We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deelish!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samurai Sushi House

Samurai Sushi House
Ranked #1,538 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Deelish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My favorite go to sushi takeout restaurant! Sure, the service leaves something to be desired but their sushi more than makes up for it. My husband and I always order the Maki Combo B....offers a little of everything and super huge portion size.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jyt822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver BC Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good value, large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Ordered take out 4 times recently. Huge portions and good. We ordered bento box dinners, sushi orders on the side, udon soup for my husband one time. Tempura was good, huge alaska rolls, was too full to finish. Picked up one order on a sunny Saturday afternoon off hours and the place was packed. Would highly recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthVancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto/Ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Such huge portions of fish. Really fresh. Great takeout!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We kind of flipped our when we say the size of each piece of sashimi that this place serves (think: fillet!). We went for an early lunch and fish was incredibly fresh.

We also ordered rolls, and they, too, were massive. And it's not just a ton of rice, as some other sushi places serve, it's massive pieces of fish, avocado and other fillings, too.

We had the salmon/avocado roll, a half portion of the house roll (minus the crab, which we don't eat), a negitoro roll (tuna and green onion), some wakame salad and some edamame beans. Insane amount of food.

Is this the most delicate, refined, high quality sushi I've ever had? No. Is it good and would I return for casual, affordable sushi meals? ABSOLUTELY. Love this place. So generous and well priced and fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpokesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, especially for take-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I live in the neighbourhood and go there often. Food is great, plentiful, and the price is better than almost anywhere. There is often a line-up of Japanese patrons outside, which should tell you a lot. The interior is small and crowded, which is PART of the reason for a line-up. I prefer to buy it there but bring it home. One of the cashiers is definitely not sunny, but I have never seen her angry as one reviewer reported.

DO REMEMBER that it is cash only.

The review from Lman is posted to the wrong restaurant. Lman is referring to one with a similar name downtown.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TwhirlingDervish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average sushi, big portions CASH ONLY”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The quality of sushi here is average to good at best. The service has much to be desired, but I generally just get something to go as there is no real sit-down space most of the time. Prices are decent and it's very close to oakridge skytrain.. Just beware, there is no Debit machine so bring cash!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EastVanCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samurai Sushi House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Samurai Sushi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing