We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
Review of Shelter Restaurant

Shelter Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, wonderful ambiance”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Food was good, service was good...good portion size. Fish was delicious...Great vibe at the restaurant. We are happy customers indeed :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,147
    757
    197
    57
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food - bad service!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Location, food and patio seating are all amazing and made the night worth it.
However, the service was the restaurants downfall - our original server left his shift without letting us know but we could see him finish his shift and sit at a table with his friends, while waiting to get our bill we were unsure who to ask. We found a 2nd waitress who told us she could help us after we had to hunt her down and after asking for our bills, a 3rd waiter came over to take our payment, who literally didnt say a word to us and just handed us the debit machine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A varied menu and the food was beautifully presented. Recommend reserving a table out on the deck so you can look out at the ocean. The service was good and the prices reasonable for what you get. We would definitely go back there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Incredible fresh & healthy food and great patio”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Amazing patio even better food. Which says a lot coming from a self-professed foodie. This place should be Zagat rated. Fish is fresh, Tacos were incredible. Mounds of tangy slaw. Great sizes. Salads and soups were fresh, tasty, well made and in good portions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_SciTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You should try this place”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent food and service...Warm atmosphere...Very good location..Make a reservation before you go!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelter Restaurant also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Shelter Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing