We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”

The Schooner Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 53 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Legendary Seafood & Steakhouse Locally owned, proudly destroying appetites since 1949. Casual dining, Fine dining, Oyster bar, Cocktails lounge and Tap house. Unrivalled ocean and mountain views. Great patio, centrally located.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good food. Staff really helpful and pleasant, atmosphere great.We went twice on our weeks holiday and would recommend it to all.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    340
    93
    27
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We came here for lunch and it was so good, we came back for dinner! Everything we had was very good and fresh, but I have to say the oysters Rockefeller were the MOST outstanding things I have ever seen or eaten! Coming from Houston, which is a food Mecca where you can get anything you desire, that is saying a lot!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we ate here twice we liked it so much, sat on patio..staff was fun and friendly, food was awesome, best burger ever!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanetJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A disappointing dinner”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited this restaurant years ago and remembered it very fondly.
However , on this visit our dining experience was very disappointing . The service was very inattentive. The server forgot to bring quite a few things . For example the bread arrived without butter, no big deal.......the main course included salad and vegetables which never arrived . Unfortunately we only realized of this omission at the end of the meal. When we pointed it out the waiter offered a $4 discount of the bill on this $45 dish!!
It was strange that a restaurant which specializes in fish and seafood would allow a dry over cooked and over salted (fresh fish) to be served. We sent it back and the waiter apologized and said that the problem was the rice and that the chef is cooking a new batch or rice!
The room is old, tired and smelled very musty .
With so many new and exciting restaurants in town we will not be back to schooner on future visits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Canada209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood diner!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went for diner to that restaurant in Tofino. It was an excellent diner. My husband and daughter
shared the big plate called admiral. It is composed of a lot of seafood(mussels, crabs, clams, oysters, halibut.) They really loved it! They ate it all!!! I had what they called the simply halibut. It was the best halibut I ever had!! So fresh ! and le lemon juice on it set it off so well! We really enjoyed that diner. No desert this time!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrederiqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schooner Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to The Schooner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing