We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution on faulty locks and adjoining room syndrome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My stay was fine except for two things. Firstly, the maids were not vigilant after turn-down service and upon return from an evening out, my room door was ajar. Nothing was missing but still, definitely not cool. The next word of warning is to make sure the room you have been given is not an adjoining room. I was kept up until wee hours by noisy drinker/partiers (and more) next door that sounded like they were in the room with me. This is the kind of atmosphere one would expect in a college dorm. I was surprised that when I politely reported this to the front desk the next day, I was offered an apology but no compensation like a free night another time or the like.

Room Tip: See my note.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hexakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for Rosewood Hotel Georgia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed for two nights this May and couldn't have had a better time. The staff was not only helpful and courteous but they made us feel welcome and they had a very sincere happiness about them that made it so easy for us to relax. We hope to stay again soon!

The only word of advice I would give is to figure out parking before driving in. As Americans that had never visited before we had a lot of trouble finding a close parking garage and we didn't want to pay for valet. There is no attached parking lot or garage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobnAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at Rosewood Hotel Georgia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments with Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that we were able to leave a positive and lasting impression on your stay and have also passed along your kind words to our team.

Our goal is to provide you with exceptional service and to ensure that each and every one of your stay with us is a most pleasant and memorable one. It is extremely challenging being a new property (we opened last July) thus we truly appreciate your positive feedback in ensuring us we are headed on the right path.

Regarding parking, there is 1500 parking spaces directly across the street in Pacific Center shopping mall given you did not wish to use our parking valet system under our hotel. This is very easy to use so please try it next time. We can show you the best way to use this service.

We hope to welcome you back to Rosewood Hotel Georgia in the not too distant future and if I may be of the any assistance to you in any way, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Thank you.


Steve Halliday
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the moment my husband & I stepped inside the Rosewood Hotel Georgia, it was "wow". Wow for its beautifully restored lobby, and customer service at check-in. Here is when they saw us first and connected our name and face. After this, all the staff greeted us first by acknowledging our names. Wow for the comforts of our room, a very comfortable bed, and warm bathroom marble floors. Included were all the techi extras one might need. Wow for the delectable meal we enjoyed from David Hawksworth restaurant. After dinner the hotel driver, Jim, drove us to the theatre to see the symphony AND picked us up afterwards! Wow, this was an extra service we didn't expect. The staff was ever so respectable and helpful. There were many services we did not have time to enjoy, i.e. the pool and spa. For our money, we received great value. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for your room of choice, i.e. a quiet room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at Rosewood Hotel Georgia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very generous and gracious words you posted on Trip Advisor.

Everyone at the hotel has worked very hard to make our guests feel comfortable during they stay at our hotel and we were all very very encouraged to know that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Next time you travel into town you must try our new alfresco roof top lounge called Reflections on our 4th floor. It's the latest "hot spot" in Vancouver for small bites and classic cocktails from noon to 11PM daily.

It's official now-Summer has arrived so we start our Sunday Brunch starting this Sunday from 11AM in Reflections.

We are honered that you chose to stay at our hotel.

Regards,

Steve Halliday
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

One block from the Skytrain makes the commute from the airport very easy. The lobby and two bar areas are pleasant, fitting this hotel class. There is another night club that will be opening soon in the lower level with a prohibition theme which sounds promising. The semi outdoor lounge 4 th floor, is well thought out, great on warm nights, but while it is nice to look at from your room, it is noisy. We were on the 10 th floor, and the sounds carry once the tv is off. No sounds from other rooms though. The basic king room was small, but well laid out. We chose the rate including breakfast, other than convenient, the food was average and service indifferent, two mornings and no refill on tea. Check in easy, pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the outdoor bar.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Everything was perfect with great attention to detail. I stayed for five nights in April and don't have a single complaint, better than that, it was a 'wow' experience.

The staff are first class. A special mention to Jim, the Bentely driver, Connie and Matthew at frontdesk who made the stay even better with fantastic recommendations. The breakfast at Hawthorns was delicious (reviewed also), the 4th floor bar Reflections was brilliant - excellent cocktails and small plates - and meeting the manager, Shon, was a treat. He suggested a club he thought we'd like, called ahead and got us on the guest list and then arranged for coconut water to be delivered to our room when we returned. It's that kind of hospitality that ensures I'll never stay anyway else when I'm visiting Vancouver.

Also tried the Vichy Salt Scub treatment at the spa. Really excellent. Great therapist.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WSISonoma_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Rooms are noisy, and they nikle and dime you.
Free Internet is painfully slow.
16.95 per device and 2 dollar for local calls leaves a bad taste.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Norbert1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H, General Manager at Rosewood Hotel Georgia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest,



I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

More importantly, I need to apologize for the less than stellar stay you experienced. As a Rosewood hotel guest, there is a high level of expectation. Clearly, we did not live up to our reputation this time. You could have quietly left and never returned however you were thoughtful enough to provide us with your feedback. We will definitely focus more direct training with the respective departments and review the policies we have in place for our very successful roof top lounge Reflections and when the music is lowered after 10:30 at night. On your internet point we have increased the speed for both levels of bandwidth, (the first level is FREE) so you should not encounter slow speeds ever again.

Again, I thank you for raising these issues to my attention. Hopefully, we will have another opportunity to redeem ourselves upon your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Steve Halliday
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Best customer service of any hotel we have ever been to. Rooms are very nice and the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less traffic noise
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4familytravels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Hotel Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Hotel Georgia

Address: 801 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1P7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: £190 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Hotel Georgia 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following its debut in the Roaring ‘20s, the Hotel Georgia came to be known as Vancouver’s most historic and elegant retreat. The opening of Rosewood Hotel Georgia in 2011 has returned Vancouver's most legendary hotel to its place as one of the select hotels worldwide. The hotel reflects timeless elegance, with 156 luxurious guestrooms and suites, Sense, A Rosewood Spa®, Reflections outdoor patio, 1927 Lobby Lounge, 9853 sq feet of function space, a fitness center, 52” indoor saltwater lap pool and Hawksworth restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Hotel Georgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing