We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We could not find any flaw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We could not find any flaw”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

It is rare to visit a city and want to return for the hotel. The service at the Georgia was warm and exceptional in all areas, the room wonderful and every need was anticipated. Somehow our names were remembered even if we were only there for one night. They prepared a wonderful minicake at breakfast for my husband's birthday. A truly superior staff; the hotel excels in all areas. Also a new excellent restaurant just opened in the hotel, very much worth trying for both food and design and ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AradTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,484
    155
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
307
815
78
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I selected the Rosewood over all other hotels in Vancouver mostly because I do like that old world charm they have maintained coupled with recent modern technologies. I found the valet, bell and front desk staff extremely attentive from the moment I arrived. The staff was very apologetic that I was frustrated at how hard it was to get into the valet parking area. I had to circle the block 3 times (Friday afternoon rush hour) which took almost half an hour. I can't blame the hotel for the traffic but the construction next to the hotel does obstruct the valet driveway which made entry to the hotel confusing. Once I was inside the staff took care of everything! The front desk was fast and efficient, the bell service was at my room within two minutes of my entry into the room and they even had a hotel staff showed me to my room and introduced me to the features. The room itself was elegant and tastefully decorated. Truth be told I had hoped to get a room on a higher floor (quieter) and a room with a separate sitting area. I didn't complain at the time so I shouldn't complain now, having said that I did like my room. I really enjoyed the rain shower and toiletries and the bed was very comfortable. Channel selection on the TV seemed limited and I had no pay per-view movies - only porn movies which seemed odd. The complimentary internet also worked great! My only complaint with my room was the noise from outside - which I knew I higher floor would have helped with.
Another feature I liked were the historical cards turn down left in the room. These cards had information about celebrities that had stayed in the hotel, when they were born and died. One was about Elvis which I had to point out to the staff had the wrong date of death - they had 1970 written in the card. I know the last 7 years of his life weren't remarkable but I don't think we should forget about them entirely!
I also did a spa treatment at Sense which was fantastic. The staff was incredible and beckoned to any need that I may have had. The pool was also nice; it's rare to have a lap pool in a hotel which I do enjoy. The entry to the pool was awkward, through the spa - and I think they could use some more signage in this area to help guests. I also used the gym. I'm a gym rat by nature and hotels never come close to offering weights that I can lift. The Rosewood gym was well equipped with Cardio equipment and they offered a series of machines for weight training - no free weights though. They need some rubber grip mats under the weight machines - the machines slide around on the wood floor when you are lifting heavy weights. In all it was an excellent hotel gym. I ate at Hawksworth for breakfast one day. The food was awesome! I also ate in the 1927 lounge which I would have loved to have sat in for longer. The 1927 lounge had great ambiance and a terrific barkeep!
I also took advantage of the complimentary Bentley for a ride to the symphony which made the evening that much more!
All in all I would highly recommend the Rosewood. Every hotel has issues, and the few issues the Rosewood may have are minor. The largest asset this property has is the staff, which is second to none! Everyone always stopped to talk to me regardless of what they were doing. If I was waiting for the elevator the housekeeper would stop and chat. It was a very welcoming property!

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfuson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Absolutely fantastic hotel. It had everything. We stayed 3 nights in a Premier Executive Room and got a great deal - book 3 nights and pay for only two. Hotel has undergone 4 years of renovation according to one of the staff where they halved the number of rooms and it really shows. Huge room with a lounge area. Huge bathroom - double vanity either side of the bathroom, huge designer bath and a shower you could fit half-a-dozen people in with ceiling rain shower. Fantastic flatscreen TV which also came with free Internet connection. Our iPad and laptop where also easily connected into the hotel's free wireless. Staff were fantastic and really know what service is - obviously a focus of the hotel and it shows. Everyone chats to you and are really helpful. Concierge desk was great with several great restaurant recommendations. This will be my Vancouver hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

An beautiful Victorian style boutique hotel recently remodeled has made my list of best places I have ever stayed. Our recent night at the Rosewood Hotel Georgia has convinced me I will never stay anywhere else in Vancouver. Amazing! There were so many things I loved about it, I could go on forever. But just to name a few...first off the employees at the hotel from the valets, to the front desk to the concierge and management are first class. I don't believe I have ever been treated more kindly and felt more valued as a guest as I did at this hotel. Next, the room...wow! What can I say, other than amazing! The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in at a hotel (Italian linens, big fluffy duvet, feather bed, etc). The room was spacious and the amenities amazing from the free standing tub, to the rainfall shower, dual vanities and two high tech switches for the all lighting, making it so easy to turn on all the lights, which lit up the room wonderfully. Not the usual strain to see across the room lighting which most hotels have. Finally, the little details of service like the turndown service where velvety soft towels and pillowy soft slippers are placed at the side of the bed, or the surprise birthday cake from management in our room and the wonderful espresso maker instead of the usual stale, bland coffee and cheap coffee makers usually found in hotel rooms...all of this made my one night at the Hotel Georgia the best night I have had in my many hotel stays, and just to give you a frame of reference, I do consider myself, a "hotel snob." I am very picky about where I stay. Needless, to say, I cannot wait to return! And to top it off Sunday Brunch at Hawksworth restaurant was wonderful! Thanks to all at this hotel for making our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: We booked a Deluxe room as part of a breakfast and valet parking package that was a great deal. View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBLB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just returned from a trip to Vancouver and Whistler. We stayed 3 nights at the Rosewood in a Junior Suite and it was outstanding in every way - beautifully decorated, very clean and it contained all amenities you could wish for - and more. The hotel is elegant and the staff and service is just outstanding.

One of the many highlights is the Hawksworth Restaurant in the hotel. We have never had such an incredible restaurant experience including the best food I have ever eaten. It was my first time in Vancouver and we tried the Blue Water Cafe the second night in town after eating at the Hawksworth the first night (Blue Water was rated the best formal restaurant in the reviews we read) and Blue Water didn't compare in any way so we returned to the Hawksworth on our 3rd night and it amazed us again. You could see several others sharing bites of their food because it is truly perfection!

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to try the lounges, pool or spa but they looked beautiful as well. We felt spoiled as Jim drove us to several locations in the Bentley.
I highly recommend the Rosewood Hotel Georgia and the Hawksworth Restaurant and look forward to my return some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

The room had a great view of the Vancouver Art Gallery and was very comfortable. Every person at the hotel was upbeat and went out of their to make us happy. Our first night we requested a taxi. The next thing we know the staff arranges the hotel's Bentley to drop us off for dinner. What service

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fcsoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My father and I have just returned from a fishing trip to Canada, during which we stayed at the Rosewood Hotel Georgia for 3 nights from 17th - 20th Sept and I have to say having stayed at many luxury hotels worldwide this is undoubtedly one of the best, the rooms are a decent size and the beds very comfortable. But what makes the difference at this hotel is the staff, we found every one of them extremely courteous and helpful and you get the feeling that they genuinely enjoy working there. A special mention goes to Michael the concierge who ensured we ate at the best restaurants and maximised our stay as much as possible. All in all I would say well done to the management at the hotel who have formed an excellent team coupled with a real luxury feel. Keep up the good work.
James & Bob Nottingham, UK.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,968 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,637 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Hotel Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Hotel Georgia

Property: Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Address: 801 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Hotel Georgia 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following its debut in the Roaring ‘20s, the Hotel Georgia came to be known as Vancouver’s most historic and elegant retreat. The opening of Rosewood Hotel Georgia in 2011 has returned Vancouver's most legendary hotel to its place as one of the select hotels worldwide. The hotel reflects timeless elegance, with 156 luxurious guestrooms and suites, Sense, A Rosewood Spa®, Reflections outdoor patio, 1927 Lobby Lounge, 9853 sq feet of function space, a fitness center, 52” indoor saltwater lap pool and Hawksworth restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Hotel Georgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing