of pasta to entice a family to try your restaurant - don't take an hour to deliver warm to cold alfredo for $12! Most restaurants get that kids eat a little and can't wait forever. A side order is all that is required.
3) If you are a new restaurant - seek out customers especially when it is slow and make sure they feel well taken care of. After visiting a new place in Hawaii earlier this year, we have a new expectation of what restaurant management/owners can do to make sure their guests recommend them heartily and return often. The nonchalant approach gets old fast.

Our waitress did not check on us at all after we ordered, even with the long delay in getting lunch (there were only two other tables being served) Other than the crazy slow service and cold food the location is fantastic and I am sure there are lots of great choices on the menu - we just didn't have that experience and would never go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marty K, Guest Relations Manager at Ice House Oyster Bar, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
We are sorry that we had dropped the ball for you folks. We are dedicated to providing the best experience and we are sad that didn't occur for you folks. We thank you for you kind words and constructive criticism. We promise to make your next visit a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great potential!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Myself and some friends visited the Ice House for dinner last week. When we arrived we were told they were out of propane and everything would be cooked on the BBQ. No problem. Most of us ordered burgers anyway! After a little wait our food arrived. Personally mine was OK but a few people in our party had quite overdone meat and were not too happy. They voiced their concerns to our waitress and then to one of the other staff members who was either the manager or head chef I think. He was very apologetic and offered us all a free round of drinks. Instead of then leaving after our meal then we stuck around for an excellent coffee / chocolate torte. The views here are spectacular, the prices are reasonable, and although they still seem to be ironing out a few things, I think the future looks promising for this restaurant and I wish them all the very best. Looking forward to a return visit on my next trip to Tofino.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Else1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Very accommodating despite schedule - and fantastic food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We got to the restaurant shortly after 4pm, very famished after a very long day at work and did not realize that the brand new kitchen was closed for prep between 4 and 5 pm. Thanks to a very kind hostess, and a funny, and even kinder chef - we were treated to an amazing late lunch. The scallops were incredible and it was probably one of the best scallop dishes we both have had in our lives. Chef Robert Erickson was truly funny, and hospitable and came out to chat a couple of times despite my cranky disposition. The view was great, the wine selection, complimentary and the food and atmosphere, perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinbach MB
2 reviews
“The new best in the west”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing location on a working ice house wharf in Tofino. Sun, ocean, mountains...

The service was responsive and very friendly. Met the chef on the way out.

The food was exceptional in quality, presentation and creativeness. Oysters served fresh and plump properly chilled and on ice with a great red wine migonette, Salt Spring mussels plump and perfectly flavored - but the tour de force was the calamari - perfectly tender and sweet in an amazing ginger lime tempura spotted with smoked salmon candy.

We have been eating seafood non- stop for almost 2 weeks in a variety of great restaurants - this one was the best so far.

Helpful?
Thank KenRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ice House Oyster Bar also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Ice House Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing