We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 56 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Legendary Seafood & Steakhouse Locally owned, proudly destroying appetites since 1949. Casual dining, Fine dining, Oyster bar, Cocktails lounge and Tap house. Unrivalled ocean and mountain views. Great patio, centrally located.
Lantzville
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Nice atmosphere and comfortable seating including very pleasant staff. We enjoyed our supper very much which made it a lucky find for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glennys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    365
    101
    29
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Our adult daughter, her husband and our one year old grandson we're visiting Tofino and wanted a tasty, affordable lunch. After reviewing Trip Advisor, we decided on The Schooner. We were greeted promptly, seated immediately and a high chair was put in place without asking for it.

We asked for some fries to keep our grandson busy while we decided on lunch.

The menu is varied, and focuses on west coast staples. The food was delicious, service was courteous and prompt, and the bill was reasonable.

A good atmosphere and friendly staff made our lunch enjoyable. Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
Thank Sixweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best in Town!!!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

After visiting most of the Restaurants in town, including the Shelter this one came out on top, The food was wonderful and enough. Jessica who looked after us did a great job and made our dining experience even more pleasant. Left the restaurant feeling .that the visit had been well worth the time and the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0ts0g00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This ship has sailed! Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We used to enjoy this place but this year we were treated disrespectfully, the food was unremarkable and the prices ridiculous! For some strange reason they played Cuban music continuously for almost 2 hours, even though I remarked on it to the waiter. who told us it was their 'Playlist' - Buena Vista Social Club, on shuffle! The waiter really pushed the 'signature' dish, but it turned out to be almost tasteless. We noticed that the main lighting dimmed briefly from time to time, probably when their microwave was on high!

If they put as much effort into serving a good meal as they do in creating misleading videos they would achieve a higher rating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WRoverT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Went for dinner to celebrate a birthday with family group. They were attentive and professional
on all levels. I enquired about a birthday cake which I found out they don't do but were helpful with a plan to have a cake delivered and they would serve it. We all had different meals. All were awesome. Everyone happy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing