We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Sushi, but not for me!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tough City Sushi

Tough City Sushi
Ranked #22 of 52 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
258 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great for Sushi, but not for me!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Sushi was terrific by what the others in our group said, but if you want something other than sushi, you are pretty much out of luck. I had Caesar Salad with chicken and it was good, but they need to expand menu for non sushi fans. Drinks were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huntlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    79
    27
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Me and some friends went out to this restaurant a couple of times while we were in Tofino. The sushi was fresh and flavourful. The california rolls with dungeness crab were superb. My friend really enjoyed the maki platter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic and fresh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Went here as per a recommendation and it was fantastic. You could taste how fresh the seafood was inside each delicious mortal of sushi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank esg772016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This place could serve cardboard and it would still be awesome. The view from the deck is absolutely amazing, and if you are lucky you will get to see Crazy Ron feed the eagle.

Oh, and the food and drinks...not too shabby.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoyalKangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good choice for Japanese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

While we were in Tofino we made a point of stopping in for lunch, on a co-worker's recommendation.

We decided to sit outside as the weather was nice. We ordered a Tuna and Salmon Sashimi, Edamame, Cucumber Avocado Roll, Chicken Kara-Age, Toro, two fresh oysters and the Spicy Tuna Roll... yeah I think that was it.

Overall food was great! The items came out at a good pace and the Sashimi was very fresh; much fresher than I'll ever see in Alberta.

Our server was good - friendly and somewhat attentive. I realize this is a small town and everyone probably knows one another but it does seem like some of the waitresses are a bit too casual. For instance, walking out the door and lighting up a smoke doesn't really seem professional and it kinda felt like their job was more of a hobby. I will say, we set our expectations for the food pretty low based on our impression.

But whatever, Tofino is a small town but the owners should note there are number of very good restaurants in a small area so maybe professionalism should be a higher priority.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YEGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tough City Sushi also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tough City Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing